PDA

View Full Version : G75VW Video Card Upgrade question-Need Quadro



mr-meteorite
12-20-2012, 04:15 AM
We ordered a G75VW with integrated 3D for a specific application (Stereo Analyst for ArcGIS). We have come to find out that the GeForce 670 is not supported by the software. It needs quad-buffered stereo which is part of the Quadro cards. Since we cannot return the laptop, and the warranty is not that important, can I upgrade the card to ANY Quadro (2000m or 3000m) or flash a Quadro bios on the 670? Will that enable quad-buffered mode? Thanks in advance.

Pitcher@asus
12-20-2012, 06:01 AM
ASUS NB is unable to change graphic card anymore, i think you will return NB and ask what NB is supporting.

mr-meteorite
12-20-2012, 06:11 AM
ASUS NB is unable to change graphic card anymore, i think you will return NB and ask what NB is supporting.

According to this http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?15094-Is-it-possible-to-change-graphics-card-on-a-G75VW&country=&status=

The graphics card can be removed. Has this changed? I would like to know if it can, then which cards from Nvidia Quadro can I get.

_
12-20-2012, 08:13 AM
According to this http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?15094-Is-it-possible-to-change-graphics-card-on-a-G75VW&country=&status=

The graphics card can be removed. Has this changed? I would like to know if it can, then which cards from Nvidia Quadro can I get.

It can be removed but the layout design and screw holes (even if the MXM is standard) is custom to ASUS. Plus, I have no knowledge of whether Quadro MXM cards can even be bought?

mr-meteorite
12-20-2012, 02:10 PM
I know of MXM Quadro 1000m, 2000m, 3000m. I do not mind modifying the machine holes, but I do need to know if they are compatible with the G75 and will integrate with the built in stereo.

ggBanks
12-20-2012, 06:13 PM
You should look at power consumption of the Quadro and the default 660m or 670m and if the Quadro draws more power, probably you shouldn't do it.
If you want professional graphics why didn't you buy a Lenovo ThinkPad or an HP EliteBook?

mr-meteorite
12-20-2012, 08:53 PM
You should look at power consumption of the Quadro and the default 660m or 670m and if the Quadro draws more power, probably you shouldn't do it.
If you want professional graphics why didn't you buy a Lenovo ThinkPad or an HP EliteBook?

The 3000m Quadro has the same 75w power consumption as the 670. Why didn't we buy the others...it is State Govt. Not so easy selecting certain vendors...:(

Shawnnepc
12-20-2012, 09:12 PM
The 3000m Quadro has the same 75w power consumption as the 670. Why didn't we buy the others...it is State Govt. Not so easy selecting certain vendors...:(

I passed this thread on to NVIDIA's Quadro team.

Please PM me with your contact information so I can have someone at NVIDIA contact you.