PDA

View Full Version : Game hack detected?



Aliasmk
11-18-2012, 10:26 PM
Hi there. I recently bought a G75VW. Two words, Love it! However I came across a small problem a while ago. Two different games, one was Homeworld: Cataclysm, and I cannot remember the other one.. but anyway, both games reported they detected a game hack. I have not installed any hacking software onto my laptop. Does anyone else have this problem, know how to fix it, or can anyone recommend software that will detect and give me details on the hack? Thanks!

Area 66
11-18-2012, 11:03 PM
Can you give more detail on the exact message you have ?

bignazpwns
11-18-2012, 11:46 PM
Some time anti virus software is picked up as game hacks. Also anything that can target a running process will trigger it.

Zygomorphic
11-19-2012, 02:54 AM
Some time anti virus software is picked up as game hacks. Also anything that can target a running process will trigger it.

Good to know. I find this game-based AC (anti-cheat) system to be a little draconian, but I guess that what it takes to get rid of trolls...

Area 66
11-19-2012, 03:18 AM
anti-cheats don't work in BF3 I get snipped in a Jet 3 times in the same round by the same guy

Apexing
11-19-2012, 07:01 AM
that is weird, would suggest just googling the exact error +game name, see if others are having the issue.
usualy these things are triggered by bots, cheat engine etc. that have been run befor game start. like if you used them for a browser game and such.

Zygomorphic
11-19-2012, 11:26 AM
that is weird, would suggest just googling the exact error +game name, see if others are having the issue.
usualy these things are triggered by bots, cheat engine etc. that have been run befor game start. like if you used them for a browser game and such.

IF the bot processes are still running, then the scanner would find them.

Skull6
11-19-2012, 02:24 PM
Zygo, not necessarily. If the 1) virus signatures haven't been updated or 2) the signatures just haven't been coded yet for that virus, the AV wouldn't be able to catch/ clean it. That being said, the fact that Aliasmk is getting the warnings tells me that the AV is finding something.

As stated previously, Aliasmk needs to do some research to see if others have the same issue, & if someone has found a "solution."

bignazpwns
11-19-2012, 07:23 PM
They work they just dont work for people who know stuff.

Like World of warcraft i made a few undetected bots. I made a ton of undetected programs for games that used punk buster and what not. They can only detect what they are told to detect and until i give my program to them they wont know its there. I mean anyone can make stuff like that even with basic VB skills.

The programs are to stop the kids useing stuff they download. Some times it will backfire and some stuff will trip them off but the programs are never ment to stop hacking. Just to stop wide spread use of common programs.

Skull6
11-19-2012, 08:00 PM
"It's not detectable until we know what to look for." ;)

Zygomorphic
11-20-2012, 01:07 AM
Zygo, not necessarily. If the 1) virus signatures haven't been updated or 2) the signatures just haven't been coded yet for that virus, the AV wouldn't be able to catch/ clean it. That being said, the fact that Aliasmk is getting the warnings tells me that the AV is finding something.

As stated previously, Aliasmk needs to do some research to see if others have the same issue, & if someone has found a "solution."

1&2 can be collapsed into "virus signatures non-existent on user's machine". I am aware of those issues, I was leaving them off because that wasn't my point. However, thanks for the heads-up! :)

Skull6
11-27-2012, 10:32 PM
@Zygo Nuthin but luvs, man. Just trying to help. ;)

I suffered the same issues some time ago, discovering that the game manufacturer thought it prudent to create basically a "legal" rootkit to keep hackers of their game at bay. Immediately after discovering this, I determined that I didn't want to play those games anymore.

@Aliasmk you stated that the games reported that a hack was detected? Is this indeed the case, or was it your anti-virus package that made the detections? Both could be the result of some sort of conflict, but having a game state that it's detected a hack is unusual at best. That would mean that the game has some sort of scanning capability, which could really play heck with your system if you're also using a separate real-time anti-virus scanner package.

Zygomorphic
11-28-2012, 02:25 AM
@Zygo Nuthin but luvs, man. Just trying to help. ;)

I suffered the same issues some time ago, discovering that the game manufacturer thought it prudent to create basically a "legal" rootkit to keep hackers of their game at bay. Immediately after discovering this, I determined that I didn't want to play those games anymore.

No worries man! :) I would have to agree with you. Installing those kinds of cheat-detectors are as bad as Windows Genuine Advantage! :( If the company has an on-line game and bans people on a case-by-case basis after they are conclusively cheating - from the perspective of the server, without the use of spyware - then I endorse their move. Otherwise, it stinks of mistrust.