PDA

View Full Version : G51VX/G60VX adding a second harddrive



mjallard
11-08-2012, 03:11 AM
I'm trying to install a new harddrive in my G51VX/G60VX laptop. It's a Seagate Momentus XT 500G. The bios is seeing the new drive but windows and Seagate Disc Wizard doesn't. I want to make the new drive the primary and use the old one as extra storage after. Any help would be great.

SUKARA@ASUS
11-08-2012, 03:35 AM
What's version notebook are you using?
Could you please try to upgrade the latest bios and test again?

bios download link:
G51VX:
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=zh-tw&p=3&s=191&m=G51VX&os=29&ft=3&f_name=G60VXAS205.zip#G60VXAS205.zip

G60VX:
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=zh-tw&p=3&s=195&m=G60VX&os=29&ft=3&f_name=G60VXAS205.zip#G60VXAS205.zip

Ubermanx
11-09-2012, 07:19 PM
I am having the same issue ...

Bios is v205. Detects first hard drive on sata0, DVD drive on sata1 and new hard drive on sata4 but when I boot to Windows 7 SP1 there is no second hard drive listed in Disk Management.

Ubermanx
11-09-2012, 07:26 PM
I am having the same issue ...

Bios is v205. Detects first hard drive on sata0, DVD drive on sata1 and new hard drive on sata4 but when I boot to Windows 7 SP1 there is no second hard drive listed in Disk Management.


I fixed the issue by rebooting and loading BIOS with F2 - load manufacturer's defaults on last page and reboot. Go back into BIOS with F2 before starting Windows and this time - load user defaults on last page. Rebooted and Windows 7 found the second drive.

Zygomorphic
11-10-2012, 01:50 AM
Make sure that all SATA channels are enabled. Resetting the BIOS will enable all channels most likely.

mjallard
11-22-2012, 05:04 PM
I installed the newer bios with no luck. I'll try the reset and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestions. The other thing that's a bit strange if that the new 500G Hardrive only shows up as 465 in Windows. I've tried everything that Seagate suggests to get the total space to show with no success. I just noticed I have the same problem with another PC I just built. My laptop has the Seagate Hybrid and the other is the 3.5" Barracuda. Is this a Windows issue? Both have Windows 7

dstrakele
11-22-2012, 06:29 PM
It's mostly a drive capacity reported in Decimal (Base 10) vs. Binary (Base 2) thing (see http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/172191en for more information).

mjallard
11-24-2012, 11:44 PM
I fixed the issue by rebooting and loading BIOS with F2 - load manufacturer's defaults on last page and reboot. Go back into BIOS with F2 before starting Windows and this time - load user defaults on last page. Rebooted and Windows 7 found the second drive.

Thanks! This did work. Was able to reformat the old drive currently as storage. Anyone know if I can configure them as a Raid setup? Is there any advantage if I could?

Zygomorphic
11-24-2012, 11:50 PM
I installed the newer bios with no luck. I'll try the reset and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestions. The other thing that's a bit strange if that the new 500G Hardrive only shows up as 465 in Windows. I've tried everything that Seagate suggests to get the total space to show with no success. I just noticed I have the same problem with another PC I just built. My laptop has the Seagate Hybrid and the other is the 3.5" Barracuda. Is this a Windows issue? Both have Windows 7

Open My Computer, right-click on the drive of interest, and write down the number of bytes on the drive. Then divide that number by:
1) 10^9 = 1,000,000,000 1 billion (base-10) gets the GB that HDD vendors use.
2) 2^30 = 1,073,741,824 1 billion (Base-2) gets the GB that Windows reports.

5E11 (500 GB per #1) goes to 465.66 GiByte

Note the little "i" notation, that signifies the division by base-2 (#2).