PDA

View Full Version : Factory restore after update to win 8



wolfy
11-14-2012, 09:16 AM
I have seen a few people having this problem after install of Win 8 the F9 restore button does not work.
But there is a workaround Asus have made a program to get it working i used it and it worked fine here is a direct link to find it
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=110&m=ASUS%20Recovery&os=36&ft=14&f_name=ASUSRecovery_Win8_64_Z103.zip#ASUSRecovery_ Win8_64_Z103.zip
hope that helps some of you out..

paddy69
11-14-2012, 12:41 PM
I also upgraded to Windows 8 on my new G55, and then decided to use my Recovery DVD's to restore back to windows 7. It all worked fine, right up until the end when I pushed ok. Then windows boot Manager came up with a error saying unable to start windows, and when I reboot, it says no boot device. The bios won't give me the option to boot from C-drive, only DVD. But I have a old copy of windows 32Bit, which installs fine. I have updated the bios to 209, but still not working.

please help.

john_from_ohio
11-14-2012, 01:49 PM
Don't install old windows 7 32 bit on this machine ... pre SP1 ... just not compatible I believe.

If you want to do a fresh install use Win 7 64 bit that already has SP1 on it ... pull out any additional drives and just do the install when 1 hard drive is in the machine.

tmule23
12-10-2012, 12:44 AM
I have seen a few people having this problem after install of Win 8 the F9 restore button does not work.
But there is a workaround Asus have made a program to get it working i used it and it worked fine here is a direct link to find it
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=110&m=ASUS%20Recovery&os=36&ft=14&f_name=ASUSRecovery_Win8_64_Z103.zip#ASUSRecovery_ Win8_64_Z103.zip
hope that helps some of you out..

Will it work after a clean install of win 8? I deleted all partitions, including recovery and created new ones for win 8? Wanna go back to my factory win 7. Of course, i have recovery dvds but i get an error :((

GottiBoi55
12-10-2012, 01:32 AM
There's a know problem, where as if you have a HDD larger then 500 GB the "AI Recovery DVD" will not work.

Here's the link about this issue>>>>> link (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?16532-Repair-Your-Computer-amp-AI-Recovery-doesn-t-work-after-Did-Factory-Recovery-by-DVD&)