PDA

View Full Version : Can I use this ssd in my g75vw



earled
02-06-2013, 07:41 PM
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-120GB-internal-Solid-MZ-7TD120BW/dp/B009NHAF06/ref=sr_1_4_m?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1360179518&sr=1-4&keywords=ssd\

And can I just install in 2nd hd slot and clone stock hd and be done with it. I will keep stock hd as back up. Running win 8 with 8gb RAM. I would go with the 250 gb drive

Thanks

Clintlgm
02-06-2013, 07:43 PM
Hnmn 120 is pretty small, 256 will be better

earled
02-06-2013, 08:30 PM
Right but is it swap that easy with win 8? just clone drive to ssd. then pull old drive to save as backup

Apexing
02-06-2013, 08:59 PM
yes you can just clone it like that.

lbjgh
02-07-2013, 01:17 AM
I used a 128 and wasn't able to do a complete clone. I resorted to a clean install using a downloaded version of win8

GottiBoi55
02-07-2013, 02:04 AM
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-120GB-internal-Solid-MZ-7TD120BW/dp/B009NHAF06/ref=sr_1_4_m?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1360179518&sr=1-4&keywords=ssd\

And can I just install in 2nd hd slot and clone stock hd and be done with it. I will keep stock hd as back up. Running win 8 with 8gb RAM. I would go with the 250 gb drive

Thanks


Try this one, it's rated "King of the Hill" on Tom's Hardware>>>>>>Samsung 840 Pro Series (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147193)

Tumbler
02-07-2013, 10:16 PM
How exactly do you clone the drive? I believe there are two physical drives in the Laptop, the 2nd one for me is more of a storage drive currently. Pull that one, insert SSD in that slot, boot machine.

How do you clone the drive from that point so that it boots as if nothing changed once you move the SSD into the first hdd position. (and maybe update the bios boot priority)

IE can you do this in windows? or do you need a seperate program?

Clintlgm
02-07-2013, 10:52 PM
If you don't understand this you should take it to a shop that does this kind of work and have them set it up for you.

Tumbler
02-08-2013, 10:57 PM
I feel comfortable doing it myself, I was hoping someone might point me to a program that clones. Maybe I'll just google it and see the steps.

cosmicmango
02-08-2013, 11:24 PM
I would make an Image or clone the drive using Macrium Reflect.
http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
To download the free version, just scroll down to the bottom of the page click on the download button.

Make an image of the HDD, then just re-image it to the new SSD or clone the HDD to the new SSD.
Below are a few YouTube videos that will help you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1cRq5SuFpY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=rkSX5OzI-TA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWM79HCzdDA