PDA

View Full Version : 660M using Nvidia Inspector ?



ikennyyy
10-27-2012, 12:18 AM
Hi, so I'm using Nvidia Inspector to overclock my 660m. Maybe I'm not understanding how to use this. I have Performance Level 2(P0) on 135 MHz and Mem at 500 MHz. However I'm not too sure what you do with the other tabs above such as Performance Level 0(P8) and 1(P5). Could anyone help me out with this? I guess I just need explaining and what are the max setting I should put the other two levels on.

ikennyyy
10-27-2012, 01:12 AM
Basicly this is what I got, anyway to get it higher? http://img.techpowerup.org/121026/nvidia_20121026_204932.png

RPXZ
10-27-2012, 02:40 AM
Basicly this is what I got, anyway to get it higher? http://img.techpowerup.org/121026/nvidia_20121026_204932.png

This is when you need the BIOS unlock, unfortunately it seems like the unlocked one I found isn't working for some people.

ikennyyy
10-27-2012, 02:57 AM
Dang so this is pretty much max without messing with bio right?

trieuan10
10-27-2012, 03:44 AM
I just set the Mem to +400Mhz. I 've got fps problems in some game like MW3 or BF3 when I set the Mem to +500MHz.

RPXZ
10-27-2012, 04:09 AM
I just set the Mem to +400Mhz. I 've got fps problems in some game like MW3 or BF3 when I set the Mem to +500MHz.

Artifacts?

There actually is way to get more out of it without an unlocked BIOS. I'll post up tonight or tomorrow sometime.

RPXZ
10-27-2012, 04:36 AM
Ok so here is what I did to get around it. If someone has a better method please chime in.

Load nvidiainspector
Click overclock tab
Make sure its set at Performance level 2 (P0)
Hit Apply clocks and voltages (for shortcut purposes and verification that it will overclock higher)
Now click on create clocks shortcut. A new shortcut should appear on the desktop.
Find the shortcut and right click and hit properties
Find the target box and delete everything past nvidiaInspector.exe
Now type in -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,XXXX
XXXX represent what you want the core clock to be, for example if you want 1100 you would type that.
This is what your target should look like.
C:\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,1192 Obviously edit to where you created the nvidiainspector folder. 1192 is what my core clock is running at yours might be different.
Hit apply.
Bring up nvidia inspector again, and now double click on your shortcut and you should have a higher core clock now. Move the memory tab how you would normally to increase it 500mhz or more.


Now to edit the coreclock all you have to do is edit that shortcut you made. For example if I wanted to increase my coreclock 5mhz my target would look like this. C:\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,1192
Hit apply double click on the shortcut and the clock will increase.

Sounds confusing but it really isnt that bad at all. After you find a nice overclock you like all you have to do is these steps.
Load nvidiainspector
Click overclock tab
Make sure its set at Performance level 2 (P0)
Up the Memory clock offset to what you want
double click on the shortcut you made with the core clock that you want and its done.

13019

RPXZ
10-27-2012, 07:23 PM
Bump for anything that would like to know this work around without having to use a modded bios.

ikennyyy
10-27-2012, 07:38 PM
Bump for anything that would like to know this work around without having to use a modded bios.

Dude you are awesome! It worked and my scores are showing quite an improvement. Thanks a lot man. What are the max setting that you have done with yours?

ikennyyy
10-27-2012, 09:41 PM
Most I could push out.

http://img.techpowerup.org/121027/nvidia_20121027_174055.png

RPXZ
10-28-2012, 02:08 AM
Most I could push out.

http://img.techpowerup.org/121027/nvidia_20121027_174055.png

Your core clock is higher than mind. I'm having trouble getting 1200mhz stable. Hit or miss as usual with overclocking. Aw well, I'm tempted to return it anyways and get something with a 680 in it.

I'm really pushing hard to get us a volt modded bios so we can get a little more out of these cards.

Do you have 3dmark11 by any chance? Would like to see your score with that.

bignazpwns
10-28-2012, 10:35 AM
Your core clock is higher than mind. I'm having trouble getting 1200mhz stable. Hit or miss as usual with overclocking. Aw well, I'm tempted to return it anyways and get something with a 680 in it.

I'm really pushing hard to get us a volt modded bios so we can get a little more out of these cards.

Do you have 3dmark11 by any chance? Would like to see your score with that.

