PDA

View Full Version : G73JH Vbios update issue



DTG
12-31-2012, 05:25 AM
Hello everyone,

I updated the Vbios tonight on my g73jh and now none of my games run well (or at all). What gives? I upgraded the Bios about a year ago and just never got around to doing the Vbios until now.

Tribes Ascend doesn't even run and Starcraft II barely runs. Should I just revert to an earlier Vbios? I wasn't really having any BSOD/GSOD issues, other than heat and CCC not running (updated the drivers and Catalyst never runs).

Kind of a pain and I don't want to deal with it right now, but I thought I would post to see if anyone had a rough idea what I might have done wrong.

evga
12-31-2012, 06:27 AM
uninstall ccc and clear all registry with drive sweeper (just select ati from the list then analyze and clean) .
restart your computer and download a fresh copy of latest version of ccc and install it then reboot .
you will have your laptop back to normal with more horse power .

DTG
12-31-2012, 02:44 PM
Thank you, I will give it a shot and post back.

DTG
12-31-2012, 03:19 PM
No luck :(

I cleaned out all the ATI drivers with Driver Sweeper, restarted, and used AMD's software detection to figure out what I need. After Catalyst installed my GPU gadgets registered 0 degrees and said Radeon 5800 series? So I checked in control panel and updated the driver - of which it now says 5870 HD like it should - but my games still won't run.

It was Catalyst 12 10. I'll try an earlier version, does anyone recommend which one?

DTG
12-31-2012, 05:01 PM
ATI was my brand for gaming for years and years but now I am -convinced-

Never buying another product with ATI/AMD attached to it. Ever again.

DTG
12-31-2012, 06:26 PM
Do we have a way to reflash to the original VBIOS? I have everything fixed except for the VBIOS.

If not, my g73jh is officially useless as a gaming rig.

evga
01-01-2013, 05:25 AM
I had a copy of old vbios for what I remember , but flashing it is on your own risk . maybe the vbios you downloaded is stuck in 2d clocks . reflash the vbios .
Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!

DTG
01-01-2013, 07:08 AM
It overheated mid reflash... Pretty disappointed. However, I am having the unit sent back via RMA. It may cost some money, and I may not go through with it, but once I know for sure I will post back here with the quote from ASUS so that others in my situation may have a general idea of what options they have.

ASUS provided free shipping both ways for the RMA, so that makes me a little happier. Thank you for your responses!

Pitcher@asus
01-17-2013, 05:57 AM
i think flash VBIOS have resk, if flash BIOS may be helping, if no, send back to asus service center will be good choosing.

idwelltvbag
01-17-2013, 12:51 PM
yeah,good info,maybe the vbios you downloaded is stuck in 2d clocks . reflash the vbios .thank youhttp://www.oksky.us/imiss/images/3.gif

DTG
01-24-2013, 02:57 AM
After 3 weeks my laptop is running again - with a new keyboard, GPU thermal assembly and motherboard. The drivers are still a little glitchy, but it is running and plays my games good (could be better, but I'm not going to mess with this again). Sorry I don't mean to necro post, just wanted to follow up!