PDA

View Full Version : Need a HWID Change



exilegod
11-12-2012, 10:53 PM
Hey ROG Forums,

Im not very tech saavy in general :(

i was playing a game and was banned and apparently according to many people HWID banned as well.
I've done a bit of research, but i was wondering whats the best way to go about changing my HWID?
I'm not too interested in doing a complete reformat of my computer, maybe installing a different OS on my computer might help?
Any suggestions/tips/help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

cl-scott
11-12-2012, 11:14 PM
If they did indeed ban your HWID, then you're pretty much stuck. Even reloading Windows wouldn't really be a guarantee of a new one. Also, as a general rule, more reputable forums like this one won't be too friendly to assisting you avoid a ban from some other place.

Myk SilentShadow
11-13-2012, 12:07 AM
if my assumption is correct, you were banned at a MAC ADDRESS level which means basically, you're stuffed...sorry

Myk SilentShadow
11-13-2012, 12:14 AM
if my assumption is correct, you were banned at a MAC ADDRESS level which means basically, you're stuffed...sorry

A format or even a new OS won't change a thing, there is pretty much no way that I can think of to change your MAC ADDRESS.

exilegod
11-13-2012, 01:58 AM
some people have said that they've been able to get past it by reloading their OS

and the specific game is APB reloaded

Skull6
11-13-2012, 05:08 AM
It would be better to just try to argue your case to the mods/ masters of the game servers...if you can.

It would be even better to not give the mods/ masters a reason to consider such a ban.

"Rules is rules."

fostert
11-13-2012, 05:59 AM
i was wondering whats the best way to go about changing my HWID?


If by HWID you mean your MAC address, then spoofing MACs has ben around for a long time. Its dead simple to do in Linux; bring your network offline, type:

ifconfig eth0 down hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:01
(where 00:00:00:00:00:01 is your new desired MAC)

and bring your network back up (i.e. "ifconfig eth0 up" ).

There are also ways of spoofings MACs in Windows, though I wouldn't know how directly; see http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/changemac or google spoofing MAC address in Windows.

I have spoofed my MAC on several occasions, to fool cranky license managers that decided not to allow my legitimately purchased software to run because they couldn't find the license servers onthe network.

Ultimately its best to look at the cause of why your MAC was banned, rather than trying to get around it with tricks that you are obviously not experienced with.

_
11-13-2012, 07:10 AM
Very sorry we don't condone this type of request. Suggest you take it up with ABP.

Zygomorphic
11-13-2012, 11:14 AM
Why were you banned? If they got spam/DDoS from your computer, scan it for viruses with a good AV program. If you were cheating, then we endorse their punishment. If you think that you did something by mistake rather than deliberately, try talking to the game masters/mods about getting re-instated. If they do decide to be merciful, I would suggest being on your best behavior and giving no one the slightest hint of fishy business.