PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking Results - Acceptable?

squatchy
10-23-2012, 08:35 PM
Hello everyone,

So I'm pretty new to overclocking - but after doing some extensive research and such, I think I'm somewhat knowledgeable and won't do anything too stupid.

Anyway, I've managed to get the following:

4.5GHz overclock with VCore set to 1.225V (manual) and LLC set to ultra high (75%). This was tested to be stable with LinX and my peak temperatures were 86C for the hottest core.

I'm just wondering if this is an acceptable result? Do you think having it at this setting for 24/7 usage will be reasonable and won't damage my CPU over time? I know the temperatures are slightly high for everyday use, but I highly doubt I will ever get that high with any normal workload. Even AIDA64 Extreme doesn't drive temps as high as LinX.

My system specs:

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 CPU Heatsink
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus V Formula
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL9 (9-9-9-24 CR2) @ 1.5V
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 OC
Power Supply: Corsair Professional HX850

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Krindor
10-23-2012, 08:45 PM
During normal day work the cpu will never be pushed so hard so that overclock is succesful. If you're still uncertain run prime95 in blend there is probably no other program out there that pushes the processor to it's limit like pime 95. If the temps are still 86C then for daily use there shouldn't be any problems.
What are your temps in idle?

Zka17
10-23-2012, 08:45 PM
Which temps are you referring to and what application are you using to assess them?

Your most important temps are the temps of the individual cores... use an application which is able to show them... - then you could be on the safe side for 24/7 usage if your core temps are staying below 75C-80C during LinX...

The Noctua NH-D14 is a very potent cooler... - if you can supply enough airflow through it...

squatchy
10-23-2012, 08:55 PM