PDA

View Full Version : So I'm going to need some help..

Kaboom
06-22-2010, 09:20 PM
I just received my PC parts, but I'm a newbie when it comes to overclocking. I'll be putting it together today, but was just wondering if anyone would be able to help me at all :P

ottoyu34
06-23-2010, 05:08 PM
Absolutely, I will help. show us some pictures?

martin_metal_88
06-24-2010, 01:53 PM
I second! Otto can help you and I can also! but...we have to know what are thesepart and what you want to do with:)

Kaboom
06-24-2010, 08:07 PM
Ok.. so I ran a DX Diag.. and here's what I have.

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU K 875 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4086MB RAM
Page File: 1788MB used, 6381MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Card name: ASUS EAH5870 Series
Display Memory: 2797 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1014 MB
Shared Memory: 1783 MB
I have the H50 Corsair CPU cooler, Antec 750W power supply, and a 120GB SSD

martin_metal_88
06-25-2010, 03:31 AM
Here your limit will probably be the H50 cooler. I already own one and afterI realise it was crap and my 30$ vendetta 2 was better I sell it to Otto ( that was the first timw we talk :P ) then he realize it was crap and he sold it again lol... What is your mobo also?
And finally, what freq you want to reach?? Give us some pic of the build:P::P

ottoyu34
06-25-2010, 08:39 AM
Great parts you got there Kaboom.

Just want to point out, the 5870 is an awesome card. Great performance (runs most of current games in highest setting with decent fps) while doing it with low TDP and low noise.

Few general points, if you didnt know already:

1)It's a good idea to take note of the heat output and noise level of the system. After overclocking, heat will dramatically increase, so does the power consumption. Personally, I'm very demaning about slient operation.
2)Let us know what case all the goodies are in. First thing is to get the cooling right.