PDA

View Full Version : G73JW with NVidia GTX 460M - ridiculous 3D Mark Vantage score?

DJSirMatthew
11-22-2012, 01:14 PM
Hey all,

Back from being away a while, had great help last time, hopefully we can solve a new problem with my G73JW. I RMA'd the laptop at the beginning of this year for heating issues and had it returned with a new MOBO and GPU. Since a few weeks after not using the laptop for gaming much I started playing a bit more and noticed a certain slugginnes as if the computer wasn't as fast as it was supposed to be.

I thought I was maybe kidding myself but decided to let 3D Mark Vantage have a go and these are the results I got:

Total score: P6267
GPU Score: 5126
CPU Score: 18867

GPU test 1: 18.17 FPS
GPU test 2: 11.75 FPS

CPU test 1: 810.96 plans/s
CPU test 2: 7.20 steps/s

Feature tests:
1: 329.35 gtexels/s
2: 1.24 gtexels/s
3: 7.76 FPS
4: 36.86 FPS
5: 24.86 FPS
6: 17.98 FPS

Current GPU driver is the lastest WHQL driver from NVidia (306.97)

DJSirMatthew
11-22-2012, 07:01 PM
Anyone any idea how I can check if these values are very low (looking at website Futuremark does seem to indicate they are very low) and what might be the cause of it?

Pitcher@asus
11-23-2012, 05:43 AM
HI, how to you set in 3D Mark utility? and how is your test environment, how many time your run and get result?

DJSirMatthew
11-23-2012, 11:42 AM
I've ran the 3D Mark Vantage on "Performance" setting about 4 times now, always getting similar results. There are sometimes 1-offs like once I had a score of 7.2 for CPU test 2 and once 72.

My GPU score always ends up around 5200-5400 and this is with minimum of services running and no other applications open.

Also worth noting is that in the NVidia Panel PhysX is configured to be handled by the GTX 460M but when I submit my results to the Futuremark website I don't get the invalid result remark which should be shown if you have Physx running @ the GPU?

DJSirMatthew
11-24-2012, 09:18 PM