PDA

View Full Version : Asus G55VW Ram Upgrade Questions. Please Help!



Vicodin
01-24-2013, 05:56 PM
So I just ordered an Asus G55vw. Here are the specs.

Windows 8 Premium 64bit (Wanted Windows 7, but ended up with 8)
Intel Core i7 3630QM
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 660m
500 GB 7200 RPM HDD

I feel I got a pretty good deal on my purchase being I only paid $1100.00 and got free 2 day shipping.
Now most of you are probably wondering why I wan't to upgrade RAM in a laptop I have not even received yet. Well here is the deal. To get an Asus G55vw model with 16GB of RAM, it would have cost me more around $1600.00. So I figured, why pay $500 more when I can upgrade the RAM myself. Now I have heard rumors that the Asus G55vw can handle 32 GB of RAM. Is this true? Now before you all say, good luck, warranty voided, etc, etc. I upgraded an Asus G73sw to 16gb of ram for my friend. So I know that two of the RAM slots are located beneath the keyboard area and are not the easiest to get to. I am prepared for this. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

rewben
01-24-2013, 06:19 PM
it's not a rumor. my g55 has 32gb ram :)

Vicodin
01-24-2013, 06:21 PM
What I am wondering, is if by Windows 8 Premium 64bit they meant Windows 8 Pro. I looked it up and there is no such thing as Windows 8 Premium.

rewben
01-24-2013, 06:28 PM
it should be w8. you can check out the windows edition reported in Control Panel\System and Security\System.

Vicodin
01-24-2013, 08:01 PM
Did you have any issues swapping out your RAM? Did you do it yourself or pay to have it done? How is the GSKILL?

Vicodin
01-24-2013, 08:12 PM
Any other opinions on putting 32 GB of RAM into my Asus G55vw? Now most of you would think this is over kill, I would kind of agree with you that think that myself. I just feel that if I upgrade to 16GB of RAM, I wan't it all to match. So If I am going to go through the trouble of accessing the RAM ports below the keyboard area, why not just go 32GB?

Tomislav
01-24-2013, 09:17 PM
exactly, if you have the money just go with 32. It can't hurt if you know how to dig your way through hardware. There is that little thing called warranty though but if you don't care about that just do it a tell us how it went.

Quasimodem
01-24-2013, 10:20 PM
I've had mine RMA'ed after disassembling it that far several times... Just do a good job... There are no tamper evident measures only taking it apart that much... I've heard of G55vw owners being able to run tighter timings than G75vw, so without having done it to a G55vw, only G75vw, I can't really comment, but 32GB does work...

rewben
01-25-2013, 12:41 AM
Did you have any issues swapping out your RAM? Did you do it yourself or pay to have it done? How is the GSKILL?

i did it myself; tedious but pretty straight forward; g.skill is fine; actually there is no need to run at tighter timings (this is a laptop; and you will not feel the difference). ran mem tests and passed them all.

Vicodin
01-25-2013, 02:11 AM
Thank you all for your input. I should receive my Asus G55 either tomorrow or Monday. The 4x 8 GB Ram sticks should be here the same day. I will let you all know how it goes.

taz291819
01-26-2013, 02:41 AM
The problem is, the first two slots are a PITA to get to, so you should have ordered it with 16GB of RAM (2x8GB). The other two slots are simple to get to, so upgrading to 32GB would have been easy.

With that said, when I got my G53, I had to take pretty much the whole thing apart to maximize the RAM to 16GB, and did it without a hitch. So, good luck, but I'm sure you'll be fine.

Also, not sure what country you're living in, but I bought my G55 (with a true Thunderbolt port) with 32GB RAM, upgrade on the CPU/GPU thermal paste, and a 2-year warranty for $1530.

rewben
01-26-2013, 03:09 AM
The problem is, the first two slots are a PITA to get to, so you should have ordered it with 16GB of RAM (2x8GB). The other two slots are simple to get to, so upgrading to 32GB would have been easy.

With that said, when I got my G53, I had to take pretty much the whole thing apart to maximize the RAM to 16GB, and did it without a hitch. So, good luck, but I'm sure you'll be fine.

Also, not sure what country you're living in, but I bought my G55 (with a true Thunderbolt port) with 32GB RAM, upgrade on the CPU/GPU thermal paste, and a 2-year warranty for $1530.

you're right about the preconfigured ram at the point of purchase, except that not all retailers do that; where i'm from there is no such service.

by the way the process is just tedious, with many screws; it's not hard.

Vicodin
01-26-2013, 05:41 AM
The problem is, the first two slots are a PITA to get to, so you should have ordered it with 16GB of RAM (2x8GB). The other two slots are simple to get to, so upgrading to 32GB would have been easy.

With that said, when I got my G53, I had to take pretty much the whole thing apart to maximize the RAM to 16GB, and did it without a hitch. So, good luck, but I'm sure you'll be fine.

Also, not sure what country you're living in, but I bought my G55 (with a true Thunderbolt port) with 32GB RAM, upgrade on the CPU/GPU thermal paste, and a 2-year warranty for $1530.

I was not given the option to change anything on it where I purchased it. They had the one I ordered, and one with 16 GB RAM and a 750 GB HDD for $500.00 more. So I figured, pay $500 more for 16 GB RAM and an extra 250 GB HDD space I don't need, or pay around $180 for nicer 4 x 8 GB RAM sticks and do 32 GB. That is why I went with what I did. Also, by true Thunderbolt port do you mean this? See pic. This is on the side of the laptop by the port.16349

Vicodin
01-26-2013, 05:41 AM
lol.... Sorry about that. The image is much larger than intended. ^