PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Video Card Of Asus G75VW To Nvidia GTX675M Or GTX680M



siddique305
11-30-2012, 09:25 AM
I Was Thinking Of Upgrading The Video Card Of Asus G75VW, Is Its Possible To Upgrade ? If It Is Posssible To Upgrade Then Please Tell Me How (Step By Step). The Video Card On My G75 Is GTX670M.


Thanks In Advance

Siddique

Sqnkov
11-30-2012, 10:08 AM
Hi mate,
all of the G75 are running on 670M , nothing else. The 675M differs almost in no way from the 670M. I dont recommend any type of upgrade for the G75, unless it concerns the RAM or an a additional HDD. It is possible, but won't be working stable and there is a chance of your laptop to overheat. Upgrades for this type of laptops are nonsense since they are engineered to work perfect with the current choice of components. For whatever reason that might be - if you want to change the G75 it will be better to sell it and wait for a newer version. Just my personal opinion mate, no offense if there is some in the reply.
Cheers!

Sqnkov
11-30-2012, 10:08 AM
Also - you can overclock the card at any given time :)

siddique305
11-30-2012, 10:24 AM
Hi mate,
all of the G75 are running on 670M , nothing else. The 675M differs almost in no way from the 670M. I dont recommend any type of upgrade for the G75, unless it concerns the RAM or an a additional HDD. It is possible, but won't be working stable and there is a chance of your laptop to overheat. Upgrades for this type of laptops are nonsense since they are engineered to work perfect with the current choice of components. For whatever reason that might be - if you want to change the G75 it will be better to sell it and wait for a newer version. Just my personal opinion mate, no offense if there is some in the reply.
Cheers!

Okay. Thanks For The Reply Dude ! :)

Siddique

siddique305
11-30-2012, 10:31 AM
Also - you can overclock the card at any given time :)

Can You Please Give Me Step By Step Instruction, And There Are G75's With Nvidia GTX660M Video Cards Mate. :)

Thanks In Advance

Siddique

Sqnkov
11-30-2012, 10:43 AM
Yes, sorry I meant all of the top-notch G75's out there. So I think the software you need is called EVGA Precision X - http://www.evga.com/precision/
The common settings you need to use are in this thread @ c_man's reply http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?19580-Overclocking-670m
But after all this is just advice, dont do it if you are not sure, you dont want to burn something. And go trough the whole thread first.
Greets!

Sqnkov
11-30-2012, 10:47 AM
Once more - I dont recommend doing an overclock of your GPU, but that's on your own to decide. If you do - please share the results :)

siddique305
11-30-2012, 11:40 AM
Once more - I dont recommend doing an overclock of your GPU, but that's on your own to decide. If you do - please share the results :)

Sure I Will Share The Results :) And Thanks A lot Dude I Owe You :)

Siddique

1m04t41
12-01-2012, 04:02 AM
I, sadly have a 660m in my g75 and there is a limit to the core clock and memory clock using MSI Afterburner, +135 core and +1000 memory are the limit without using custom / hacked bios as far as I know. That said, I can max out the core clock and add +750Mhz to the memory clock without a change in heating, this machine runs very cool. I was extremely surprised by this. Oh and the machine runs stable with these settings ( On the gtx 660m anyway ) so I would assume overclocking the 670-680 would be different but I'm sure if you google it someone has stable OC settings posted, there are several overclocking forums for the gtx cards I think. I would not advise this since its not my machine, but if your locked from overclocking the gpu past a certain point with afterburner or other software, I would personally max out the core and 3/4 the memory and not think twice. Just make sure to stress test it (MSI Afterburner comes with software to do this as well). If I'm wrong on any of this my bad. My desktop runs a GTX 480 so using this quiet and cool g75, its really quite a change.
Edit: sorry if I wasn't clear, I really don't know about laptops but as for desktops I ran my GTX 480 between 80 and 90 C for extremely extended periods of time and never fried it, I've heard over 100 C is where it starts to do damage, so for laptops I would check on that, especially if it starts getting hot.

siddique305
12-01-2012, 06:50 AM
Hello Thread Viewer. I Successfully Overclocked My G75 To 750Mhz And 1650Mhz. Heat 20 -30 degrees Celsius And When Video Rendering (Adobe Premiere Elements CS6) And Gaming 50 - 60 degrees celsius - System Was Stable And When I Ran Ungine Heaven With Everything At High Exept For 3D I Got A Score Of 754 Celsius. Battlefield 3 Ultra 1920x1080 I Got 50 - 60fps (Unbelievable But True). I Coild Also Play Battlefield Bad Company At Everything High With 3D And Got 30+fps. This Machine Is Truly A BEAST. Love My Beast.

SPECIAL THANKS TO 1m04t41 And Sqnkov. These Good People Helped Me Alot ! Thanks Guys. And If You Guys Play TF2 Add Me - GAMER-X-1999 .

Siddique

AgenBlaze
12-02-2012, 04:41 PM
HOW THE HELL DID YOU GET 50-60 FPS ON ULTRA?! 0_0
I OC'd @ 700 core clock,1800 mem clock and still can't run ultra above 30 FPS

EDIT: Also,on which drivers are you on?

siddique305
12-05-2012, 05:24 PM
Your Clock Speeds Are Not Correct ! Thats Why ! Im On 306.18.

Siddique

ForCeV
12-08-2012, 08:31 PM
Your Clock Speeds Are Not Correct ! Thats Why ! Im On 306.18.

Siddique

Because you r running at 720P settings. If you set up Full HD, you will get 20FPS. If you r for sure you get. Plz record cam via using cellphone or camera(no fraps recording. but turn on the msi after burner to see FPS Temp usage GPU)

VN_ROG
12-11-2012, 05:54 PM
Hello Thread Viewer. I Successfully Overclocked My G75 To 750Mhz And 1650Mhz. Heat 20 -30 degrees Celsius And When Video Rendering (Adobe Premiere Elements CS6) And Gaming 50 - 60 degrees celsius - System Was Stable And When I Ran Ungine Heaven With Everything At High Exept For 3D I Got A Score Of 754 Celsius. Battlefield 3 Ultra 1920x1080 I Got 50 - 60fps (Unbelievable But True). I Coild Also Play Battlefield Bad Company At Everything High With 3D And Got 30+fps. This Machine Is Truly A BEAST. Love My Beast.

SPECIAL THANKS TO 1m04t41 And Sqnkov. These Good People Helped Me Alot ! Thanks Guys. And If You Guys Play TF2 Add Me - GAMER-X-1999 .

Siddique

How did you do? unbelievable!!! can you give me screenshot? :D

SkilletIsRollen
12-11-2012, 10:27 PM
On the topic that the video card can be changed: the answer is a timid yes. Is it easy, practical, free of risk? A complete no. The GPU is soldered directly on the motherboard (Physically and permanently attached). Realistically, this limits the people who can do it to computer engineers, or hardware junkies. Almost all laptops are built this way except for a purpose built laptops. They come with MXM slots, and are allow interchangeability. Sager, MSI, Alien-ware to name a few. But you can usually only get this option with laptops that cost more than 2000.

Hope this helps. GL

mrwolf
12-11-2012, 11:39 PM
Yea, not worth it unless u put in a 680M :D

Otherwise you can always OC to go past 675M marks..

Bgold26
10-08-2013, 07:02 AM
Mine has the 660M so...