PDA

View Full Version : Heaven Dx11..............Lets get ready to rumble..



Rockford
11-19-2012, 07:53 PM
I know many of us run it, but no thread regarding the benchmark..

So lets start one up...

Here is my last 2 X 7950 score.. > 4637,5

Dartmaul
11-19-2012, 08:05 PM
http://hwbot.org/submission/2308267_dartmaul_unigine_heaven___xtreme_preset_%2 8dx11%29_2x_radeon_hd_7970_4786.02_dx11_marks
My 5 cents)
This was pretty long ago, i was unable to squeeze more on stock cooling. Also I've used Afterburner for OCing, TriXX can unlock some extra gpu voltage. (I've found out that later)


As always, I've no idea how does this stuff works and wanna learn something from people who know the stuff.

Rockford
11-19-2012, 08:07 PM
For not having any idea "how this works", i think thats a good score..

;o)

Its hard competition in the Russian league, you are up against..

HiVizMan
11-19-2012, 08:10 PM
13976

5739.95 DX11 Marks with 2x Radeon HD 7970 at 1278/1802MHz

Dartmaul
11-19-2012, 08:11 PM
BTW My score is 77th overall x2 gpu and 76th among 7970x2.
Just a note, if we'll start some contest. (7970>680)

Rockford
11-19-2012, 08:12 PM
Viz,, Viz


Damn.. is that score legal??

Dartmaul
11-19-2012, 08:14 PM
OMFG. +1k on the same frequency.
That's exactly what I meant talking "I've no idea how this stuff works":(

Menthol
11-21-2012, 12:39 AM
Don't feel lonely Dartmaul, your not the only one that doesn't know all the tweaks to get the high score. I am hoping to learn some soon during the competition.
X Pack I will definitely post something soon, I'm not going to leave you hanging out there by yourself. Things have been crazy at work lately, barely enough time to stay up on the events here on the forum, HiVizMan's competition starts this weekend and it's a Holiday weekend here in the USA so should have a little time. Green vs Red

Menthol
11-21-2012, 12:49 AM
I hope to learn how to increase this as I used no tweaks except for overclocking.
14022

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 08:17 AM
I have an idea how Viz could reach this score.
I always run graphic bench with default driver settings, but I guess it's able to force disable some settings like MSAA, AA Tessellation etc that will get huge impact on overall fps and score.

HiVizMan
11-21-2012, 10:38 AM
Of course you change different settings and see how it goes. To put things in perspective, I have a score that is about 70 points better run at 1250MHz on the VGA core. :D :D

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 05:22 PM
14066
24/7 settings with "adjusted" driver settings.

I'm not sure if I can beat HiVizMan's score but I can get pretty close.
(I have some more MHz to add and a bunch of apps and services to disable)

Rockford
11-21-2012, 05:51 PM
Please feel free to share how you tweaked the driver settings.. ;o)

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 05:54 PM
Please feel free to share how you tweaked the driver settings.. ;o)
14068
Is I said before, these settings are overriding initial benchmark preset and allowing to force disable tessellation and reduce MSAA and AA.

I consider that as a cheat but who cares)

PS My HWbot submission was made on stock driver settings and I think that it's a good one.

Rockford
11-21-2012, 05:55 PM
Thanks.. Will try later tonight..

HiVizMan
11-21-2012, 06:10 PM
Cheat = to violate rules dishonestly

Since the rules are clear that submissions with tessellation disabled are legit, it is not cheating. Cheating is a very harsh word in benching and should never be used unless one is willing to back that up, and big time. :)

And Dartmaul I know you mean no harm in using that work. Also understand that in benching, those things that were once "cheats" 10 years ago are not legit tweaks. :D :D

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 06:11 PM
I'm not sure if this settings are 100% optimal but it clearly shows the entire logic.
Maybe HiVIzMan will share with us some of his "magic"?)


PS I'm sorry, I'm not so familiar with "cheat" term within overclocking community.

Chino
11-21-2012, 06:28 PM
Welcome to the dark side, Dartmaul. ;)

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 06:41 PM
Welcome to the dark side, Dartmaul. ;)
http://images2.fanpop.com/images/photos/4000000/Darth-Maul-star-wars-4032388-1024-768.jpg
Already there)


PS My nickname has nothing about Star Wars hero, and spells differently.

Rockford
11-21-2012, 06:41 PM
Yes, cheating, or altering software, like > pc mark05

I think that benchmark is ruined (my opinion)..

There are tweak, and there are tweak..

HiVizMan
11-21-2012, 06:46 PM
PCmark5 is ruined, I totally agree with you. Used to be a good benchmark but I asked two years ago for it to be removed.

