PDA

View Full Version : g73jh 16gb ram



RBassett6975
11-15-2012, 02:29 AM
it there a firmwhare or bios that is needed to stop windows errors i have upgrade to win 7 64 pro the systems see the 16gb of ram. it is fine but every now and than i get Blue screen of death windows exception error.

Area 66
11-15-2012, 02:47 AM
Hi, welcome to the forum , I'm not an expert in ROG notebook, but I'm sure some here will ask you the exact model of RAM you have to help you

zsld0423
11-15-2012, 02:52 AM
I would suggest doing a Memtest to see if one of the sticks of ram is bad, you can download it here. (http://www.memtest.org/#downiso) So if you have a USB handy I would use that. Let it run overnight, or at least a few hours, and if I remember right, the best way to do it (If you have time) is to run it with 1 stick of ram in at a time

SUKARA@ASUS
11-15-2012, 03:55 AM
Basically, according to the specifications of the official website information
This model G73JH max memory size supported 1pcs 4GB,so total 8GB

so,16GB memory install is over sepc....

Area 66
11-15-2012, 03:58 AM
good catch Sukara

fostert
11-15-2012, 06:07 AM
it there a firmwhare or bios that is needed to stop windows errors i have upgrade to win 7 64 pro the systems see the 16gb of ram. it is fine but every now and than i get Blue screen of death windows exception error.

1)Does your BIOS report that you have 16GB installed?
2) Does memtest86 see 16GB of memory installed?

If so, then you not over your computer's spoec, even if you may be over ASUS' spec (they are often not the same when it comes to max memory supported!).

3) Test the memory a pair of sticks at a time, and the find which pairs (if any) throw errors. Then narrow the test to single sticks. RMA the whole kit, not just the faulty stick only (they are factory-paired to work as a kit).

billyray520
11-15-2012, 08:33 PM
Basically, according to the specifications of the official website information
This model G73JH max memory size supported 1pcs 4GB,so total 8GB

so,16GB memory install is over sepc....

But there are 4 slots, so shouldn't 16 GB work? I know a lot of people over on Notebook Review Forums have 16 GB working. It is very hard to install the one stick behind the keyboard though, which could result in problems if not done with infinite care.

I have 8 GB in my laptop, and have considered uppin' the memory to 12 GB, 4 + 4 + 2+ 2 so that I don't have to try and go under the keyboard and still have matched memory channels.