PDA

View Full Version : G75VW does not perform as well as some I saw on youtube



gravehopper
11-03-2012, 11:26 PM
Am I doing anything wrong?

to be specific I have the g75vw-rs72

Liquidus
11-04-2012, 12:19 AM
... no you're not specific at all. How the heck are we supposed to know what you're talking about?

Common sense bro! and welcome to asus rog, but you could give us more info on what's not performing as well as you want it to.

Is it games? Web browsing? What is it? And don't say "everything" please.

chrsplmr
11-04-2012, 01:41 AM
GraveHopper .. Welcome to ROG .. as brotherLiquidus so elegantly stated .. hehe .. Please, more information.
What videos ? Were the specs listed ?

For one quick item .. your machine may have a 5,400rmp drive .. and the video you saw was an SSD
(which i suspect).
The rest of the machine is basically standard with 'some' having a little more RAM (memory) others with
an upgraded CPU or the 670 instead of the 660 GPU .. and don't rule out the gains of a simple clean install.
no offense.

What do you have, what did you see and what do you want yours to be ???
Like some say, 'ya can't get there from here.' yet ...

Liquidus .. "everything" .. hahhahahhaa thats good.
Although thats why 'we' obsessively upGrade .. Faster, Stronger, Smarter.... more.c.

gravehopper
11-04-2012, 09:19 AM
... no you're not specific at all. How the heck are we supposed to know what you're talking about?

Common sense bro! and welcome to asus rog, but you could give us more info on what's not performing as well as you want it to.

Is it games? Web browsing? What is it? And don't say "everything" please.



----------------------------------
01 - Operating System
----------------------------------

0101 - Operating System : Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333)
0102 - Language : English (Regional Setting: English)
0103 - BIOS : BIOS Date: 04/06/12 13:27:48 Ver: 04.06.05
0104 - Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
0105 - Memory : 8192MB RAM
0106 - Available OS Memory : 8152MB RAM
0107 - Page File : 2619MB used, 13682MB available
0108 - Windows Dir : C:\Windows
0109 - DirectX Version : DirectX 11
0110 - DX Setup Parameters : Not found
0111 - User DPI Setting : Using System DPI
0112 - System DPI Setting : 120 DPI (125 percent)
0113 - DWM DPI Scaling : UnKnown
0114 - DxDiag Version : 6.01.7601.17514

----------------------------------
02 - Processor
----------------------------------

0201 - Caption : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz x8 ~2301MHz
0202 - Current Clock Speed : 2301MHz

----------------------------------
03 - Video Adapter
----------------------------------

0301 - Card Name : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M
0302 - Manufacturer : NVIDIA
0303 - Chip Type : GeForce GTX 670M
0304 - DAC Type : Integrated RAMDAC
0305 - Device Key : Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1213&SUBSYS_21191043&REV_A1
0306 - Display Memory : 2743 MB
0307 - AdapterRAM : -1074069504 Byte
0308 - Current Mode : 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
0309 - Monitor Name : Generic PnP Monitor
0310 - Driver Name : nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,n vwgf2um,nvwgf2um
0311 - Driver Version : 9.18.0013.0623
0312 - Driver Language : English
0313 - DDI Version : 11
0314 - Driver Model : WDDM 1.1
0315 - Driver Beta : False
0316 - Driver Debug : False
0317 - Driver Date : 8/30/2012 11:14:00
0318 - Driver Size : 18229096
0319 - VDD : n/a
0320 - Mini VDD : n/a
0321 - Mini VDD Date : n/a
0322 - Mini VDD Size : 0
0323 - Device Identifier : {D7B71E3E-5153-11CF-9C71-14011CC2C435}
0324 - Vendor ID : 0x10DE
0325 - Device ID : 0x1213
0326 - SubSys ID : 0x21191043
0327 - Revision ID : 0x00A1
0328 - Driver Strong Name : oem42.inf:NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1:Section1 82:9.18.13.623:pci\ven_10de&dev_1
0332 - D3D9 Overlay : Supported
0333 - DXVA-HD : Supported
0334 - DDraw Status : Enabled
0335 - D3D Status : Enabled
0336 - AGP Status : Enabled
0337 - Notes : No problems found.

0338 - OpenGL : 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255)

----------------------------------
04 - Memory
----------------------------------

0401 - Total Memory : 7.96 GB
0402 - Free Memory : 5.98 GB
0403 - Total Pagefile : 15.92 GB
0404 - Free Pagefile : 13.35 GB

0405 - Bank Label : BANK 1
0406 - Speed : 1600 MHz
0407 - Total Width : 64 Bits
0408 - Capacity : 4.00 GB

0405 - Bank Label : BANK 3
0406 - Speed : 1600 MHz
0407 - Total Width : 64 Bits
0408 - Capacity : 4.00 GB

----------------------------------
05 - Network
----------------------------------

0501 - Description : Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter
0502 - Driver Date : 11-22-2011
0503 - Driver Version : 9.2.0.469

----------------------------------
06 - Motherboard
----------------------------------

0601 - Model : G75VW
0602 - Manufacturer : ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.

