PDA

View Full Version : Question about ASUS G75VW-BBK5



Techinstein
08-10-2012, 05:04 PM
So obviously I have a question or two about my ASUS G75VW-BBK5.
Questions.
1. I wanted to know what type of motherboard does it have. Becaus its an ASUS ROG machine, if it has a ROG motherboard, or if Best Buy puts a bad motherboard in it? I wanted to know because I looked at MemTweakIt and the thread starter says it doesnt work with laptops. Well what about G75VW-BBK5? Or any of the G75VW series.

- Sincerly : Techinstein . Thanks to all who reply.

c_man
08-10-2012, 05:31 PM
http://s8.postimage.org/ylldaljid/image.jpg

I don't understand what exactly you want. How can Best Buy replace the MB with it's own?

Woots
08-10-2012, 05:34 PM
I also have the the best buy G75 model. I am 99.9% certain best buy doesn't manufacture these at all. These are just the base models in which Best Buy exclusively carries for Asus. I think this base model is intended for people who like to upgrade components on their own...extra ram... SSD/HD's..3D screen...blu ray drive...(since many RoG followers are technophiles and quite capable of upgrades like this) The other models are pre configured to pre-fit personal needs and save people from needing to tweak it on their own and also avoid voiding warranty (for bigger upgrades)

As far as main board goes...

CPU-Z software identifies it as an

ASUSTeK Computer, Inc., G75VW version 1.0 mainboard.
(custom mainboard from looks of it, not surprised it's updated over older models since it has to have the new ivy bridge chipset)

With Bios, American Megatrends, Inc. G75VW.207

Edit:

Here is a link to CPU-Z
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

Nice lil quick freeware app that gives a lot of system info.

Also GPU-Z for the vid card

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

john_from_ohio
08-10-2012, 10:16 PM
So obviously I have a question or two about my ASUS G75VW-BBK5.


So you purchased a 1300 dollar machine ( somehow ) and you do not understand what you have purchased? Well at least you have one apparently ... not quite so sure about the actual "purchase" ... but thats just me.

Dang techinstein ... wonder if best buy really sells asus machines or is somehow they are switching out atom based netbooks.

Lets see:
1) you could try control panel ==> system and see what that says ...
2) you could run device manager and see what that says
3) you could install hwinfo64 and see what that says

Another alternative ... lets see ... why not just post something implying somehow that best buy may be switching out motherboards for their customers?

john_from_ohio
08-10-2012, 10:18 PM
I am 99.9% certain best buy doesn't manufacture these at all.

But ... what if ... just what if ... techinstein received one of the .1 percent machines?

The matrix may be involved ... it could be a BBK5 from a parallel universe ... just perhaps!

Techinstein
08-12-2012, 10:34 PM
Thanks, Woots and C-Man, and woots were you the one that added me on STEAM? Also I am thanking you john_from_ohio. + rep to @ Woots & @c-man.

@ c-man I am basically not the smartest at computer insides. So I wouldn't know.

UltimaRage
08-12-2012, 10:53 PM
Doing research on such large purchases is very important. :)

Zygomorphic
08-13-2012, 01:08 AM
Thanks, Woots and C-Man, and woots were you the one that added me on STEAM? Also I am thanking you john_from_ohio. + rep to @ Woots & @c-man.

@ c-man I am basically not the smartest at computer insides. So I wouldn't know.

That is not something to worry about, notebook mobos are not the same as desktops, though they all use a particular chipset. No worries, we all learn by asking questions...some of us ask too many :cool: ...someone took the time to answer us, so we repay them by taking the time to answer the ones coming after us. Cheers! :)

MaXimus711
08-13-2012, 03:11 AM
Dude, Best Buy sells groceries you expect them to put a motherboard in a Notebook? 10816 LOLLL

_
08-13-2012, 03:49 AM
What defines it as an 'ROG motherboard'? As it's part of an ROG product, then yes, it is. Is it red and black? No, because you never see it so it doesn't need to be. Can you OC on it? No, because it's not possible due to the inherent design mobile CPUs being power optimized and cooling space limited. ROG defines that it's complete design is built for gaming - from the GPU/CPU selection, to the upgraded cooling design to balance temp/thermal noise and its shape and construction materials.

All G75VWs are manufactured by ASUS. The BBK5 is the suffix designation assigned to Best Buy for that particular specification of HDD/memory/GPU, CPU and display. The rest of the hardware is identical.

Hope that helps! :)

Zygomorphic
08-13-2012, 10:21 AM
Dude, Best Buy sells groceries you expect them to put a motherboard in a Notebook? 10816 LOLLL

I thought I'd seen it all...new to me ;).

@MarshallR, that was what I basically figured. Unless we are voiding warranties, we really won't see the mobo, so the cost savings of not coloring it are appreciated! :)

Techinstein
08-13-2012, 08:58 PM
Thanks everyone for there reply, it helped I just wanted to make sure and I don't know a lot about computers, other than how to use them, use the BIOS, model for games for my self. Would like to learn more though so I don't sound dumb though.
1. @ UltimaRage I did do research on gaming computers such as ROG and AW and Sager, as I said above I just don't know much about the insides. So what I do is I read possibly a ton of reviews on each and every system that interests me. And this fits me the best sense I think ASUS is a great manufacturer. I just wasn't sure sense they call it the Best Bu version and all.
2. @Zygomorphic , Thanks for making me feel better.
3. @MarshallR@ASUS, Thanks for what I believe to be the correct answer.
I now have a question that might be more directed to MarshallR@ASUS and that is, sense I got this G75VW-BBK5, I am eligible for the Windows8 upgrade offer,but I am worried that when it comes out and I download it, if it well install correctly and still have all of the ROG/ASUS stuff on it, such as the ASUS Reasource center, and the thing that I click to change from High Performace, Entertainment, etc?
Thanks for all who helped answer and assure me.

-Sincerely , Techinstein

Woots
08-13-2012, 10:18 PM
woots were you the one that added me on STEAM.
Yes that was me ^