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 09:42 PM
14077
This was the only run I could finish benchmark on this frequency.
BTW Viz it was on ghz bios)

GPU Tweak allows to set voltages up to 1.4/1.75 but it's own monitor shows that real voltage is much lower(

PS Forgot to launch CPU-Z, I was on 4.6 GHz on CPU

HiVizMan
11-21-2012, 10:00 PM
Nice one Dartmaul I might have to start playing with the GHZ bios after all. :)

Rockford
11-21-2012, 10:03 PM
Nice..

Dart make a 58k..

And Viz will stay up late tonight.. ;o)

Dartmaul
11-21-2012, 10:14 PM
I need some advice how to handle much frequency.
I took ~7 attempts before I handled whole heaven run.
Also I can get up to 300MHz on my damaged CPU.
I've spend some on cooling improvement, I can burn it a little after all)
It would get very few but I need only 150 points to cross 5800 mark)


And it's all on stock damn cooling, I have to force 100% cooler's rpm to handle temps, here's my damn waterblocks ftw!

HiVizMan
11-21-2012, 10:16 PM
Also I can get up to 300MHz on my damaged CPU.

Sorry do not understand? Do you mean you can get your memory to 3000MHz and you call that a damaged CPU? :D :D

Rockford
11-21-2012, 10:20 PM
I need some advice how to handle much frequency.
I took ~7 attempts before I handled whole heaven run.
Also I can get up to 300MHz on my damaged CPU.
I've spend some on cooling improvement, I can burn it a little after all)
It would get very few but I need only 150 points to cross 5800 mark)


And it's all on stock damn cooling, I have to force 100% cooler's rpm to handle temps, here's my damn waterblocks ftw!

Russian Brother, in need for waterblocks....... ;o)

Dartmaul
11-22-2012, 07:02 AM
Sorry do not understand? Do you mean you can get your memory to 3000MHz and you call that a damaged CPU? :D :D
No, I mean I can overclock my CPU to 4.9. Since is degradated, it will require 1.54 vcore and I wouldn't go higher.

Omg what the f I wrote in my previous post... newermind, yesterday was a bad and hard day)

I mean I cannot overclock my GPU higher even with increased voltage range.
Even to pass heaven bench on 1250/1800 I had to perform ~8 attempts.
Do you guys have some tips&tricks how to fix this?)

HiVizMan
11-22-2012, 09:02 AM
Nah that is normal. Unigene is a real b1tch to pass. Did you get all the tearing and stuttering during the bench too?

Dartmaul
11-22-2012, 01:02 PM
I've got huge fps lag on first 2 seconds.

HiVizMan
11-22-2012, 01:36 PM
Yip that is normal. There is a tweak to sort that out. :o

Chino
11-22-2012, 02:48 PM
Yip that is normal. There is a tweak to sort that out. :o

Do tell! xD

HiVizMan
11-22-2012, 03:57 PM
Start the benchmark, let it run until you get past the hang point, escape and start again.

Sorted.

Dartmaul
11-22-2012, 05:43 PM
Start the benchmark, let it run until you get past the hang point, escape and start again.

Sorted.
)))) I've done it yesterday) Seems that I'm not so stupid) (It doesn't fix this issue completely)

So you mean that this lag is caused by delay of loading textures into RAM?

MrPeter1985
11-22-2012, 07:08 PM
Mine always fails at the end. Resolution may not be supported it says. oO

Rockford
11-22-2012, 07:13 PM
aha, that pesky notification popup?

Got it yesterday, for the first time..

MrPeter1985
11-22-2012, 08:14 PM
I ran the newer Heaven v3. The highest I get on it is 1297 :(

Rockford
11-22-2012, 10:07 PM
I hope to learn how to increase this as I used no tweaks except for overclocking.
14022

Your like me..

Tweaks?? whats that.. settings??, does it boot into win.. good.. Lets benchmark..

Brute force, and mhz... ;o)

Just launch........

HiVizMan
11-22-2012, 10:29 PM
Hey Grott why you removed your score, it was good my friend.

There are some tweaks for these benchmarks but what folks have to realise is that for the top benchers in the world they work on margins of very small margins of difference. So 20 marks in a benchmark that totals 3000 means a huge amount. Often the difference between 5 or more places in the leader board for that benchmark.

Rockford
11-22-2012, 10:57 PM
Thanks Viz.. Yes, today i started to oc the gpu ram..

So numbers will increase..

i need to force a Russian speed-bump= cant get it out of my head.. The 48k Vantage..

But i think that will solved soon..

And yes, in that case, every fps count..

Heat is not the limit, when going H20.. The HW is.. and me..

Out of 6 cards, almost everyone of them, clocked different.. one poor, some medium, and 2 good.. from 1250-1350 mhz (at 35c)

HiVizMan
11-22-2012, 11:12 PM
Yip that is the way of it. Now you know why I get 9 HD7970 over the last year and only keep a few of them. Plus my best two died within 2 days of each other. No idea why were not pushed hard. 1325MHz stable for Vantage on stock reference cooler temps not bad at all. 1600MHz with LN2 short test. Then leave to dry and maybe one or two testing sessions then poof dead. LOL No RMA for me.

