PDA

View Full Version : G55VW-DH71 Windows 7 UEFI install with Windows 8 preinstall problem

mtsm
01-13-2013, 09:04 PM
Hi,

first off all let me say that this forum is awesome. I am a long-time Apple MacBook Pro user recently converted to Asus notebooks mostly because I wanted to leave Apple for pricing reasons. Long story short, I ended up getting a G55VW-DH71 mostly because it seemed like a powerful high-quality machine.

The PC came with Windows 8 preinstalled. I bought from amazon.com, so had been hesitating to get the Windows 7 variant of the model, but the Windows 8 preinstalled hardware was cheaper. So, I decided to get rid of Windows 7. I have sucessfully installed Windows 7 in legacy BIOS mode after following various articles on this and other forums. I could actually install Windows 7 directly off of an official DVD I own, simply by deleting all boot options in the BIOS. (I am just mentioning this because many people have expressed trouble doing that from the DVD and use USB drives instead.) I also had the chance to install it from a USB key, which I build following instructions obtained from this forum.

But I am kind of put off by the fact that I do not have Windows 7 running in UEFI mode. So i tried doing this and so far I have not been successful. I followed instructions posted here:

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?26505-Help!-I-am-an-idiot/page3 by rewben.

The problem I am getting is that while the UEFI USB stick is clearly recognized when I power on the PC and hit the Escape key, when I then select to boot off of the UEFI USB stick I invariably see a red popup window saying: "Secure Boot Violation - Invalid signature detected. Check Secure Boot Policy in Setup". I have tried endless combinations but can never go beyond this message, unless of course I enable Legacy mode (CSM) in the BIOS and use unsecure booting.