PDA

View Full Version : VIA Audio Driver v6.0.10.1100 thoughts....and BUGS



finalhour
10-23-2012, 06:59 AM
Hey guys and gals,

So others had suggested that he VIA Audio Driver v6.0.10.1100 , which came out on Oct. 22 (YESTERDAY) was decent and seemed to work. After updating to it I'm finding that my volume controls (keyboard hotkeys fn + f10-12) don't adjust the volume correctly if headphones are in, and instead turn the speakers themselves on when you think you're going to be listening through headphones.

Also, even if you manually adjust volume when using headphones, if you stop listening to things for more than a few minutes (from observations) it times out and anything you try to listen to can't be heard. You can fix it by muting and then unmuting your headphones manually (again no hotkeys!).

How can VIA do such a Crap job of putting out drivers? Why update if it doesn't work? Does ANYONE test these!?

rewben
10-23-2012, 07:34 AM
yes i have tested it, with speakers and headphones. the fn+f10-12 keys work for me. the speakers are not turned on when i use my headphones.

please do not update your drivers if they work for you. these so-called latest drivers are not tested and it can break things.

p.s.: there are a number of new drivers from ASUS, e.g. Touchpad_Elantech_Win7_64_Z11521, Audio_VIA_Win7_64_Z60101100, VGA_nVidia_Win7_64_Z918130668, MEI_V81101275_XPVistaWin7_8, KBFilter_Win7_64_Z1005, Atheros_Bluetooth_V72065_V800202_XPVistaWin7_8, IRST_Intel_Win7_64_Z11501207. they are not listed probably because they are currently under testing and are not ready for public download yet. use them at your own risks.

i am using most of them. everything is fine so far.

finalhour
10-23-2012, 01:07 PM
yes i have tested it, with speakers and headphones. the fn+f10-12 keys work for me. the speakers are not turned on when i use my headphones.

please do not update your drivers if they work for you. these so-called latest drivers are not tested and it can break things.

p.s.: there are a number of new drivers from ASUS, e.g. Touchpad_Elantech_Win7_64_Z11521, Audio_VIA_Win7_64_Z60101100, VGA_nVidia_Win7_64_Z918130668, MEI_V81101275_XPVistaWin7_8, KBFilter_Win7_64_Z1005, Atheros_Bluetooth_V72065_V800202_XPVistaWin7_8, IRST_Intel_Win7_64_Z11501207. they are not listed probably because they are currently under testing and are not ready for public download yet. use them at your own risks.

i am using most of them. everything is fine so far.

I meant people at VIA ;-) not you hahaha or anyone on here, but the companies that put these out! :-P

rewben
10-23-2012, 01:41 PM
I meant people at VIA ;-) not you hahaha or anyone on here, but the companies that put these out! :-P
haha ok :) i think some of the drivers are for development purposes (alpha) and not meant for public. i think i better don't post them from now on, unless it could help provide remedies to some issues.

finalhour
10-24-2012, 11:09 AM
haha ok :) i think some of the drivers are for development purposes (alpha) and not meant for public. i think i better don't post them from now on, unless it could help provide remedies to some issues.

Sooo I tried to go back to the one I had before (not sure what version I had) but I've tried 2 older versions: 10800a and another, and both weren't as I had it before upgrading to the 1100 one (I used to just use the volume fn+f10-12 keys to adjust volume and it would scale the subwoofer too, now it just stays stuck wherever I slide it within the HD Audio Deck).

Can anyone (rewben?) help me figure out what driver to try to go back to (I promise to leave it alone after this!)?

AzraelsKiss
10-24-2012, 11:55 AM
Sooo I tried to go back to the one I had before (not sure what version I had) but I've tried 2 older versions: 10800a and another, and both weren't as I had it before upgrading to the 1100 one (I used to just use the volume fn+f10-12 keys to adjust volume and it would scale the subwoofer too, now it just stays stuck wherever I slide it within the HD Audio Deck).

