PDA

View Full Version : G74SX-3de RAM Upgrade to 32gb, and Hard Drive replacement issues.



KamiDOTexe
08-08-2012, 09:11 PM
Afternoon Community!

I am having a bit of an issue with my G74 from Asus.

It recently ate up the two stock hard-drives that it came with (two [2] Western Digital 750GB Scorpio Black [WD7500BPKT]

So, wanting to upgrade and squeeze a little more performance out of it I purchased two Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s 32 MB Cache 2.5 Inch Solid State Hybrid Drive ST750LX003.

Drive one installed on the primary slot works wonderfully; drive two on the second slot does not read in windows, but does read in certain parts of the bios.

Also worth noting for this device I have purchased four [4] sticks of Corsair 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 SODIMM Memory Kit (CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9) for a total of 32gb of ram, when filled with the 32gb of ram the G74SX-3DE refuses to boot even to Bios. I replaced the 16gb DDR3 [4 x 4gb] and it boots and processes fine.

Any and all suggestions and info is appreciated.

Specs as follows:
Processor Intel® Core™ i7 2630QM Processor
Operating System Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit
This version contains all product updates (SP1)
Chipset Intel® HM65 Express Chipset
Memory DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM, 4 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 16 GB SDRAM (Quad Core), 2 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 8 GB SDRAM (Dual Core)
Display 17.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900)/Full HD (1920x1080)/Full HD 3D(1920x1080 120Hz) LED Backlight
Graphic NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 560M with 3GB GDDR5 VRAM
Storage 2.5" SATA
750GB 5400rpm/7200rpm
640GB 5400rpm
500GB 5400rpm/7200rpm
500GB 7200rpm SSH
Dual HDD Support*1
2.5" SATA
160GB SSD
Optical Drive Blu-Ray DVD Combo
Super-Multi DVD
Blue-ray Writer
Card Reader 3 -in-1 card reader ( SDXC/ MS/ MMC)
Camera HD Web Camera
Networking Integrated 802.11 b/g/n
Built-in Bluetooth™ V3.0 (Optional)
10/100/1000 Base T
Interface 1 x Microphone-in jack
1 x Headphone-out jack
1 x USB 3.0 port(s)
3 x USB 2.0 port(s)
1 x RJ45 LAN Jack for LAN insert
1 x HDMI
Audio Built-in Speakers And Microphone
EAX Advanced HD 5.0
THX TruStudio
Battery 5200 mAh 74 Whrs
Power Adapter Output :
19 V DC, 6.3 A, 150 W ((Quad Core)) , 120 W ((Dual Core))
Input :
100 -240 V AC, 50/60 Hz universal
Dimensions 32.5 x 42 x 2.09 ~6.2 cm (WxDxH)
Weight 9.4 lbs (with 8 cell battery)
Security Kensington lock
Note *1 : dual HDD support up to 1.5TB / Solid State Hybrid drive up to 1TB

Idestruction
08-08-2012, 09:19 PM
Are you sure the memory you purchased is compatible with your motherboard. I would suggest going to crucial.com and using their scanner to tell you the types of memory your laptop can take (speed and how much each slot can hold). If the RAM is not a speed that the machine can handle, you wont be able to boot.

Also, your HDD issue is rather strange. If it was a problem with the connection, you most likely would not see it in the bios, let alone windows. Does the HDD show up in the device manager? Could either be a bad HDD or something with the connection. Maybe a firmware/software update is needed. I would check to make sure you have the latest drivers for your machine from the Asus support site.

KamiDOTexe
08-08-2012, 09:23 PM
Yes, it does show up in the bios, both of them read, it's rather strange.

Idestruction
08-08-2012, 09:25 PM
EDIT:
The note in the specs you provided. It says SSD Hybrid support for up to 1TB. Is that 1TB PER SSD or 1TB total between the two. From the looks of it, your original HDDS were each 750GB. Which means that the Dual HDD support for traditional HDDs being at 1.5TB is enough to cover both of those drives (750GB x 2 = 1.5TB). However, the support for dual hybrid SSDs is only 1TB, which means your 2 750GB ones are more space than what is supported. Looks like you just overloaded your system.

KamiDOTexe
08-08-2012, 09:59 PM
But how can that be, any other device that adds more memory than what is supported has always been backed down into acceptable tolerances.

