PDA

View Full Version : Win 8 - Can't find HD audio device



gelat
01-06-2013, 07:20 PM
I have used every method here, to include disabling driver signing, using Win 7, the new JAN 13 WIn 8, and nothig works.

All I get is basic sound, no subwoofer, and no VIA audio deck software will install.

help?

rewben
01-06-2013, 11:47 PM
hi gelat, can you please tell us which model you are using?

from your description, your laptop came preloaded with w8 but you have successfully switched the OS to w7. the problem is the sound only. correct?

gelat
01-07-2013, 12:08 AM
I have the best buy version. Bbk5

AzraelsKiss
01-07-2013, 01:09 AM
Have you tried the Win8 VIA 600 drivers in the downloads section? It installs just fine on the BBK5 under Win8.

gelat
01-07-2013, 01:19 AM
I tried that one. It gives me the HD device not found as well

Pitcher@asus
01-07-2013, 02:47 AM
what is model G75 or? you mean Win 7 is ok, upgrade to Win8 is not ok or both is not ok? do you download form ASUS support site, still not work?

gelat
01-07-2013, 05:31 AM
I have a G75-BBK5, and it worked with Win7 - I upgraded, and since then, I only have stereo sound and no VIA app.

very driver, signed, unsigned, win 7 or 8 refuses to install since the Win 8 upgrade. No sub, no VIA deck.

rewben
01-07-2013, 10:59 AM
@gelat, have you tried this one (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?26155-Complete-Solution-Installing-Windows-7-Drivers-onto-Windows-8-G75VW-(and-others)&p=193754&viewfull=1#post193754)?

gelat
01-07-2013, 01:26 PM
Yes, it doesn't work either, with several versions of driver.

rewben
01-07-2013, 03:03 PM
what's your current bios version?

finalhour
01-07-2013, 03:27 PM
If you just upgraded and went from a functioning sound card to a non functioning one my first thought is that you may have a corrupted install of either the driver (possibly occurring during or after the upgrade) OR the operating system. Now personally, if you have continuing issues with this, the best solution in my opinion is to backup your files and do a fresh, clean install of Windows 8. Prior to this step, you can try uninstalling the VIA driver, and running a utility like CCleaner (available at http://www.filehippo.com ) to clean the junk registry entries left behind. Also do a search to be sure all VIA stuff is off your computer before restarting and doing a clean install of the driver. When you install it, right click on the installer and "Run As Administrator" just to be sure everything is installing correctly. If this less-intensive option doesn't work then the clean install might be the best option.

gelat
01-07-2013, 05:33 PM
2.21 an now 2.22. Failed on both

finalhour
01-07-2013, 06:06 PM
2.21 an now 2.22. Failed on both

It wouldn't be a BIOS issue, something happened when you upgraded the OS

AzraelsKiss
01-07-2013, 09:05 PM
If you just upgraded and went from a functioning sound card to a non functioning one my first thought is that you may have a corrupted install of either the driver (possibly occurring during or after the upgrade) OR the operating system. Now personally, if you have continuing issues with this, the best solution in my opinion is to backup your files and do a fresh, clean install of Windows 8. Prior to this step, you can try uninstalling the VIA driver, and running a utility like CCleaner (available at http://www.filehippo.com ) to clean the junk registry entries left behind. Also do a search to be sure all VIA stuff is off your computer before restarting and doing a clean install of the driver. When you install it, right click on the installer and "Run As Administrator" just to be sure everything is installing correctly. If this less-intensive option doesn't work then the clean install might be the best option.

I'd have to agree with this post. The 600, 1200a and 1400a drivers work fine on my BBK5 with Win8, and the fact that the sound worked fine on Win7, I would assume it to be a corrupt driver or registry entry issue. Good luck!

gelat
01-08-2013, 06:30 AM
I reinstalled Windows 8, and it works now...very strange.

rewben
01-08-2013, 06:53 AM
like the others pointed out, it's the problem of software.