PDA

View Full Version : Two types of GHZ?



AsusMan
09-17-2012, 10:01 PM
How can a computer have two types of GHZ?

Is the computer 2.60GHZ or 3.60GHZ?


Example: Processor: Intel i7-3720QM 2.60 Ghz (x 8 threads) | 3.60 GHz (x 4 Threads) | 6 MB L3 Cache | 45 Watts

cl-scott
09-17-2012, 10:07 PM
No, that's Intel's TurboBoost feature. It dynamically overclocks the CPU based on the load level. There's a complicated calculus being done by the chip's hardware that factors in how many cores are active, and the thermal overhead of each core at various load levels, which then determines just how far up the overclocking of any particular core can be ratcheted up. But it's a transitory thing regardless, so 2.6GHz is the core clock speed, and it can go up to 3.6GHz temporarily if certain conditions are met.

AsusMan
09-17-2012, 10:09 PM
No, that's Intel's TurboBoost feature. It dynamically overclocks the CPU based on the load level. There's a complicated calculus being done by the chip's hardware that factors in how many cores are active, and the thermal overhead of each core at various load levels, which then determines just how far up the overclocking of any particular core can be ratcheted up. But it's a transitory thing regardless, so 2.6GHz is the core clock speed, and it can go up to 3.6GHz temporarily if certain conditions are met.

oh.. so it does it automatically?

xeromist
09-17-2012, 10:30 PM
Yes. It goes faster when needed and slows down to save power and run cooler when it isn't.