PDA

View Full Version : New G75VX - Intermittent mouse issues



Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 02:58 AM
Hi all,
Not really sure if it is hardware or software but the mouse functions stop working intermittently and only return after a restart or close the lid and reawaken the system.

Still have control of the cursor but I cannot left or right click on anything.

Any help appreciated!

rewben
12-29-2012, 03:12 AM
hi Darkhorse, can you please tell us more about your system?

1. model number
2. which mouse? is it the mouse that comes bundled with your g75?
3. the version of your mouse driver

dstrakele
12-29-2012, 03:30 AM
Did you disable the touchpad when using your USB Mouse?

Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 03:42 AM
1. t4153H
2. Both the mousepad mouse and my Razer deathadder 3.5g
3. 16.2.11.7 for the synaptics touchpad and 6.2.9200.16384 for the razer

Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 03:44 AM
No i havent tinkered other than out of the box and installing the razer (christmas present), the problem happened before on only the touchpad buttons when I didnt have the mouse but happens to both now.

dstrakele
12-29-2012, 04:03 AM
It sounds like a driver conflict. What 3rd party applications have you installed to your laptop?

Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 04:07 AM
Only Razer Synapse 2.0 as far as mice go.

dstrakele
12-29-2012, 04:40 AM
To troubleshoot your issue, we'll need to go beyond mice, particularly since you report the issue with the touchpad buttons occurred before the Mouse software was installed.

Perhaps you could post a screenshot of the "Control Panel - Uninstall a program" dialog.

Are you running Windows 7 or 8?

rewben
12-29-2012, 04:55 AM
oh it happened even before the new mouse was installed. yeah like @dstrakele said, please post the screenshot or provide us the whole list of your current installed programs.

it might also be the problem of fast startup in w8. but let's go one step at a time.

Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 05:53 AM
Hope this is what you're after.

Windows 8 btw

1543315434

dstrakele
12-29-2012, 06:12 AM
If you uninstall McAfee Internet Security and reboot, does it change the problem behavior?

Darkhorse
12-29-2012, 06:58 AM
Have done so, if you dont hear from me again it has worked, haha.

any suggestion as to what to replace McAfee with? have used avast previously but am keen to find something lighter

dstrakele
12-29-2012, 03:24 PM
I use Microsoft Security Essentials. That's about as light as you can get. I supplement it with MalwareBytes AntiMalware.

Darkhorse
12-31-2012, 04:03 PM
sweet, thanks guys.

Seems to be ok so far!

will download MBAM too.