PDA

View Full Version : g75vw having i7-3920XM extreme edition



archmlcm
08-13-2012, 10:20 PM
guys i would like to know if this is possible for an upgrade of g75vw

specs as follows:

CPU: i7-3920XM 2.90/3.80 GHz
Mem: 16GB PC1666 DDR3
Storage: 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Graphics: GeForce GTX 670M 3GB
Screen: 17.3" full HD LED screen + 3D + 3D glasses
OS: win 7 home 64bit

thank you for your response.

_
08-14-2012, 02:50 AM
You'd have to find a retailer to upgrade the CPU to XM and provide a warranty as ASUS does not offer this spec. ASUS also doesn't recommend the XM CPU as it's a 55W CPU not 45W CPU, which can affect power provision, cooling/temps and noise.

The rest of the spec (1600MHz DDR3, not 1666) is a standard offering on some models, although you must be careful to select a 3D model (with -3D suffix) that has a 120Hz display.

kiba
08-14-2012, 04:22 AM
that CPU would be a lot better if we had a real ROG bios.

archmlcm
08-14-2012, 05:25 AM
You'd have to find a retailer to upgrade the CPU to XM and provide a warranty as ASUS does not offer this spec. ASUS also doesn't recommend the XM CPU as it's a 55W CPU not 45W CPU, which can affect power provision, cooling/temps and noise.

The rest of the spec (1600MHz DDR3, not 1666) is a standard offering on some models, although you must be careful to select a 3D model (with -3D suffix) that has a 120Hz display.

thank you marshall for that technical aspect. i'll put that on mind


that CPU would be a lot better if we had a real ROG bios.

JsL1ce, lets see then...as soon as i got my asus rog lappy.

_
08-14-2012, 07:10 AM
that CPU would be a lot better if we had a real ROG bios.

You'd also need a massive power brick and a much thicker laptop to accommodate the extra power hardware and cooling apparatus as well. Not to forget the fact the XM CPU is a thousand dollar part??

archmlcm
08-14-2012, 07:42 AM
You'd also need a massive power brick and a much thicker laptop to accommodate the extra power hardware and cooling apparatus as well. Not to forget the fact the XM CPU is a thousand dollar part??

i agree marshall, just called a local reseller here in uae (computer care - dubai), its expensive, i rather go for i7 3720qm

c_man
08-14-2012, 08:00 AM
What do you do with all that CPU power?

mrwolf
08-14-2012, 08:02 AM
Its a nice idea but i wouldn't say its very practical and also not needed.. I tested the physics and CPU performance with 3D mark11 with my i7-3610Q with all the latest intel chipset beta/dev leak drivers to maximize performance and my own little tweaks ;) and i got a score of 7504.
If you compare my CPU score to that of the i7-Extreme (6810), my ROG i7-3610Q still whoopps its ass nicely :p infact my results are off the charts for laptops and not even too far away from the highest desktop score :)

You can check for yourself here: http://community.futuremark.com/hardware/cpu

lol its also worth noting that the 3dmark11 CPU benchmark utilizes single and multicore performance so its a pretty accurate test imo..

archmlcm
08-14-2012, 09:16 AM
What do you do with all that CPU power?

c_man, i need it for 3dmax modeling, vray rendering and post process from photoshop then surf the net (facebook + youtube) all at the same time. ahihihi...


Its a nice idea but i wouldn't say its very practical and also not needed.. I tested the physics and CPU performance with 3D mark11 with my i7-3610Q with all the latest intel chipset beta/dev leak drivers to maximize performance and my own little tweaks ;) and i got a score of 7504.
If you compare my CPU score to that of the i7-Extreme (6810), my ROG i7-3610Q still whoopps its ass nicely :p infact my results are off the charts for laptops and not even too far away from the highest desktop score :)

You can check for yourself here: http://community.futuremark.com/hardware/cpu

lol its also worth noting that the 3dmark11 CPU benchmark utilizes single and multicore performance so its a pretty accurate test imo..

noted mrwolf, thank you for your inputs. cheers.

c_man
08-14-2012, 10:59 AM
I understand. 3610QM is a very good CPU.

c_man
08-14-2012, 11:35 AM
http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/399/namnlseh.png

Some numbers.

Zygomorphic
08-14-2012, 01:21 PM
I understand. 3610QM is a very good CPU.

Very good, yes. Keep in mind about the TDP (55 vs 45 Watts). Some people have upgraded to the XM CPUs, only to find out that turbo didn't work. I think, honestly, that the 3820QM would be better, since it has the same power draw, and is only 100-200 MHz slower. Honestly, a 7.4% difference likely won't be noticeable.