PDA

View Full Version : Problems with MKV video playback



13kings
07-06-2011, 04:05 AM
I am trying to run mkv files on my G74SX-3DE using vlc, media player classic, divx, and several other players. I've run quite a few mkv files already with no problem at all but all of a sudden I'm getting very choppy framerates whenever I try to watch them (probably around 20% of the normal speed with choppiness).

Has this happened to anyone or does anyone know how to fix this.

Chastity@ASUS
07-06-2011, 06:00 AM
There are so many things that can effect video playback that it's hard to troubleshoot the issue based on what you are telling us. When was the last time it worked properly, and what changed since then?

EdanRamz
07-06-2011, 06:06 AM
Have you downloaded codecs like CCCP? Try it. Here's the link: http://www.cccp-project.net/

13kings
07-06-2011, 06:28 AM
It was working a few days ago but I've been downloading alot of driver updates since the laptop's relatively new. I think one of the new drivers most like has something to do with the problem I'm having. However since e I've downloaded so many I'm not sure which of them could be causing the problem.
@EdanRamz
I just downloaded CCCP from your link but it didn't seem to fix the problem. I'm not too familiar with functions of video codecs so I downloaded and installed it with its default settings without changing much.

Any idea about what I should do guys? I watch alot of video files in mkv format so I'm thinking that if I can't find a solution then I'll probably just to a clean reset of my OS and pay watch out for what might've caused the problem next time. But it'd be awesome if I could solve this without having to go that far.

474
07-06-2011, 04:31 PM
http://code.google.com/p/mulder/downloads/list
http://mulder.brhack.net/
Smplayer/mpui

If you set it up right, you can have a 720p/1080p movie using between 3-7% processor usage in task manager

careful though, install some of the older versions if a new one doesn't work right, he fixes and updates regularly.
Always use the full package.

I'll post later on how to set it up right when I have some time.

13kings
07-06-2011, 06:03 PM
Thanks for the link. I just tried smplayer but I'm having the same problem. It turns out that I'm actually having the same problem playing AVI files correctly. I don't think that it's a problem with the CPU or RAM but instead it might be an update that I downloaded.

For some reason however, all the videos that I play using Windows media player run without a problem (it's actually the only player that works without problems. This would be fine but WMP doesn't handle certain video types very well such as MKVs.

Has anyone heard of this rare issue or know why WMP is the only player that is able to run videos correctly?

xeromist
07-06-2011, 07:23 PM
Have you compared CPU usage when running WMP and one of the other players?

474
07-06-2011, 08:50 PM
General>Video> output driver | DirectX Fast - Double Buffering, Draw Slices
Performance> Disable the loop filter | under Cache 12,xxx 40,xxx or 99,xxx [cache settings that worked best under different builds]
Advanced> Colorkey, can be fun if you turn your interface all one color under windows classic, you still get 3-7% Processor Usage ;)

If you go nuts on a 1080 file and fast forward holding down the arrow keys, the cpu pegs @ 26, 37, 56% depending on how it was encoded.

Chastity@ASUS
07-06-2011, 10:49 PM
Just as a test, I would uninstall any codec packs, and then install the current MPC-HC, and let it use it's own internal codecs. See if this fixes the issue.

474
07-07-2011, 12:52 AM
print screen button, save it in paint.
ctrl+Shift+esc key to get to task manager, right after start up
then another screen shot right after the media player is open and running

Do you have a stock backup of the way it came out of the box? "Windows Backup"
Even if you don't have that I'd make one right now (external drive) and reinstall the factory state, https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/febe/ to backup your browser

Another back up of the fresh reinstall, open the windowsimagebackup folder, tell it yes you want to gain access, new folder one directory abov it, send the backup folder to the new folder you just made, that way you can shuffle your backups

Oh yeah, www.videohelp.com for all your video needs, that and http://forum.doom9.org

13kings
07-07-2011, 03:46 AM
Thanks for the help guys. I tried uninstalling all of my codecs and retrying they to no avail. I think I'll just try a resetting it to factory state.

Thanks for the help and back up tips guys.

zviratko
07-13-2011, 08:25 AM
Disable 3D Vision and restart the player, or start the player and disable 3D with a button...

was that it?