PDA

View Full Version : F9 Recovery for OEM 7 SSD Installation



Aphilli4
11-04-2012, 04:31 PM
I have a BBK7, already did a 1080 screen swap and added 8 more gigs of matching ram to the 8 it had, now a SSD will coming its way in the near future.

My plan is to install the current Primary drive into the Second HD bay, install the SSD into the Primay bay and use the F9 recovery to install the OS on the SSD. Then I plan to wipe the old primary drive and using it for music, videos and picures leaving the recovery partition so its still in the computer for future use. Old secondary drive will then go in a USB 3.0 HD caddy.

Seems like a ok plan, most will balk at not using the .iso. However I like the feel of the OEM 7 vs. the .iso download 7 that I am running now. Yeah the .iso has less processes but with the SSD im sure the OEM will be plenty snappy.

So does anyone know if F9 recovery will work in such a way?

Quasimodem
11-04-2012, 08:11 PM
I have a BBK7, already did a 1080 screen swap and added 8 more gigs of matching ram to the 8 it had, now a SSD will coming its way in the near future.

My plan is to install the current Primary drive into the Second HD bay, install the SSD into the Primay bay and use the F9 recovery to install the OS on the SSD. Then I plan to wipe the old primary drive and using it for music, videos and picures leaving the recovery partition so its still in the computer for future use. Old secondary drive will then go in a USB 3.0 HD caddy.

Seems like a ok plan, most will balk at not using the .iso. However I like the feel of the OEM 7 vs. the .iso download 7 that I am running now. Yeah the .iso has less processes but with the SSD im sure the OEM will be plenty snappy.

So does anyone know if F9 recovery will work in such a way?

It's not going to work... It will load the recovery and put it back to drive it was on... You don't have the option to put it on the SSD instead... I tried the same... Even put things back like they were and it still didn't work... Error message was Cannot find C:\RECOVERY.dat

Even if the recovery does work, it's not installing to the SSD, but to your other drive...

dstrakele
11-04-2012, 08:54 PM
The DVD's created by Ai Recovery are what you use to restore the ASUS Factory Windows 7 and ASUS Bloatware to a new SSD or HDD.

You can also choose whether or not to copy the 25 GB hidden ASUS Factory Recovery partition to the new drive to allow an F9 ASUS Factory Restore. On a small SSD, many opt to save the drive space.

See http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?16645-Step-by-Step-Using-ASUS-Recovery-DVDs-to-Restore-G75&country=&status= for more information.

Aphilli4
11-04-2012, 09:34 PM
Good deal. At least I'll be able to re-create the recovery partition on the SSD. I made the disks the day I bought it. I'm getting at least a 256gb unless theres a price drop on the 512gb ones within a month, with all programs and games I actually use now ill be at 90 gb so recovery partition wont kill me.

Aphilli4
12-01-2012, 05:01 PM
After UPS delays, Samsung 830 256gb is here. Unfortunately you cannot mitigate the ASUS recovery CD's to the SSD without creating a recovery partition it goes directly into creating it. Since SSD partitons put files were ever the hell they want on an SSD a partition is out of the cards I wont have it. So I ended up using my iso burned Win7 disk anyway. Spares me some of the space Samsung screwed me on anyway, this thing is really a 238gb. Should be advertised as 240, maybe 245.

dstrakele
12-01-2012, 05:24 PM
Spares me some of the space Samsung screwed me on anyway, this thing is really a 238gb. Should be advertised as 240, maybe 245.

Not to worry - Samsung didn't screw you. It's drive capacity reported in Decimal (Base 10) vs. Binary (Base 2) in Windows (see http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/172191en for more information).

Aphilli4
12-02-2012, 01:59 PM
hey look at that :D learned something new.