PDA

View Full Version : Software issue, help!

henfai
11-01-2012, 03:09 PM
Hi, I am new to building and new to ROG. I built my first back in July. It carries Maximus V gene. All was good and well until a Kaspersky update happened. Every time at start up after the update, it became painfully slow, then the PDM.Keylogger alert pops and everything is back up to speed again. So I ran a few simple experiments, I rolled back to previous version prior to that update and rebooted several times. The OS was able to pick things up right away like before without any lag at all, then I updated it again and the lagging at start up occurs again. I do not want to have to be stuck with an non-updated version of AV but I have no choice because it ticks me off every time at start up. Any way I can fix this at all? Thank you.

HiVizMan
11-01-2012, 03:24 PM
Remove the AV - did you pay for it? Or is is a freeware version, sounds dodge as hell that you have a keylogger that comes up.

Which version of K Key are you using?

kkn
11-01-2012, 03:26 PM
tried a clean instal of OS again? ( yeah i know its not fun doing so )
it "can" be virus or you instaled a .exe file you shouldnt have instaled ( bogus program or some thing like that )
is it HDD ( old or new ) or ssd??
list your specs.

henfai
11-01-2012, 03:43 PM
I have got a 128GB ssd along with a 1TB hdd for mass storage. Also it is a free software that came with the mobo itself with a one year license. The catch is though I have had that keylogger behavior alert ever since day one when I put the system together but every time that behavior alert goes away after a few seconds and it never used to slow my system down until the update. :confused:

kkn
11-01-2012, 03:47 PM
was the HDD new or old?
im thinking of is, was there files on it when you added it or was it brand new whit out enny files on it. ( the HDD and SSD )

henfai
11-01-2012, 03:50 PM