PDA

View Full Version : New to forum an jsut bought Xonar phoebus need soem help please



Tassy
02-04-2013, 10:03 AM
Hi guys, ok just to outline the last few days leading to to this..

I bought a high end PC, about 4 grands worth, inc 2 GTX 680s an a Xonar phoebus.

Now, after bricking my vid cards day after I got them (NEVER!!! use GPU Tweak), The shop techs managed to them reflashed thankfully, now they installed my Phoebus today, only to find that in vent, my friends can hear my in game sounds. I cant seem to stop it no matter what I do.
After last 48 hours I would kill for something to go right.
Between being told to flash my Vbios an have GPU tweak crash on me in middle of it, bricking my cards.... then get home an find the soundboard echos (fixed that) THEN! ventrillo seems to play all my in game sounds to my friends (impossible to put up with)....

I could use a break an some help :).

Tassy
02-04-2013, 01:13 PM
So, anyone any ideas at all?. I am burned out after 6 hours trying o figure out why vet is playing all my in game sound or movie sounds in vent while I chat....It has only happened since using the Phoebus.

AVtemp
02-04-2013, 04:24 PM
If you use speakers:
Your mic pick not only your voice but sound of your speakers also.
Thats why all ingame sounds,which was produced by speakers can be captured by mic.
You can try to change microphone boost in Phoebus driver or move away mic from speakers.

AVtemp
02-04-2013, 04:39 PM
Also this can be unknown Ventrilo bug.
Look at Sound section in Ventrilo FAQ page
http://www.ventrilo.com/faq.php#sound4

You may try another programm to chat.

Tassy
02-04-2013, 09:10 PM
yer thanks guys, I am using headphones, thats the crazy thing. I use Steelseries HD headset, an dammed if I know whats going on. I tool out that stupid control box, an plugged my headset directly into the card ports on back of card an it still didn't help.

ok so I fixed it, using onboard sound. I had to turn on AEC?? But I cant find that in the Phoebus

WTC
02-05-2013, 01:11 AM
There's no AEC with Phoebus, and if you use headphone it's not necessary. AEC is for cancelling sound that output from speakers and picked up my microphone.

If you play some music and at the same time do recording with SoundRecorder thru mic, will the recorded audio data contain the music you're playing?

Tassy
02-05-2013, 01:15 AM
AEC works in my onboard sound. when I turn it on in realtek it instantly stops the game sounds being herd in vent. But as it is, if I play a game like planetside 2 or Anno 2070 for instance, everyone hears all my in game sounds while I am trying to talk to them in ventrillo

WTC
02-05-2013, 01:34 AM
Are you using headphone with the onboard sound also? Anything come out of your speakers? By the way, do not turn on GX. I'm not familiar with ventrillo but it looks like that software somehow picked up the audio output stream.

Tassy
02-05-2013, 01:39 AM
yer mate, I use headphones with onboard sound too. Soon as I turn on AEC in my realtek options it instantly stops any audio coming into Ventrillo other than voice. I dont use external speakers at all. I cant take the card back, because strictly speaking its not faulty. As well as the audio through it sounds amazing. But it kind of defeats reason for having it if I cant talk to my friends or even watch a movie while on Vent. I have to keep switching back to my onboard sound to avoid this issue.

WTC
02-05-2013, 01:46 AM
I kind of believe it's Ventrillo setting issue. Normally when using onboard sound, without AEC turned on, recorded voice shouldn't be mixed with the playback sound... AEC is used for cancelling sound from speakers but it will work too if the audio is incorrectly mixed by Ventrillo. You souldn't need to turn that on, though.

Tassy
02-05-2013, 01:52 AM
yer its frustrating, its always done it. But the phoebus is a really nice card, its in game sound is amazing. but it means I cant talk to my friends while playing. There has to be a fix for it, I cant be the only person with this issse lol.

its insane that my cheap an nasty onboard sound on the Maximus formula has AEC that instantly stops any sound bleeding into Vent. Yet a 300$ card does not.

WTC
02-05-2013, 02:08 AM
Maybe you can try using Phoebus for sound output and using onboard mic jack for input?

Tassy
02-05-2013, 03:57 AM
hmm not sure how to do that.... Care to explain? :)

WTC
02-05-2013, 04:53 AM
Not sure if this will work for you but... 1) Plug headphone to Phoebus headphone jack and mic to onboard mic jack, make sure nothing else is plugged in; 2) Open Windows system audio property page, make sure Phoebus headphone is the default output device and onboard audio mic is the default input device; 3) Open game/Vent, go into audio setting page if there's any, see if the software correctly use Phoebus headphone as output device and onboard mic as voice input device; 4) Test

Again, not sure if the game software accept this but you may try.

