PDA

View Full Version : Is my RAM 1600 or 1666 Mhz.?



MaXimus711
08-10-2012, 11:22 PM
I am confused, do I have PC 1666 or PC 1600?

Because if I open CPU-Z, then go to memory, here is what I see

http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/6476/capturemop.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/814/capturemop.png/)

798.4 x2 = 1596 Mhz.

I don't know why I was under the impression that I had PC1666 RAM

Im confused

soulctcher
08-11-2012, 12:28 AM
It's 16000. I don't know where you got the impression it was 16666.

MaXimus711
08-11-2012, 12:44 AM
crap, coz I saw everyone here has 1666 in their profile so I thought mine was 1666 also :(

Zygomorphic
08-11-2012, 12:59 AM
There is PC3-1333 10600 and 10660 and 10666, which are all effectively the same - the difference is in how the manufacturer is calculating certain things. There is round-off of course, because the digital clocks internally don't run at nice frequencies (those with integer numbers).

@soulctchr, where did you get that 16000 MHz memory?!?! 16 GHz is faster than anything! :cool:

MaXimus711
08-11-2012, 01:09 AM
There is PC3-1333 10600 and 10660 and 10666, which are all effectively the same - the difference is in how the manufacturer is calculating certain things. There is round-off of course, because the digital clocks internally don't run at nice frequencies (those with integer numbers).

@soulctchr, where did you get that 16000 MHz memory?!?! 16 GHz is faster than anything! :cool:

still confused, so is my RAM PC1600 or PC 1666?

Zygomorphic
08-11-2012, 01:46 AM
There is only one, 1600 MHz. The 1666 MHz memory doesn't exist...at least on newegg. There are some different CAS latencies, but that is the only difference.

MaXimus711
08-11-2012, 02:00 AM
There is only one, 1600 MHz. The 1666 MHz memory doesn't exist...at least on newegg. There are some different CAS latencies, but that is the only difference.

Ok so is PC1666 the same as 1666 Mhz. or what?

Because I saw many users here on the forums mentioning PC 1666 in their sig

Either they are mistaken or maybe PC1666 means 1600 Mhz? still confused

MaXimus711
08-11-2012, 02:30 AM
Look at this thred http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?19156-Asus-ROG-Wallpaper/page7

it has a few users in their sig it says RAM is PC1666

Myk SilentShadow
08-11-2012, 03:40 AM
Ok, to let you guys know there is no PC1666 RAM. Maximus7111, your RAM is 1600MHz but it is PC-12800....don't remember the reason for the PC-xxxx system though.

HiVizMan
08-12-2012, 12:16 PM
I think you are confusing 1866 with 1666