PDA

View Full Version : Max memory G73JH



iPhone4xViRuS
05-08-2011, 02:22 PM
I just got my G73 and am confused. I have read the there is an 8gig limit and I have also read there is a 6gig limit. This is the Best Buy Model. Thanks in advance.

MarkS
05-08-2011, 02:39 PM
If your motherboard has 4 memory slots then you can use 4x4GB sticks for 16GB.

iPhone4xViRuS
05-08-2011, 02:51 PM
I believe it only has 3 and 2 are occupied:
1 4gig stick
1 2gig stick

Thanks for the fast reply!

MarkS
05-08-2011, 03:55 PM
It has 4 slots if you can see 3 in the access panel. The 4th slot is on the other side of the motherboard. If you have 6GB then you have 3 2GB sticks.

iPhone4xViRuS
05-08-2011, 07:13 PM
Ok I forgot about the other side. Would it Hirt anything if I bought a 4gig card and placed in 1 slot or is it best just to buy 2gig cards and fill up all bays?
Thanks again

iPhone4xViRuS
05-08-2011, 07:21 PM
This is what I found online:

Memory
Memory
6GB
Memory Speed
DDR3 1066
Memory Type
204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM
Max Memory Supported
8GB

It say Max is 8gig. If I put 16gig in my laptop will it work better or is it overkill?

MarkS
05-08-2011, 08:29 PM
I personally would just get matching memory and fill it up to 8GB. No games I know need or benefit from more than that. I use mine as a desktop for development so I have database and other server processes running all the time while using multiple instances of Visual Studio and assorted emulators and I still never touch 8GB. You may have uses for more.

Details on memory compatibility for these machines are non-existent, but for 2-channel memory I prefer to work in pairs, so no I wouldn't throw in just one 4GB stick....I'd do a pair of 2s or a pair of 4s.

That's just my opinions.

iPhone4xViRuS
05-08-2011, 10:08 PM
Thank you so much for the info. All I do is play games and surf the web. I was just wondering about the new DirectX11 games that will be out soon. I will just get another 2gig stick for the time being I can always change later.
Thanks again for all the info!

Chastity@ASUS
05-09-2011, 03:20 PM
if your system has an i5, then it's limited to 8GB. i7 systems can do 16GB.

iPhone4xViRuS
05-10-2011, 11:52 AM
Awesome! Thank you. I have the i7 so I guess I will be buying 4 sticks of 4gig DDR3. Thank you

luckydave1
03-15-2014, 05:53 PM
I have heard that if I go with the (2x2) + (2x4) that I need to alternate them (ie 2-4-2-4). Is this correct, or can I just stack them? (ie 2-2-4-4) Thanks!!

EDIT: I intend to leave the original 2gb in its place, so as not to deal with the hassle of removing the keyboard and damaging the device. Please advise accordingly, TYVM.

MrXCyrus
07-11-2014, 04:12 PM
if your system has an i5, then it's limited to 8GB. i7 systems can do 16GB.

Simple and fast response. Thanks for the accurate response. I will be getting my Lap soon and i want to upgrade those 8gbs that the i7 have.:cool::cool:

maggot187
04-02-2015, 12:22 AM
Okay So I have the G73JH with four ram slots (three on bottom and one under the mother board), I have the i5 and I have 7 Home Prem. Can I put 8 gigs of ram in mine or am I stuck at only using 4 Gigs

Ganjax
04-02-2015, 03:00 AM
In JH for true u can use 16 GB of ram max. ASUS side it's say max is 8GB but it's real 16GB max memory :)
U can use mix 2/4/6/8gb chips, but remember it should be same ram cards (brand, timings, models)
U can use 8 GB in one port if you have 8 GB RAM chip card :)