PDA

View Full Version : SSD advice please (samsung 830 512gb)



Undertoker
11-01-2012, 09:05 PM
Hi guys
I'm running a rampage 3 extreme
I have ordered a Samsung 830 ssd and plan to install this as a main drive on my PC

I have been told ill need to set the bios to ahci ?

What is this and where in the bios is it ?

Secondly I'm also told to update the firmware for the ssd BEFORE installing anything onto it

So I'm assuming set he bios to ahci and boot up with this ssd as a second drive, then update the firmware on it first.
Then run it as a main drive and install an OS onto it ?

Any tips or pointers to guides to set these up would be appreciated
Regards and thanks
John

HiVizMan
11-01-2012, 11:23 PM
Hello again.

AHCI is a mode of use for the SATA ports. Not sure what default is on the R3E anymore but I think it is IDE, so yes you will have to change the mode of your SATA ports.

No you do not have to update the firmware of your SSD, it will be shipped with the latest firmware, there has not been a change of firmware from Samsung for a while now. The 830 is a very mature platform as SSD controller go. What you can do is download Samsung magic, simply select the optimisation option in the utility and all the fine tuning of your OS and registry will be done automatically.

Easy as that.

Undertoker
11-02-2012, 07:41 AM
Thanks hi viz man
I'll have a look thru the bios tonight and see where it is.
The drive should be here on Monday hopefully

It's my first SSD so I'm new to them tbh

HiVizMan
11-02-2012, 11:10 AM
My friend we were all new to SSD not so long ago. We are learning as we go along. And ROG is a good place to learn.

You take care and let me know how it goes please.

_
11-02-2012, 11:32 AM
Thanks hi viz man
I'll have a look thru the bios tonight and see where it is.
The drive should be here on Monday hopefully

It's my first SSD so I'm new to them tbh

Advanced tab - onboard devices configuration, or, chipset.

Area 66
11-02-2012, 12:24 PM
I have been told ill need to set the bios to ahci ?


John

Hi John, you will really fall in love with your SSD, just adjust the ahci mode , but don't touch the firmware, I see few post on other forum that peoples have brick their SSD doing that, as HiViz said it work fine right from the factory.

TenBlade
11-02-2012, 02:39 PM
And here´s a good read, you´ll know a lot about SSDs after that. http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/seans-windows-7-install-optimization-guide-for-ssds-hdds

Undertoker
11-02-2012, 07:02 PM
Thanks all of you guys
It is much appreciated from all of you, great forum for experienced helpful enthusiasts .

I'll let you know how I get on, it should be here Monday
*crosses fingers