PDA

View Full Version : SSD recommendations?

Malrick1
05-31-2011, 10:02 PM
Hi,

I've been using the information on these forums for over 6 months now and it's been an invaulable resource. I'm pretty obsessive when it comes to tweaking my laptop in any way possible, but I do it's a hobby and I like doing it :P Anyways, I finally made an account so I could ask about getting an SSD.

I've heard from various sources that for MMORPGs, a SSD is the single biggest performance boosting upgrade a person can get. Also, I'm someone who prefers smoothness over attempting to get the "highest FPS". For example, I play with v-sync on in almost every game, usually using triple-buffering too. As long as my FPS remains smooth and doesn't jump all over the place, I'm usually fine (even if it gets as low as 20-25 fps). Stuttering, on the other hand, is the problem I notice most. If I could find some way to reduce the stutter and fps-fluctiations in my games, I would be extremely happy.

So, my question is: do any g73jh users here have experiance with using an SSD in your laptop and playing MMO's (Rift, WoW, etc.)? And if so, does anyone have any tips on what one to buy?

Thankyou for the help!

-Malrick

Six Foot Ginger
05-31-2011, 11:01 PM
I have used SSD in gaming laptops and it does make allot of difference. The battery last longer, games load faster and the systems just seemed more stable.
Mid you these where mac book pros but, if you want a good SSD Intel is really the only way to go. They may not be the fastest but, hands down have the lowest failure rate of any current SSDs out there.

SnakeEyes11
06-01-2011, 01:15 AM
I went with the Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC128MAG-1G1 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD). I have 2 for my Desktop and one in my G53. Got it off Newegg and it has like 300 5 star ratings. I think thats probably the best.

Hondacity
06-01-2011, 01:27 AM
corsair force 3 120gb

550/510 r/w

217$ @ newegg

arstron
06-01-2011, 03:12 AM