PDA

View Full Version : Performance on old games



AlanMcKinnon
09-13-2012, 03:09 AM
I know I'm kind of a broken record, but I guess I just need to complain about this sort of thing in a place where I know the people who can hear (or see, in this case) it actually know the computer.

Short version: Is there any reason whatsoever that I shouldn't be pulling 60fps all the time on Call of Duty 2 on an ASUS G75VW-RS72? GPU is GeForce GTX 670m.

I'm just frustrated to no end by this machine. I don't understand why I pull the performance I pull. I can run ME3 at 60fps, but not ME1. I can't pull 60fps on a game from 2006 and the first Modern Warfare performs even worse.

I'm just trying to get an understanding of what is going on here.

Bundy_Drop_Bear
09-13-2012, 03:41 AM
What drivers are you running?
would be the first question anyone on here will ask just like i just asked.
then we can help you out more, alos are you running on battery or plugged into mains power, as battery isn't ment for gaming, apart form solitaire.

AlanMcKinnon
09-13-2012, 03:43 AM
Plugged in, high performance, 306.2 beta drivers.

Bundy_Drop_Bear
09-13-2012, 04:50 AM
try turning off AA and V-sync

AlanMcKinnon
09-13-2012, 05:06 AM
AA is off. I don't touch V-sync because I really can't abide tearing, but surely just V-sync wouldn't be enough to mean I can't run a game like CoD2 with 60fps? I've seen benchmarks with this card running MW3 at an average of 67fps.

aminof
09-13-2012, 01:42 PM
i play COD 2 maxed @91fps with my asus g75vw-t1042v gtx670m.
you must have a driver problem or OS problem ,i run 296.97 latest official driver from asus on win7 64bit

AlanMcKinnon
09-13-2012, 05:18 PM
What kind of OS problem do you mean?

Apexing
09-14-2012, 08:13 AM
one thinkg could be it tries to utilize the cores on the cpu, more than it can use, you can do ctrl+alt+del, go into the one at the buttom, then into provessor, rightclick the one that belongs to the game you are running, then choose the one thats number 3 from the buttom, uncheck so it only uses 1 core.
I know i have to do this for the first deus-ex game