PDA

View Full Version : Brightness problem G55VW Win 8



eRicK89
12-24-2012, 11:04 AM
Hi,

So this problem occurred after I did a clean install of windows 8 (mine come with Win 7).
I can't adjust the brightness, the hot-key/shortcut didn't work, others are working with no problem at all (Airplane mode, backlit, etc).
Since this is a clean install, I assume everything should work without any problem.

Any of you have this problem? If yes, how to solve the problem?


Thanks!

Zygomorphic
12-24-2012, 11:17 AM
Did you re-install the ATK package? Also, are you using the latest nVidia drivers? Try the one's from nVidia rather than from ASUS' website.

eRicK89
12-24-2012, 11:55 AM
Hi :)

Thanks for your reply.
Yes I've tried all those and the one from NVIDIA but still not working.

rewben
12-24-2012, 02:34 PM
hi eRicK89, i am running w8 clean install and ATK package 1.0.0023/24 (from Programs and Features in control panel). my nvidia driver is straight from geforce.com (310.70). all fn keys work as expected. for w8, the only difference from w7 is that there is no overlay indicators.

which version of bios are you on?

eRicK89
12-24-2012, 05:57 PM
I'm using 217 if not mistaken. The latest BIOS from Asus.
I installed ATK package for Windows 8 from their site.

Even the brightness settings from charm also not working :(

Pitcher@asus
12-25-2012, 02:07 AM
please visit ASUS support website to download all drivers and utilities, i think you forget install ATK utility.

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 09:28 AM
I did installed it. Both with and without compatibility mode.

15370

rewben
12-25-2012, 01:22 PM
can you try 1.0.0023? you can find it at asus download page. uninstall the current atk package; reboot; install atk 1.0.0023; reboot.

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 02:09 PM
Hi rewben,

I just downloaded and installed it, 2 ways, 1 is normal the other one is admin privileged but still not working :(

rewben
12-25-2012, 03:13 PM
i'm not sure but i suspect that it might be related to bios now; i am running 209, not 217 :/

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 05:24 PM
I've downgraded my BIOS to the same version as you, but still can't :(

Which power mode are you using?
Did you use P4G?

rewben
12-25-2012, 05:28 PM
uh? that's pretty weird now. please correct me if i'm wrong: the only fn keys that do not work for you are the brightness of screen only, right? while all others, i.e. sleep, keyboard lights, turn off screen, volume controls, etc. work?

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 05:33 PM
Yes correct. Even in the brightness in charm didn't work. :( I'm not sure what happened.

rewben
12-25-2012, 05:46 PM
what if you remove/uninstall the nvidia 3d drivers?

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 05:59 PM
uninstalled still no luck.. Thanks mate for trying to help me. Really appreciate it

rewben
12-25-2012, 06:18 PM
it's no problem. just try to help.

i think i am out of ideas already. i have done many times of fresh installs (w7, w8) for this machine; i never had a problem using the fn keys, all of them.

for w8, i only install a very limited set of drivers; only 2 from ASUS:

1. atk package; and
2. elantech touchpad driver.

the rest are from manufacturers (intel chipset and RST; nvidia geforce; atheros LAN and WIFI; VIA). the system is working fine :/

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 06:26 PM
Guess I'm gonna try to format now and try what u did. Hopefully this solve my problem.

rewben
12-25-2012, 06:31 PM
good luck; alternatively, you can wait for more responses. another option would be sending it to a local service center :/

eRicK89
12-25-2012, 07:04 PM
I reformatted already :) let's hope everything now works fine without installing the softwares from Asus

rewben
12-26-2012, 02:11 AM
yeah, hopefully :/

eRicK89
12-26-2012, 05:44 PM
At last after few attempts, it's working now. Installing 1-1 to find any software are actually the culprit.

Thanks mate for helping me.

rewben
12-26-2012, 07:45 PM
no problem mate! and it's good to hear that it's working now!

there must be something in between that made the fn keys stopped working; could it be the kb filter?

eRicK89
12-26-2012, 07:50 PM
I'm not sure I didn't install that one. Haha
I didn't dare to try. Thanks for your advice mate.

rewben
12-26-2012, 08:03 PM
no problem; i'm glad to help haha!

if you don't wanna go through the hassles reinstalling everything, just create a system image using windows backup, or turn system restore on.