----------------------------------
07 - Sound Device
----------------------------------

0701 - Description : Speakers (VIA High Definition Audio)
0702 - Default Sound Playback : True
0703 - Default Voice Playback : True
0704 - Hardware ID : HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1106&DEV_8446&SUBSYS_10431487&REV_1000
0705 - Manufacturer ID : 1
0706 - Product ID : 100
0707 - Type : WDM
0708 - Driver Name : viahduaa.sys
0709 - Driver Version : 6.00.0001.10400
0710 - Driver attributes : Final Retail
0711 - Date and Size : 3/22/2012 23:07:42
0713 - Driver Provider : VIA Technologies, Inc.
0714 - Min/Max Sample Rate : 5047086, 5047086
0715 - Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs : 5047086, 5047086
0716 - Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs : 5047086, 5047086
0717 - HW Memory : 5047094
0718 - Voice Management : False
0719 - EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src : False, False
0720 - I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src : False, False
0721 - Notes : No problems found.

0701 - Description : SPDIF Interface (TX0) (VIA High Definition Audio)
0702 - Default Sound Playback : False
0703 - Default Voice Playback : False
0704 - Hardware ID : HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1106&DEV_8446&SUBSYS_10431487&REV_1000
0705 - Manufacturer ID : 1
0706 - Product ID : 100
0707 - Type : WDM
0708 - Driver Name : viahduaa.sys
0709 - Driver Version : 6.00.0001.10400
0710 - Driver attributes : Final Retail
0711 - Date and Size : 3/22/2012 23:07:42
0713 - Driver Provider : VIA Technologies, Inc.
0714 - Min/Max Sample Rate : 5047086, 5047086
0715 - Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs : 5047086, 5047086
0716 - Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs : 5047086, 5047086
0717 - HW Memory : 5047094
0718 - Voice Management : False
0719 - EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src : False, False
0720 - I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src : False, False
0721 - Notes : No problems found.


----------------------------------
08 - Harddisk
----------------------------------

0801 - Model : ST9750420AS(Seagate, 750G)
0802 - Media Type : Fixed hard disk media
0803 - Size : 698.64 GB
0804 - Interface Type : Serial ATA
0805 - Driver Date : 6-21-2006
0806 - Driver Version : 6.1.7600.16385

0807 - Caption : C:\
0808 - Capacity : 279.46 GB
0809 - Free Space : 127.07 GB
0810 - Drive Type : 3-Fixed
0811 - File System : NTFS

0807 - Caption : D:\
0808 - Capacity : 394.45 GB
0809 - Free Space : 378.86 GB
0810 - Drive Type : 3-Fixed
0811 - File System : NTFS


I watched a video of a guy using pretty much the same setup as mine (same laptop) running battlefield3 on
ultra + fraps on 60+ fps

My laptop cannot handle planetside 2 on max settings without going to 3 fps from 50 every few seconds in combat

Not sure if I set something up wrong...

_
11-04-2012, 11:26 AM
Hi,

Do you have the YouTube link?

You can't really compare to different games, it's Apples to Oranges. Nor does it state what resolution he was playing it - if it was less than Full HD then it's certainly do-able at 60FPS.

Have you removed McAfee? Updated your graphics drivers? Your sound drivers are still 10400 - the latest is 10900 and 11000, which can help fix some potential problems. Please follow the guides in our stickies about updating them correctly.

Apexing
11-04-2012, 01:11 PM
plugged in or running from battory, what driver for gpu.
and crap running in back ground

Liquidus
11-04-2012, 06:58 PM
Pretty sure you can blame McCafe for the FPS loss oscillation every few seconds. Uninstall that.

gravehopper
11-04-2012, 08:06 PM
Macafee is uninstalled, I updated the gpu drivers to the most current ones.

So far, the fps improved but it is still within 30-45 fps range.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZPOezi5JvU
(link to video)
As far as I understand, the guy's rig is a tad bit older than mine and outperforms mine.
Or maybe I am just being very stupid.


To add to this, I have the razer game booster which shuts off all the useless processes running in the background so that is not the issue)

Daylife
11-04-2012, 08:34 PM
Lol........so 30-45 FPS is unplayable for you? damn you must be superman with crazy vision or something.

WontonNoodle
11-04-2012, 09:05 PM
Yeah, how do I get the good performance that everyone else is getting? I'm always getting 30-40 fps, with even dips in the 20's for games.

chrsplmr
11-04-2012, 09:16 PM
You have to be just a few simple tweaks away ..
I didn't see a fps meter .. that didn't look like anything
'off the hook' to me ..
Something is running .. like I said .. a few tweaks away.c.

gravehopper
11-04-2012, 10:05 PM
Lol........so 30-45 FPS is unplayable for you? damn you must be superman with crazy vision or something.

I meant that the highest it goes up to is 30-45 but it does dip into 15s when there is a lot of stuff going on.
I am just not sure how to get the best performance out of it.

gravehopper
11-04-2012, 10:07 PM
You have to be just a few simple tweaks away ..
I didn't see a fps meter .. that didn't look like anything
'off the hook' to me ..
Something is running .. like I said .. a few tweaks away.c.

