PDA

View Full Version : Is a 128GB SSD big enough? G75VW



lbjgh
01-18-2013, 03:59 PM
I would like to increase performance on my G75VW laptop by installing a SSD.

Is a 128 GB drive big enough for the recovery partition, Windows8 and applications?

Also, I've read that Win8 has the installation key embedded in the hardware/firmware. Is that correct? Can I remove the HD and replace it with the SSD and do a clean Win8 install... then reinstall the original 750GB HD in the second drive bay for data storage?

Apexing
01-18-2013, 05:21 PM
I have a 128gb ssd in and it is big enugh for me.
take a look under your laptop, is there a windows key pressent, if there is then there isnt an issue reinstalling using the same key for the same laptop.

rewben
01-18-2013, 06:35 PM
the space requirement actually depends on your apps and how you set up your OS (hibernate takes space; pagefile takes space; the same goes to recovery partition). 128gb might be a bit tight if you wished to include recovery partition imo. you might need to choose what to install in c:, while the rest are installed in the HDD.

if you have a w8 core installation disk (oem, retail), the OS should be activated automatically. the sticker with product key is missing on machines with w8 preloaded; so for the purpose of your record, you should be able to recover your current key using keyfinder (http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/) or Belarc Advisor (http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html)

lbjgh
01-18-2013, 07:21 PM
Thanks guys.

I've already procured the w8 key using Belarc.

I will likely only have the OS, Office applications and one or two games on the SSD so hopefully the 128GB will work.

I have a 40GB SSD on my desktop with a similar setup and typically only use about 35GB of space.

rewben, I did want to ghost the recovery partition to the SSD drive then attempt to do a clean w8 install from the recovery partition.

Do you think that would work?

Paulovrv
01-18-2013, 08:25 PM
I have a 120Gb kingston, the cheapest, clone by macrium from the original hdd.
Enough for me, working with sound edition and only sometimes with video editions.
For gaming, as it is rare here with two babies, I install only what I am working with.
I didn't clone the recovery partition. It is in the intact hdd original install. I will never move anything from there, it is THE os backup.

I wish I could help with my testimony.:)

tkolarik
01-19-2013, 04:30 AM
All SSD manufacturers will tell you that once the drive is over about 70-75 utilized performance starts to degrade. That means you probably don't want to go over 90 GB of data, and you'll need to keep you recycle bin empty. You might also want to set your virtual memory paging file to a fixed amount. Also, most smaller drives 120-130 usually have considerable lower performance then their slightly larger brothers in the 240-250 range. Check the IOPS rating. My basic Windows 7 64-bit install ran 37GB.

Make the 4 restore disks and do a fresh install and put your personal files and everything you can on the 2nd drive and you could be OK. Forget the recovery partition.

I have and Intel 520 240GB SSD and place everything on my 2nd drive 1000GB and it is working well. I would hate to try to do it with a smaller SSD. Good Luck if you do!!!

JwPwns
01-19-2013, 05:18 AM
i have been using 128gb ssd + hdd for both my desktop and laptop, honestly after installing os and other basic programs and drivers, u are left with 90GB, so depending on your personal usage (have no idea how many programs or games you want to run on it) but 90gb just for programs and games is enought for me, i move pictures/music/movie to hdd.

and yes you can fresh install win8 on ssd and move the hdd without doing anything to it to 2nd drive bay, you will have to select the boot option to ssd so you running that os instead of the one stored in the hdd.

GottiBoi55
01-19-2013, 05:57 AM
I would like to increase performance on my G75VW laptop by installing a SSD.

Is a 128 GB drive big enough for the recovery partition, Windows8 and applications?

Also, I've read that Win8 has the installation key embedded in the hardware/firmware. Is that correct? Can I remove the HD and replace it with the SSD and do a clean Win8 install... then reinstall the original 750GB HD in the second drive bay for data storage?


I think your best bet is to go with a 180GB SSD or better.
For myself I have the "Intel 520 series 180GB SSD" , works really well with OS install and I have five games installed that I play the most.
I use the stock 750GB HDD for "DATA", and other "games" I don't play as much.

Now for the Win8 install you can "clone" your stock drive with macrium reflect free (http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx) , this free program supports "GPT partitioning" .
Works really well, there's all good reports from others on the forum here with "macrium reflect"
You shouldn't have a problem with the "BIOS embedded" Win8 product key with the 'macrium clone".
Hope this will help you?

Good luck, and enjoy!

rewben
01-19-2013, 07:11 AM
Thanks guys.

I've already procured the w8 key using Belarc.

I will likely only have the OS, Office applications and one or two games on the SSD so hopefully the 128GB will work.

I have a 40GB SSD on my desktop with a similar setup and typically only use about 35GB of space.

rewben, I did want to ghost the recovery partition to the SSD drive then attempt to do a clean w8 install from the recovery partition.

Do you think that would work?

usually, like what were suggested by our friends here, most people clone the original OS partitions to the new ssd, using Macrium Reflect free. i am not sure if your plan will work or not, although it's possible to do that in w7 recovery partition (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?26510-restore-G75-Laptop).

i understand that you wish to have a clean w8 install. the only way for now is to get a copy of installation media from a shop. there is still no official way to get a w8 ISO from a trusted source online.

alternatively, you can do 'change pc settings' (win+i) then goto general > remove everything and reinstall windows.

edit: cl-scott is preparing a guide regarding this (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?27988-G55-Question-Can-you-restore-to-factory-settings-using-the-F9-menus&p=211960&viewfull=1#post211960). from the post, the idea i got was that using the correct method, you can call out the recovery partition via windows recovery system.

colpolite
01-19-2013, 03:26 PM
i have been using 128gb ssd + hdd for both my desktop and laptop, honestly after installing os and other basic programs and drivers, u are left with 90GB, so depending on your personal usage (have no idea how many programs or games you want to run on it) but 90gb just for programs and games is enought for me, i move pictures/music/movie to hdd.

and yes you can fresh install win8 on ssd and move the hdd without doing anything to it to 2nd drive bay, you will have to select the boot option to ssd so you running that os instead of the one stored in the hdd.


Your porn collection in hdd?

lbjgh
01-19-2013, 06:51 PM
After tearing out most of my hair I gave up on trying to clone the HDD to SDD. Part of the problem was the SSD was too small for the data on the C:

Ultimately I downloaded a W8 64bit iso and did a clean install of the OS on the SSD with the original HDD removed from the laptop.

I then reinstalled the HDD, nuked the partitions then created one large data disk.

WEI loves this Samsung 840 pro...

rewben
01-20-2013, 03:29 PM
After tearing out most of my hair I gave up on trying to clone the HDD to SDD. Part of the problem was the SSD was too small for the data on the C:

Ultimately I downloaded a W8 64bit iso and did a clean install of the OS on the SSD with the original HDD removed from the laptop.

I then reinstalled the HDD, nuked the partitions then created one large data disk.

WEI loves this Samsung 840 pro...

congratulations. that's what we have (a 8.1) when we have a SSD :)

Zygomorphic
01-20-2013, 08:05 PM
congratulations. that's what we have (a 8.1) when we have a SSD :)

Nice...I jealous...my spinning disk drive (@rewben, remember when discs spun around? :D) gets a 5.9

rewben
01-21-2013, 01:25 AM
Nice...I jealous...my spinning disk drive (@rewben, remember when discs spun around? :D) gets a 5.9

lol! i still use spindle discs in other machines (when i need space and durability, instead of speed haha!).

JwPwns
01-21-2013, 04:20 AM
Your porn collection in hdd?

you would know, but nope not on my ROG