Dartmaul
11-23-2012, 08:08 AM
Seems that my cards aren't so lucky as your's.
I've asked a good friend of mine that is in Berlin now, to seek for some waterblocks there, hope he'll have some nasty present for me on return.

Rockford
11-23-2012, 08:15 AM
When running air, the heat is the issue, and will slow you down.. So you wont be able to reach max..

When running H2o, you can take it to the physical limitations..

chrsplmr
11-23-2012, 08:51 AM
Viz,, Viz
Damn.. is that score legal??

hahahahha .. i love this bar.c.

Menthol
12-21-2012, 08:52 AM
Moved up on the bot with dual gtx 680's
15304

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 09:07 AM
150 points gap from 2nd place....
Can't do such things cuz there are a lot of LN2 submissions with 7970(

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 01:16 PM
Run an open loop water cooling system with the salt water or some other fluid at -20 - easy to do in Moscow. And that is about all the temp you need to max out your VGA Dart.

Rockford
12-21-2012, 01:56 PM
Moved up on the bot with dual gtx 680's




Still on air??.. no. no.. Menthol has gone h20..................



very nice score, and a gold cup.. congratz

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 02:36 PM
No it's not air, there's some nice pic of his rig applied on bot)

Salt water? Would it cause corrosion of metal parts?&
BTW I saw no difference in VGA OC while benching with +10C ambient and -15C ambient.
I don't think that -20 could be compared with -150 on LN2.
Also as I know some voltage mods are required to run 1500+ on 7970

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 02:45 PM
Dart you are kidding me right, you worrying about corrosion on parts that you are overclocking? LOL Less chance of the bits getting corroded especially when you have copper water block than killing the parts with voltage. But hey what can I say.

I can confirm that you can get huge gains with your water loop being -20 don't ask what we used in stead of water as it is normally something you drink.

Menthol
12-21-2012, 02:58 PM
Thanks X Pack
I need the single 680 1st spot know

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 03:30 PM
Dart you are kidding me right, you worrying about corrosion on parts that you are overclocking?
No, I mean rads waterblocks etc.
So you mean I can add some salt and left it so for 24/7?
I have cooper rads and GPU blocks and nickel (probably nickeled cooper)/plexi CPU and mobo blocks

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 03:34 PM
Ah I get it you do not understand what I mean.

An open loop is no rad, only pump and block.

What you have is water or alcohol cooled below freezing. And the inlet goes from the bucket to the pump to the vga and then out back to the bucket.

No rad.

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 03:42 PM
I'm not very experienced in water cooling, had a lot of problems while building my current.
I'd like to use the current configuration cuz it's very complicated for me to get the coolant off from there.

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 03:46 PM
No problem. What I used to do was have a cheap pump like from a pet centre.

http://www.firststopaquatics.co.uk/acatalog/new_jet_pumps.html these are what I used, works fine in salt water and just drop it in the bucket with the ice water.

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 03:51 PM
I'll try to repeat my previous experience but this time I'll disable all the fans on rads (previously I've disabled only half of them)
Also I need to get some thermometers to see temps below zero) It's very hard to keep the coolant liquid if you can't event track it's temp)

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 03:54 PM
If you pack your rad with ice or snow, them make sure your pumps are running at full speed. Maybe add some anti freeze or alcohol. :D :D

Rockford
12-21-2012, 05:13 PM
its a prob with these rads. they are so dense, they get ice jammed, even with a fair amount of glycol..

a car rad should work better, for this purpose..

but 2 be honest, does it really make any big difference..

if the cards are kept at max 35c (max load), without ice jamming. do the xtra degrees make any real world difference?

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 05:16 PM
15307
We have this stuff here.

Rockford
12-21-2012, 05:17 PM
Dart..

No kidding...... ;o)

I thought alcohol = banned in Russia..

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 05:25 PM
That would be the last thing that would be banned in this country.
The only restriction - you cannot buy any alcohol drink stronger then 5% after 9pm. But this thing doesn't actually work)

HiVizMan
12-21-2012, 05:31 PM
Yeah and we used something very similar to that, only we bought it in 5l plastic containers. Had to strain it through a filter before you could actually drink it. But worked very well in an open loop.

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 05:43 PM
Russians use liver as a universal filter for every liquid.

Chino
12-21-2012, 07:06 PM
Mother Russia has raised you well, Dart. ;)

Dartmaul
12-21-2012, 07:32 PM
I was grown up by bears, they we're playing on "balalayka" and wearing "shapka ushanka" and "valenky'

Ok I'm sorry for the offtop. I love these jokes about "Soviet Russia", but let's time to go back to overclocking.

srmojuze
02-05-2013, 04:00 AM
Russians use liver as a universal filter for every liquid.

In Russia, liver poison alcohol.

Zka17
02-05-2013, 12:23 PM
Ah, there things are going differently... :)