PDA

View Full Version : Need help with some sound card questions.

bradsimmo
09-03-2012, 04:19 AM
Hi guys,
I'm trying to work out which would have the best sound out of Asus Rog Vulcan pro's , razer tiamat 7.1 or astro a50's.
For starters is it possible to get any benefits on the astro a50s with an addition sound card as well as the mix amp? Is this even possible to do?.
If I were to get the vulcan or tiamats I'd proberly have to buy the Asus STX sound card from what I've read... Or the Rog Pheobus :P .
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to sound and want my sound to be the best as possible without spending huge amounts of money so any advise I'm willing to listen to.
I'm leaning towards the A50's as I can use them on my xbox too which would be more versatile for me, As well as being wireless of course.
Cheers.

thetruth1983
09-03-2012, 06:56 AM
What's your budget? The A50s are $300 and the Tiamat/Phoebus will be close to $400. Also, there are a lot of problems with the A50s right now. Just check their forums. They have had my pair for 2 weeks for repair and I don't even know when I will get them back. My Tiamats are nice especially with the Phoebus but I could never get them to sound right for music so if you go that route, I would advice picking up a separate headset for music (that's if you really care about the sound quality).

bradsimmo
09-03-2012, 08:21 AM
Hey thanks for responding :).
My budget it high and I thought the a50 were pretty cool with the stand it comes with also. Will adding a sound card improve their performance though???.
I've considered the tiamats and even the tiamats 2.1's which is better hands down do you think a50 or tiamats?

thetruth1983
09-03-2012, 08:49 AM