With that clock he should be around 3700 over all in 3D Mark 11 with around 3400 for a gpu score give or take a few depending on the drivers.

trieuan10
10-28-2012, 11:31 AM
Thanks RPXZ for your good method. But when I put the mem to +500Mhz. I still got some lag and crash while I was playing games. Do you have any idea?

ikennyyy
10-28-2012, 07:59 PM
Your core clock is higher than mind. I'm having trouble getting 1200mhz stable. Hit or miss as usual with overclocking. Aw well, I'm tempted to return it anyways and get something with a 680 in it.

I'm really pushing hard to get us a volt modded bios so we can get a little more out of these cards.

Do you have 3dmark11 by any chance? Would like to see your score with that.

Scores are here, @bignazpwn yeah you were right on the money man. Keep in mind that I only ran this at 1250 because I knew it would be stable enough to run. http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4786027

bignazpwns
10-28-2012, 11:37 PM
Scores are here, @bignazpwn yeah you were right on the money man. Keep in mind that I only ran this at 1250 because I knew it would be stable enough to run. http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4786027

I know the mobile kepler series very well.

ikennyyy
10-28-2012, 11:54 PM
Indeed. These card aren't bad at all. Seriously though, thanks you guys for all the help.

The igloo
01-26-2013, 02:21 AM
Once you have created the shortcut and have gotten the overclock you want, how do you reset to defaults in Nvidia Inspector? I keep having to restart my computer to get the clocks back to default and decrease my GPU temp.

ZeroBarrier
01-26-2013, 02:29 AM
Use another shortcut with the target:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe" -forcepstate:0,16

srmojuze
01-27-2013, 05:53 PM
Use another shortcut with the target:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe" -forcepstate:0,16


Once you have created the shortcut and have gotten the overclock you want, how do you reset to defaults in Nvidia Inspector? I keep having to restart my computer to get the clocks back to default and decrease my GPU temp.

Yeah just make a Normal.bat or something like that to run the command to restore to normal. Works like a charm. Also handy when you notice temps and fans going up a lot and you need to quickly restore your stock clocks!

Eskibot
02-25-2014, 05:56 PM
Ok so here is what I did to get around it. If someone has a better method please chime in.

Load nvidiainspector
Click overclock tab
Make sure its set at Performance level 2 (P0)
Hit Apply clocks and voltages (for shortcut purposes and verification that it will overclock higher)
Now click on create clocks shortcut. A new shortcut should appear on the desktop.
Find the shortcut and right click and hit properties
Find the target box and delete everything past nvidiaInspector.exe
Now type in -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,XXXX
XXXX represent what you want the core clock to be, for example if you want 1100 you would type that.
This is what your target should look like.
C:\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,1192 Obviously edit to where you created the nvidiainspector folder. 1192 is what my core clock is running at yours might be different.
Hit apply.
Bring up nvidia inspector again, and now double click on your shortcut and you should have a higher core clock now. Move the memory tab how you would normally to increase it 500mhz or more.


Now to edit the coreclock all you have to do is edit that shortcut you made. For example if I wanted to increase my coreclock 5mhz my target would look like this. C:\nvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,1192
Hit apply double click on the shortcut and the clock will increase.

Sounds confusing but it really isnt that bad at all. After you find a nice overclock you like all you have to do is these steps.
Load nvidiainspector
Click overclock tab
Make sure its set at Performance level 2 (P0)
Up the Memory clock offset to what you want
double click on the shortcut you made with the core clock that you want and its done.

13019

does this actually work?

itsgreekpete
02-27-2014, 12:35 AM
does this actually work?

yes it works, it makes you force a pstate... i ran my 660m like that for quit a while before i started voltmodding

Eskibot
02-27-2014, 09:38 PM
yes it works, it makes you force a pstate... i ran my 660m like that for quit a while before i started voltmodding

whats the recommended setting? and who has played titanfall on 660M?

ggBanks
03-02-2014, 11:59 AM
Does the nVidia Inspector forcing P-states work on the latest 334.89 driver?

srmojuze
09-25-2014, 10:57 AM
Try this overclock.bat
nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,1000 -setMemoryClock:0,2,2950

Try this to reset everything
nvidiaInspector.exe -setVoltageOffset:0,0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,835 -setMemoryClock:0,2,2500 -forcepstate:0,16

Works in latest drivers.