Idestruction
08-08-2012, 11:06 PM
You are confusing RAM and hdd space. If you install more RAM than what the OS supports, then yes it will downgrade the amount to the maximum amount useable. This cannot happen with HDD space. You cannot split a HDD and leave portions of it unused. The reason you can do this with RAM is the fact that RAM comes in separate stick. So say your OS only supports 4 GB of RAM. You Install 4 sticks of 4GB RAM in each slot. The OS will only use 1 of those sticks.

See the difference? You cannot split up a HDD and leave a portion unused. You overloaded your system. To check this, try to find a 250 GB hybrid SSD and install it in the second slot. If it works in windows, then voila, you now know that you have a 1TB maximum supported limit for hybrid SSD hard drives.

Shawnnepc
08-08-2012, 11:32 PM
Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit

Windows 7 HP ONLY supports UP TO 16GB of ram.

You will need PRO or Ultimate to actually use and 'see' 32GB

As far as it not booting, it sounds like you have a faulty ram module.

Run a memory test on each pair to find the faulty stick.

As far as HDDs go ... the Hybrid drives will cause issues if they're not set as the main bootable drive. The SSD cache is managed by Windows and may cause problems when set as a secondary drive. I've worked with Seagate on this before and was told to avoid using two XTs.

There is some instances where the dual drive XT setup may work, but I was never successfully able to do it on a G74 or G75




Afternoon Community!

I am having a bit of an issue with my G74 from Asus.

It recently ate up the two stock hard-drives that it came with (two [2] Western Digital 750GB Scorpio Black [WD7500BPKT]

So, wanting to upgrade and squeeze a little more performance out of it I purchased two Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s 32 MB Cache 2.5 Inch Solid State Hybrid Drive ST750LX003.

Drive one installed on the primary slot works wonderfully; drive two on the second slot does not read in windows, but does read in certain parts of the bios.

Also worth noting for this device I have purchased four [4] sticks of Corsair 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 SODIMM Memory Kit (CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9) for a total of 32gb of ram, when filled with the 32gb of ram the G74SX-3DE refuses to boot even to Bios. I replaced the 16gb DDR3 [4 x 4gb] and it boots and processes fine.

Any and all suggestions and info is appreciated.

Specs as follows:
Processor Intel® Core™ i7 2630QM Processor
Operating System Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit
This version contains all product updates (SP1)
Chipset Intel® HM65 Express Chipset
Memory DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM, 4 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 16 GB SDRAM (Quad Core), 2 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 8 GB SDRAM (Dual Core)
Display 17.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900)/Full HD (1920x1080)/Full HD 3D(1920x1080 120Hz) LED Backlight
Graphic NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 560M with 3GB GDDR5 VRAM
Storage 2.5" SATA
750GB 5400rpm/7200rpm
640GB 5400rpm
500GB 5400rpm/7200rpm
500GB 7200rpm SSH
Dual HDD Support*1
2.5" SATA
160GB SSD
Optical Drive Blu-Ray DVD Combo
Super-Multi DVD
Blue-ray Writer
Card Reader 3 -in-1 card reader ( SDXC/ MS/ MMC)
Camera HD Web Camera
Networking Integrated 802.11 b/g/n
Built-in Bluetooth™ V3.0 (Optional)
10/100/1000 Base T
Interface 1 x Microphone-in jack
1 x Headphone-out jack
1 x USB 3.0 port(s)
3 x USB 2.0 port(s)
1 x RJ45 LAN Jack for LAN insert
1 x HDMI
Audio Built-in Speakers And Microphone
EAX Advanced HD 5.0
THX TruStudio
Battery 5200 mAh 74 Whrs
Power Adapter Output :
19 V DC, 6.3 A, 150 W ((Quad Core)) , 120 W ((Dual Core))
Input :
100 -240 V AC, 50/60 Hz universal
Dimensions 32.5 x 42 x 2.09 ~6.2 cm (WxDxH)
Weight 9.4 lbs (with 8 cell battery)
Security Kensington lock
Note *1 : dual HDD support up to 1.5TB / Solid State Hybrid drive up to 1TB

fostert
08-09-2012, 04:02 AM
I have four of those same Corsair 8GB modules (CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9) in my G74 and they have been working fine since I put them in here (8 months ago). You simply must have a bad module. Change them around in the slots (try different ones in different slots). If you can't find an arrangement for them that allows your machine to boot, try testing them with memtest86+ (download and burn http://www.memtest.org/download/4.20/memtest86+-4.20.iso.gz onto a CD and boot the CD). That will reveal which stick(s) is (are) bad. Go to corsair.com and open an RMA with Corsair. They are **extremely** good to deal with and will simply send you new modules, no questions asked (I have been through an RMA with them before for desktop RAM: fantastic).