PDA

View Full Version : Random reboot (kernel power) with Asus G55



MisterBrown13
12-12-2012, 06:47 AM
Hi everyone,

My asus G55vw reboots randomly. Windows tells me that it's a "Kernel Power" event (41). It happens every 2 or 3 day.

I had this problem since i add ram in september. At the beginning it wasn't annoying but now it happens 6-8 time a week. I check my new ram (corsair vengeance cas 9) with memtest and i had no error. So I don't why it happen? It may be due to timing of ram ?

rewben
12-12-2012, 07:24 AM
no such incidence here. is this happening when your laptop is on battery only? from what i've learned, corsair vengeance 4gb just downclocked your ram mix to 1333mhz.

what happened if you took out your new ram?

MisterBrown13
12-12-2012, 11:36 AM
It isn't happening only with battery.

As you said, my ram sticks are downclocked with automatic settings in BIOS. I'm trying with new timing and my sticks seem to be at the good frequency. (800Mhz in memtest). I'll tell you if it crashes again with new timing. If it reboots again, i'll try to remove my new ram.

MisterBrown13
12-12-2012, 06:12 PM
My new settings don't resolve my problem so i'm going to remove my new ram.

Pitcher@asus
12-13-2012, 01:55 AM
hi, if you only install your RAM (corsair vengeance cas 9), the problem still happen?

MisterBrown13
12-13-2012, 05:19 AM
I don't want to remove the 4GB of ram which is not accessible because it will break my warranty ^^. I removed my 8gb of ram and i'll tell you tonight if it happens again.

MisterBrown13
12-13-2012, 10:02 AM
I've been working for 4 hours with only 4gb and it seems to work.

rewben
12-13-2012, 02:40 PM
@MisterBrown13, i had 2x4gb of corsair vengeance before. and they ran nicely (except for the downclocking part). maybe you did not seat them properly.

Shawnnepc
12-13-2012, 03:57 PM
@MisterBrown13, i had 2x4gb of corsair vengeance before. and they ran nicely (except for the downclocking part). maybe you did not seat them properly.

It's also possible that there's a defect that isn't showing up during testing.

Where are you located?

dstrakele
12-13-2012, 05:24 PM
@Shawnnepc makes a good point. You should test the RAM chips you removed individually with memtest+, running at least 3 passes on each chip.

MisterBrown13
12-13-2012, 06:07 PM
Thank you for answering.

It works without my corsair's ram. I set my 8gb of ram again in my computer. I think they are seated properly now. I'll follow your advices and I'll test them with several passes.

Shawnnepc
12-13-2012, 06:57 PM
Thank you for answering.

It works without my corsair's ram. I set my 8gb of ram again in my computer. I think they are seated properly now. I'll follow your advices and I'll test them with several passes.

Some ram defects may take hours to show up.

I've had cases where I had to run it for 12+ hrs for any results.

MisterBrown13
12-14-2012, 06:41 AM
I've been testing it for 8 hours with memtest and there isn't any errors. I'll let it run 5-6 hours and see.

tkolarik
12-14-2012, 12:42 PM
Some RAM even if perfectly matched may not play well with other RAM, even with all settings perfect...Will probably pass memtest also. Contact the manufacturer and request replacement.

MisterBrown13
12-14-2012, 03:31 PM
Ok, thank you for your advice. I wanted this problem to be solved before installing my crucial's ssd. It's seem to work better than before. It was maybe due to the fact that the sticks were not seated correctly.

I've been working for two days without crashes now so i'll wait one week to say "the problem is solved"'.

rewben
12-14-2012, 04:14 PM
It's also possible that there's a defect that isn't showing up during testing.

Where are you located?


@Shawnnepc makes a good point. You should test the RAM chips you removed individually with memtest+, running at least 3 passes on each chip.

yes, after proper installation of ram is confirmed, you must run a long test on memory. good luck, MisterBrown13 :)

MisterBrown13
12-20-2012, 08:15 PM
Hi, I ran a long battery of memory test this week and my computer rebooted only once :)! I don't know why yet

rewben
12-21-2012, 01:28 AM
uh? did you check the results? did it produce any errors?

edit: rebooted automatically or intentionally?