Can anyone (rewben?) help me figure out what driver to try to go back to (I promise to leave it alone after this!)?
I've noticed that the 900a driver adjusts the subwoofer with the volume controls.

finalhour
10-24-2012, 12:24 PM
i'm pretty sure I tried that one though...I'll give it a go again if you can link me to it...

finalhour
10-24-2012, 08:56 PM
I've noticed that the 900a driver adjusts the subwoofer with the volume controls.

SO I just ran the uninstall, restarted, and installed 900a like you said, and it's not fixing the subwoofer, the volume bar on it doesn't move when I use the fn+f10-12 keys to adjust volume. Can I get some help resolving this? I just want things back to how they were on my machine!

rewben
10-25-2012, 02:31 AM
@finalhour, sorry was away. AzraelsKiss was right, the last one i used was 900a too.

when you uninstalled the VIA driver and rebooted, check if there is VIA-related folders in your Program Files or Program Files (x86). i found them still laying there when i did the uninstall. try remove them, reboot, then carry on with the installation of driver.

finalhour
10-25-2012, 02:21 PM
@finalhour, sorry was away. AzraelsKiss was right, the last one i used was 900a too.

when you uninstalled the VIA driver and rebooted, check if there is VIA-related folders in your Program Files or Program Files (x86). i found them still laying there when i did the uninstall. try remove them, reboot, then carry on with the installation of driver.


huh...I'll try that, is there a reg entry I should search for? To uninstall I've been running the installer and just choosing the remove VIA HD then restarting, running the same installer (900a, also tried 800a) and installing it. I don't see it in add/remove programs so I figured this was the only way to get rid of it and start clean.

rewben
10-25-2012, 02:26 PM
no, i noticed that there were still some folders with files left in the Program Files/(x86). just delete them all just to be sure. in add/remove programs VIA installer should be labelled as "VIA Platform Device Manager"

finalhour
10-25-2012, 04:00 PM
no, i noticed that there were still some folders with files left in the Program Files/(x86). just delete them all just to be sure. in add/remove programs VIA installer should be labelled as "VIA Platform Device Manager"

Sounds good, I'll give this a shot and let you know! I appreciate your continued help, means a lot to have users on here that are so knowledgeable and willing to advise

rewben
10-25-2012, 04:49 PM
just trying to help, with no guarantee if it will work though :/

finalhour
10-26-2012, 03:10 PM
just trying to help, with no guarantee if it will work though :/

Sooooo....I did all of the suggested...deleted anything Via-related after uninstalling and then put the 10900a one back on, no luck, still won't move the slider on the subwoofer when I use volume controls

madnj
10-26-2012, 03:34 PM
Well, I just updated to the .1100 drivers and my hotkeys still work fine.

I'm not sure what's meant by adjusting subwoofer volume with the volume +/- hotkeys, but my hotkeys adjust the volume as expected.

If your hotkeys don't do anything, you might want to reinstall your ATK package which controls the hotkey functions.

finalhour
10-26-2012, 03:36 PM
Well, I just updated to the .1100 drivers and my hotkeys still work fine.

I'm not sure what's meant by adjusting subwoofer volume with the volume +/- hotkeys, but my hotkeys adjust the volume as expected.

If your hotkeys don't do anything, you might want to reinstall your ATK package which controls the hotkey functions.

The hotkeys work but only control volume in the left and right speakers, they won't adjust the subwoofer volume. As you can see from the start of this thread, I had it all working when I tried a new driver that someone posted on here. Since it worked before and the only change was the VIA driver, it's definitely not an ATK issue, it's a VIA issue

madnj
10-26-2012, 03:49 PM
Ah, okay. I don't think I ever noticed... I have my bass set at 100% (subwoofer maxed I guess) and my hotkeys control the volume and the bass level doesn't move.

I'm not seeing anywhere in the VIA HD Audiodeck software that specifically calls out the subwoofer, but it shows 2.1 and I can run a test on the subwoofer channel that works. In volume I have left/right and then a separate "bass" level which is not controlled by the volume control.

Personally I'm fine with that, but I assume that's what you're referring to.

*EDIT* and the other thing I probably should mention is that I use a USB stick based wireless headset that acts as a completely separate audio device so I rarely use the builtin speakers anyway. That said, I've been pretty impressed with the sound quality for such small laptop speakers.