PDA

View Full Version : Regarding Asus G53 Overclocking

Trandescent
06-17-2011, 09:44 AM
I have an Asus G53JW notebook with i5-460M, 2.53Ghz, my problem is that, whenever I start playing games, the cpu automatically overclocks to 2.9 ghz, regarding the fact that the power plan is set to "balanced" (this happens when playing WoW). I tried uninstalling Power4Gear software but doesn't seem to have any improvements. I'm new with the all overclocking stuff and maybe ( most likely ) this would have something to do with my problem. Other than that I am very happy for joining the community and would be very grateful for anyone who can help me with my issue !!

xeromist
06-17-2011, 05:16 PM
Balanced does mean that the criteria for speed adjustment changes but something like a game is still going to cause a bump to high speed. What is it that you want it to do, exactly?

Chastity@ASUS
06-17-2011, 07:18 PM
Sounds to me that Intel Turbo Boost is kicking in. It's normal.

Trandescent
06-18-2011, 08:59 AM
Well, i don't think is normal for the CPU to overclock on a game such as World of Warcraft, and I'm afraid that in the future the CPU will fry or something, should I be worried about that? I only want for the CPU to maintain it's normal speed (2.5ghz) without automatically overclocking.Any suggestions?

jorlanm
06-18-2011, 03:00 PM
World of War Craft is a CPU intensive game...so you will get turbo boost

Trandescent
06-18-2011, 05:24 PM
So then, should I be worried if this happens all the time?

Chastity@ASUS
06-18-2011, 06:43 PM
So then, should I be worried if this happens all the time?

I just read the specs for your CPU, and the 2.8-2.9 boost is perfectly normal, as it's the TurboBoost max setting. It's all handled automatically by the BIOS and monitored. If it gets too hot, it will throttle down to stock speeds automatically too. So there is nothing to fret over this. (We're only talking a 14% OC anyway)

So, no, your chip is not going to fry.

Trandescent