PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try Borderlands 2 on their G75 ?



scrufy
09-22-2012, 04:01 AM
I'm thinking I'll grab Borderlands 2. I'm just wondering if anyone here has tried it and how the G75 handles it.
For comparison I have the 16Gb Ram version. 256Gb SSD and a 1 Gb drive. Only the 2.3 i7 though and the Nvidia 670m.

Shawnnepc
09-22-2012, 05:33 AM
I'm thinking I'll grab Borderlands 2. I'm just wondering if anyone here has tried it and how the G75 handles it.
For comparison I have the 16Gb Ram version. 256Gb SSD and a 1 Gb drive. Only the 2.3 i7 though and the Nvidia 670m.


Runs everything @ Highest including PhysX.

No noticeable lag

Davixandrex89
09-22-2012, 06:39 AM
I played it this morning, 1080 with all options on high, exept for the PhysX (medium), the game runs between 40 and 60 fps, sometimes feel some letdown, but I think q is normal, I have a DS73 g75vw, 12gb ram, 1.5tb 7200rpm hd. and gtx670m.

madnj
09-22-2012, 04:06 PM
Runs perfect with all on high with a lightly overclocked G75 Best Buy version with the 660m. It's definitely a beautiful looking game.

ForCeV
09-22-2012, 04:34 PM
I play it max settings with 50~60FPS. no problem. Maybe when some graphic effect has happend, it will drop more than that FPS. but no reason why I don't play it with max settings.

Thaladred
09-22-2012, 04:41 PM
Yep max settings even physx with a 660m, runs it no problem. Lightly overclocked as well

scrufy
09-22-2012, 06:43 PM
ok thanks.. just got the dload version. will be playing in a couple hours after a 5 Gb download.

jdotjdot7
09-22-2012, 11:53 PM
I'm thinking I'll grab Borderlands 2. I'm just wondering if anyone here has tried it and how the G75 handles it.
For comparison I have the 16Gb Ram version. 256Gb SSD and a 1 Gb drive. Only the 2.3 i7 though and the Nvidia 670m.

I have a 660M BBK5 ( BB Model) and it runs everything on high with AA and x4 around 30-60 FPS averageing around 45 FPS. Not bad, especially considering the Phyx, something I noticed is changing from High to Medium doesn't change much.

scrufy
09-23-2012, 12:56 AM
thanks for the info! Ive been on and off it all day. rnning everything max and AA highest setting and framerate at unlimited.This laptop rocks!

WontonNoodle
09-24-2012, 12:16 AM
what the... running all high except physx (medium) and getting 20-40 fps. 1080p.660m. Something wrong with my laptop??

SubmersedHollow
09-24-2012, 09:52 PM
i got a question
just got my self borderlands 2 and tried to test it.
- first tried all max out settings physics and stuff (i received about 8-30 fps)
- then i tried all max with cpu calculating physX (got around 10-40fps)

then i lowered the settings to 4x AA and medium physX (gpu setting) i received around 8-35fps

my specs:
g75
i7 3610qm 2.3
16gb ram (1333mhz)
gtx 660m 2gb

i wish for a helpful response couse i don't know if it's somthing wrong with my pc or not.
my research:
maybe problems with throttle (don't know about that the temperatures are not showing overheating(60-70C)
or
problems with PSU! (some wierd sounds)
(was monitoring the power consumption when it was around 35fps it was around 100w
when it droped to 8fps it was only around 65w
------------
don't know exactly what was going on but i went to
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Games-on-Laptop-Graphic-Cards.13849.0.html
checked the specs for 660m and settings for ultra
ultra
1920x1080 (Ultra) High / On (PhysX low) FXAA 8xAF
tried the settings and ye frames where the same.(around 41fps)
i guess it's nothing wrong and it's normal for higher then physX on low to get low fps.
the 670m should get like 5fps more if notebookcheck is right.

Davixandrex89
09-25-2012, 02:34 AM
I do not know, when I started the game it ran about 40/60 fps with all parameters in high, now that I progress some missions the game does not exceed 50fps and when enemies are too many and there is shooting and more, this falls to 30fps, I have a DS73 g75vw, 12gb ram, 1.5 tb 7200rpm and gtx670m. is this normal? greetings!

Mullitia
01-08-2013, 06:09 PM
Hi guys.