Tassy
02-05-2013, 05:19 AM
thanks mate will try it, at moment I went back to onboard sound sadly, its sound doesn't match the phoebus, but $300 card or no its slag if I cant use it while on vent.... Hoping your idea works, cheers.
Still cant believe none els has this issue.

Tassy
02-05-2013, 06:39 AM
it didn't work, for some reason Xonar constantly plays through vent... really pissed off now, because I spent 300$ ont his damn card, an its a complete waste. Wont be buying another thats for sure :(. I have been at this for 20 hours now, an even with your help got nowhere with it. Hell I even emailed asus an got nothing :)...

WTC
02-05-2013, 12:52 PM
Well, I still believe it's ventrilo's software issue, since it behaves the same way using Phoebus or onboard sound device. You don't have this problem before Phoebus? Which hardware?

Tassy
02-05-2013, 11:39 PM
With onboard sound, I just turn on AEC, an instantly its fixed. But because the phoebus doesn't have that option.. it just amps everything in my headphones.
3x Asus VE278Q screens
2 Asus GTX 680 CUII TOP 4 gig cards.
1x 240 gig Corsair Nutron SSD
1x 120 gig Corsair force 3 SSD
Asus Maximus formula mobo,
32 gig G-Skill ripjaws at 2133,
1k PSU corsair
NZXT Full tower
Steelseries HD Gaming headphones.
Razor Mechanical ultimate KB Cherry blue
Cyborg Mouse.
3770 CPU

Only changes are the ram
Mobo
Vidcards

chrsplmr
02-06-2013, 01:59 AM
Tassy -- Welcome to ROG.
Sick Sweet System .. 'sounds' like fun.

So--your issue is resolved ?? .c.

Tassy
02-06-2013, 09:42 AM
na mate. sadly I have to use onboard sound. bugs hell out of me to not be able to use such an expensive sound card.. But I cant find a fix anywhere. Its kind of my own fault, I should have done my research first. Its a nice card, but these days communications in games is a standard thing, specially vent an TS, so not to have AEC in your card just boggles my mind.

edit, oh an thanks:). been reading the forum alot, lots of good stuff here:).I was hoping I might find some fellow Xonar users with issues here too, but alas:(

WTC
02-06-2013, 09:58 AM
You said only changes are ram/mobo/vidcard, you mean before these changes Phoebus working find with vent? Or Phoebus did not work with vent at all? So what's the audio card you use before buying Phoebus? Onboard sound device?

Tassy
02-06-2013, 10:47 AM
oh sorry, na I bought phoebus with the new system. I used onboard sound before that. "realtek" it worked faultlessly, same as it does now. Because of AEC. The phoebus works nice in game, but you cant use it with coms.

hingj0n
02-08-2013, 11:59 AM
It's really weired, as soon as I'm home, I'm going to test the ventrilo application thoroughly with the microphone.

Teamspeak doesn't have any problem that I know of, and I use it daily.

Tassy
02-09-2013, 10:01 PM
yer it seems it is an issue with built in mics on headphones. cos the phoebus is amplified out the arse the onboard Mic pics up raw sound straight from speakers an plays it in vent soon as you talk. Because it doesnt have AEC there is no way to stop it. Not to mention the box Mic is absolutely useless in a room with noise, or background. My friends could hear birds outside, wind coming through door, you name it. When I turn on beam, the sound of the voice in mic turns to rubbish. So now I am using a 20$ Mic I got from Dick Smiths (Aussie company). It it on desk, my voice is clear, an theres no echo.

Not ideal, as it means I can neither use my headset Mic or the box Mic, but at least its working.

cx-ray
02-09-2013, 10:21 PM
Could it be the Steelseries Mic? I've owned the 5H in the past and wasn't too impressed with it.

Personally, I've found the ENC to work well with a boom type of mic that's attached to a headset. I have both open and closed headset systems. No sound bleeds through. The breakout box is place at about arms length. Mic boost set to zero.

BTW, have you set a voice activation threshold in Vent?

Tassy
02-09-2013, 11:52 PM
I dont use voice activation because just about anything can set it off :(. The boom mic on the H7 is pretty good quality, when used with onboard sound. It seems to be something in the Phoebus that just doesn't agree wit hit. I still say its not having "Acoustic echo cancellation" in the card that is the issue. Mainly because of the fact its in the onboard sound, an it instantly fixes the issue.
The box is about a foot away form me, an it still sounds like I am a mile away,with beaming on. if I turn beaming off the sound it pics up is huge. Not to mention, turning on the ENC makes you sound flat, tinny an really horrible.

http://steelseries.com/products/audio/steelseries-7h this is the headset I use. I would buy a Vulcan but after reading the ROC forums, I am not gonna go anywhere near it.