How would I check what to tweak?
Also is there a setting for shutting the 3d off completely? Because I hear it lowers performance if it is activated but not even on.

Daylife
11-04-2012, 11:38 PM
Some people need to remember that they bought a $1250-$1500 laptop....they are expecting 60 FPS on BF3 with full settings.....thats not going to happen, you will need to tweak and lower some settings. If you want a constant 60 FPS with full settings on games like that get a DESKTOP or prepare to throw out $2,000 for a GTX 680M or AMD 7970M.

GTX 660M is a great card but its a budget card......remember that.

_
11-04-2012, 11:46 PM
Well this is wrong: He says the MSI with GTX 670M trounces the 660M - we know the difference between 660M and 670M isn't that much, especially when the 660M is overclocked. (Not to mention the fact he classes the 670M as an upgrade, which it isn't - it's a standard, alternative offering. He also misses the rest of the hardware when he compares to MSI; a notebook is more than a graphics card, but there you go).

There's no FRAPs counter on screen, so I don't think he's recording at 60FPS, he's simply recording UP TO 60FPS, because that's what his vSync is set to. In reality he'll be hitting the performance you are. Lower your resolution to 1600x900 and it should help hit 60FPS.

EDIT: He's also playing the first mission which is mostly scripted, rather than an online match for example, so it will look particularly smooth.

Liquidus
11-05-2012, 12:09 AM
^ This guy, he's pretty smart.

dstrakele
11-05-2012, 12:55 AM
Just watch out when he picks up his rifle....

gravehopper
11-05-2012, 02:34 AM
Well this is wrong: He says the MSI with GTX 670M trounces the 660M - we know the difference between 660M and 670M isn't that much, especially when the 660M is overclocked. (Not to mention the fact he classes the 670M as an upgrade, which it isn't - it's a standard, alternative offering. He also misses the rest of the hardware when he compares to MSI; a notebook is more than a graphics card, but there you go).

There's no FRAPs counter on screen, so I don't think he's recording at 60FPS, he's simply recording UP TO 60FPS, because that's what his vSync is set to. In reality he'll be hitting the performance you are. Lower your resolution to 1600x900 and it should help hit 60FPS.

EDIT: He's also playing the first mission which is mostly scripted, rather than an online match for example, so it will look particularly smooth.

Thanks for that response. A quick additional question for you.

He says that he turns off 3d for extra performance. What does he mean by that? Is there a setting that completely disables 3d?

Liquidus
11-05-2012, 02:41 AM
Probably there should be if you check the nvidia control panel. Have you tried doing that?

kuudou
11-05-2012, 04:45 AM
Thanks for that response. A quick additional question for you.

He says that he turns off 3d for extra performance. What does he mean by that? Is there a setting that completely disables 3d?

You can actually uninstall Nvidia 3D Vision from your list of installed Windows programs.

Most ASUS G75s aren't suited for 3D gaming anyway so it's largely useless. Uninstalling it actually boosts performance for some games like The Witcer 2.

Note that we're talking about the 3D Vision capability software here, which offers support for 3D peripherals, NOT built-in 3D settings in your Nvidia control panel.

Daylife
11-05-2012, 10:25 PM
Your probably have the laptop running on battery lol....or you hvent switched the settings to Gaming Mode.

GottiBoi55
11-06-2012, 12:17 AM
I'm using the "auto" settings in "campaign", and my average fps are like 58-75, gets upwards to 95fps when the game takes over
I'm running 1080p, just did a little tweaking of setting of the GTX-670m.
If you use the "auto" setting the game will evaluate your hardware, and set the setting for best performance.
My advise is to try using the auto setting in game an see how things work out.
take some time and play with setting for the GTX-670m till your find the "sweet spot"
But being realistic no one will get high fps on maxed out setting in games without OCing.

Zygomorphic
11-06-2012, 01:30 AM
Your probably have the laptop running on battery lol....or you hvent switched the settings to Gaming Mode.

Gaming mode probably won't help all that much, although running off the power brick would. All that Gaming Mode does is turn off the low-frequency modes of the processor, which will run at 100% frequency while gaming anyway.

_
11-06-2012, 07:52 AM
The RS72 is not 3D capable so this can be removed from the control panel.

Setting the system to high performance may help.
Make sure you run it plugged in.

This all might help slightly:
Set the pagefile to a fixed size: right now you have a varying one. - Win key+break --> advanced system properties --> advanced --> advanced --> virtual memory --> change button --> custom size: 4096, 4096. That should be enough since you have 8GB of DDR3.
Power options (right click on taskbar icon) --> (high-performance NOT Balanced!) change plan settings --> change advanced power settings --> processor power settings --> check the maximum is 100%. PCI-Express link state power management = off. HDD - turn off HDD - disable. This will drain your battery in record time though so remember to change back to balanced when you unplug.

If you're on wireless, change to wired as it will absolutely add lag if you're playing online.

Start - Run - MSConfig - Startup tab: see how many things load up and disable things like Adobe. If you can make a list maybe we can trim it to free a bit of resources.