I'm an owner of the G55 (GTX 660M), and when I max out, I tend to have 20-30 fps. The 30 is infact the maximum and it seems like it is capped although I do not have it set as capped but as 'smoothed 22-60' or something like that. What could be the cause for not having higher framerates at all?

By the way, I'm using FRAPS to assess the framerate. And a Sixaxis to control.

Cheers.

Skull6
01-08-2013, 09:50 PM
Might be a stupid question, but I bought my kids Borderlands 2 as a Christmas present this year--for their X-box. Does anyone know if I can join their games if I buy & install it on my laptop?

SubmersedHollow
01-08-2013, 11:07 PM
Might be a stupid question, but I bought my kids Borderlands 2 as a Christmas present this year--for their X-box. Does anyone know if I can join their games if I buy & install it on my laptop?

no xbox is a completly diffrent story... it is a console and it plays multiplayer via xbox live/ split screen if it has function. on other hand if it would be possible it's a worth of a try :D u gave me an idea that i will try it even my self... some time in future. but ye i dout that it would work.

Mullitia
01-11-2013, 12:36 PM
what the... running all high except physx (medium) and getting 20-40 fps. 1080p.660m. Something wrong with my laptop??

Actually, now that I've switched from smoothed framerate to unlimited, I am in the same fps range; 40 fps for open areas with nothing particular ongoing, and 20+ fps when there are enemies/firefights. This is with everything as high and 1080P. I guess this is normal, and I have to switch off details or decrease resolution to obtain a bit more fluidity.

So as it stands, the G55VW (or the G75VW at least with 660m) cannot really cope with the (default) game at its highest graphical glory.

EDIT: forgot to mention that I have 8 GBs of RAM. This far I've been led to believe that adding e.g., extra 8 GBs would not affect the performance in any way. Should I be corrected?

Mullitia
01-13-2013, 02:57 PM
Hi guys (continuing the monologue here :) )

actually now that I've played a little further, the performance has become worse, unfortunately. So my current take is that the 660m cannot keep up without me dropping the resolution by a couple of levels. This means that I have to be in the 720p ballpark to ensure steady framerates. Needless to say, I'm quite disappointed. Was I expecting too much, or would you say there is something fundamentally wrong? I cannot get playable steady framerates with 1600X900, let alone at 1080p.

LDouglasLJr
01-13-2013, 08:18 PM
I've put in over 300 hours on Borderlands 2 on my G75VW with 660M. I have it set to 1080P and all settings on max with the exception of physics which is set to medium. I have a constant frame rate of 40+. If I enable physics to high I drop to 25 or so.

Mullitia
01-13-2013, 09:39 PM
Ok, thanks for your reply.

Hmmm... are you positive you can remain at appr. 40 even during intense firefights? I am not doubting you, just want to have a clarification. If so, then something must definitely be off with my piece. :(

I am very positive that there is nothing running in the background either, so could this be a heat issue? Does Furmark give any indication? (I've only heard of it)

LDouglasLJr
01-14-2013, 03:38 AM
When I'm running any game I have EVGA On Screen Display running to keep track of my GPU temp, which stays between 60-63 depending on how long I've been playing. Within EVGA, I have it also enabled to use FRAPS to show my frame rate and also HWMonitor to keep track of CPU temp which also stays nice and cool.

Just working on my second character today and played quite a lot actually and never had an issue. I'm running the latest drivers from NVidia but even before them I didn't have any issue. I've had this G75 since September, Borderlands 2 was one my my reasons for wanting a new laptop. And this one hasn't disappointed me in the least.

Mullitia
01-14-2013, 03:51 PM
Good to hear Douglas. Will give the EVGA utility a try.

What nvidia settings do you use? I'll try to mirror your setup. Also, do you have 8 gigs of Ram?
What else could have an effect? Sound (or other) drivers? Security programs?

I would really appreciate, if you could help me out since you definitely have the experience.

EDIT: Oh and I'm on Windows 8.

LDouglasLJr
01-14-2013, 08:53 PM
I took off the default Kaspersky Anti-Virus that mine came with and installed Microsoft's Security Essentials. I'm also using WIndows 7 so that is a difference.

Mine is the Best Buy version so I'm pretty sure 8GB of RAM as well. I haven't done any settings changes in the NVidia software, just running the latest drivers is all. Sound driver I haven't touched.

Mullitia
01-15-2013, 05:41 AM
Thanks again.

Ok, I'll have look into this. The 1080p surely is tempting.