PDA

View Full Version : The 1900x1200



Blind
11-30-2012, 12:09 PM
Ok completely new tech geek even with being a gaming maniac for years, i just had a friend that sorted these stuff for me always.
Anywho so i bought my G75 recently and i read that 1900x1200 was one of it's key points.
But ever since i got it and upgraded my nvidia graphic card i still can't switch to 1900x1200 either in WoW or the Laptop itself.
Can anyone please help? and give me like a step by step fix?

dstrakele
11-30-2012, 12:42 PM
What G75VW-xxxx model do you own?

What is the highest resolution available on it? Be aware that 1920 x 1080 is Full HD and 1600x900 is HD+.

Blind
11-30-2012, 02:00 PM
well i own the G75-BBK5
Sux having a 17inch with such high performance of a laptop but playing 1600x900 (wide) with 60hz refresh rate on world of warcraft been playing like this for like 5 months ever since i got pc but never bothered with sorting this till recently that the game had launched a new expansion and etc... Oh btw if it helps a friend of mine took the liberty of buying and installing a Samsung SSD just an FYI
Thanks

rewben
11-30-2012, 03:01 PM
i think you bought the bbk5 version that had the 1600x900 resolution (HD+); later they have changed it to FHD (1920x1080).

Blind
11-30-2012, 03:29 PM
well i got my copy off best buy and it said 1900x1200.
some people have suggest reinstalling my drivers or some crap i have no clue what it means or how to do it :P

rewben
11-30-2012, 03:56 PM
installing driver:
1. goto geforce.com and get the latest driver (here is the notebook version (http://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/50007) for your GPU)
2. download and install it (when it asked for installation option, select 'custom'; and select 'clean install'
3. proceed and reboot

you can also run hwinfo64 (http://hwinfo.com/download64.html) to check the maximum resolution that your monitor supports.

dstrakele
11-30-2012, 04:03 PM
Does it say HD+ on the box? Or if you install HWINFO64 and expand "Monitor", does it indicate 1600x900 under "Supported Video Modes"?

The type of display installed on your laptop determines the maximum (native) resolution. This cannot be changed unless you replace the display. There is nothing you can do from software (i.e. installing a new video driver or attempting to change configuration).

Blind
11-30-2012, 04:21 PM
Thank you both for the last 2 posts and yes Dstrakele here is what it says after expanding the monitor tab under supported video modes
"1600 x 900 382 x 214 mm, Pixel Clock 107.80 MHz"

xeromist
11-30-2012, 04:40 PM
Note that this is not all bad. You will get higher FPS with a slightly lower resolution than if you were to push full HD resolution with the same hardware.

Blind
11-30-2012, 05:13 PM
aye i guess but still man i miss the old 1900x1200 on my asus desktop pc :(
any chance of getting it to 1900x1200? without spending cash?
i know i can change in the comp screen resolution place but the quality of the pc and pixels drop alot since it's not a supported resolution i guess i assume?

xeromist
11-30-2012, 05:32 PM
You can go to a lower resolution but not a higher one. In display drivers that do support higher than native resolutions they handle it by making you scroll around to see the full picture; not exactly ideal for a gaming PC.

Or you could hook it up to your desktop display when you're at home.