MisterBrown13
12-21-2012, 08:56 AM
It doesn't produce any errors and It rebooted automatically :/. I'll try a clean install of Windows 8 to see if it's a problem of drivers

rewben
12-21-2012, 09:13 AM
ok, the ram part should be fine now. let's see if the system behaves nicely after fresh install. please keep us posted :)

MisterBrown13
12-25-2012, 08:14 PM
Hi and I wish you a merry Christmas.

I did my fresh install and it rebooted again today. So It's not a software problem and it's not a ram problem. Consequently, I think it may be an hardware issue ?

rewben
12-26-2012, 01:32 AM
MisterBrown13, hi and Merry Christmas; can you check your event log for anything abnormal?

TSC-Ops
12-26-2012, 07:59 AM
disable auto reboot on crash

MisterBrown13
12-26-2012, 08:31 AM
I had already disabled it :).

In my event log I saw:

Nom du journal*:System
Source*: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
Date*: 25/12/2012 21:09:04
ID de l’événement*:41
Catégorie de la tâche*:(63)
Niveau*: Critique
Mots clés*: (2)
Utilisateur*: Système
Ordinateur*: Asus
Description*:
Le système a redémarré sans s’arrêter correctement au préalable. Cette erreur peut survenir si le système ne répond plus, s’est bloqué ou n’est plus alimenté de façon inattendue.
XML de l’événement*:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
<EventID>41</EventID>
<Version>3</Version>
<Level>1</Level>
<Task>63</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-12-25T20:09:04.599697600Z" />
<EventRecordID>1231</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Asus</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="SleepInProgress">0</Data>
<Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
<Data Name="BootAppStatus">0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

I did some researches but it doesn't seem to exist one solution for this problem.

rewben
12-26-2012, 09:14 AM
are you still running your laptop using custom memory timings? if you do, please set it to default first.

edit: how's your CPU temperature? can you check that out with hwinfo64 (http://hwinfo.com/download64.html)?

MisterBrown13
12-26-2012, 11:11 AM
My computer uses already default timing and my cpu temperature is about 50°C. It's not very warm.

rewben
12-26-2012, 11:34 AM
yeah the scope is huge, and from my search it's like a common thing; a thing that can happen due to issues related to hardware (defective gpu, defective ram, defective mobo, etc.), drivers, to software; damn.

Silverkid
12-26-2012, 01:59 PM
Do you have windows 8 and hybrid boot enabled? If so, we just found your problem...

rewben
12-26-2012, 02:10 PM
uh? is hybrid boot the fast boot option in the power settings?

TSC-Ops
12-26-2012, 04:11 PM
just copy your mini dump and upload it to http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us when they ask you too.

though if you have it disabled than it shouldnt reboot and just show the bluescreen error

MisterBrown13
12-26-2012, 08:55 PM
I disabled today the hybrid boot. I will tell you if it will reboot again. Thanks.

daevilb
12-27-2012, 10:19 AM
I have the exact same problem now with Kernel Panic it seems to have apeared in the last 1-2 weeks so my first tought was windows update since i had done nothing with the computer but play Starcraft2 and Borderlands 2 :)

I have G55 + 8gb(16) + OCZ SSD 240GB Vertex 3 LT SATA III.

all drivers up to date.

MisterBrown13
12-27-2012, 12:16 PM
If you took the drivers on asus website, they would be outdated.
Go here if you want newest drivers *banned website*

ckwoedy
03-13-2013, 03:58 PM
Hi,

I have had a similar problem with my Asus G55VW restarting with no warning for a while. After about a week or so it died down and almost stopped. The only time it restarts anymore is if it takes any sort of impact (slight drop from hands to table of about 3 cm or more, or hitting the wrist-rest from frustrating gaming). I am concerned that this means there may be a lose connection with a hard drive or faulty hardware. I previously thought it was memory as well.

i7 3610m processor
8gb 1600mhz RAM (Unsure of the brand, default choice from xoticpc)
Intel 40gb msata solid state (OS Drive)
Seagate 750gb Hard Drive

Regards,
ckwoedy

dstrakele
03-13-2013, 05:13 PM
I can understand... I saw the video of you gaming on your desktop!

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=ArD6ixJjjNs&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DArD6ixJjjNs

ckwoedy
03-16-2013, 03:12 PM
Hahah Its not that bad, but since I am not very good I get frustrated from time to time and it restarted once from that. Just figured I would mention it because I feel like a laptop shouldn't restart from that.