PDA

View Full Version : Well I went and did it...



MrPeter1985
02-15-2013, 03:01 PM
I OC'd my RAM since everyone was telling me my slow or weak link in my PC is my 1333 mhz Memory.

So I went and tried OCing it. I'm not too impressed with the results. So I'm thinking to stay stock XMP. Now I will consider purchasing faster Ram if someone with similar specs can stomp my stock mem speed test. Like 1866 or higher.

Before
http://peteswebsite.us/pics/mem%20before

and

After
http://peteswebsite.us/pics/mem%20after

I have 2 of these F3-10666CL7D-4GBRH which are sold as F3-10666CL7D-8GBRH. I've also seen I can get better CL with more voltage. Should I raise it any or stay 1.5v ?

Man tweaking is so much fun.

HiVizMan
02-15-2013, 03:14 PM
Fixed your images

What you should always keep in mind is that size matters right now. Speed not so much.

Why, simple because most applications are really ram resource heavy because of the relative low cost of ram and the total sizes available.

Speed was key when there was less ram to work with so you needed super fast communications to manage smaller bits of information more often. But that being said the sweet spot for ram speeds is 1866 / 2133 from a price performance and capacity perspective.

In the real world I defy anyone to actually notice or be able to tell the difference between two systems identical in every way but for the speed their ram is running at. Benchmarks yes you will but not real world. Marketing love benchmarks not real world. LOL

MrPeter1985
02-15-2013, 03:21 PM
Kinda thinking that myself.

I did run across this thread (http://www.overclock.net/t/553039/maxxmem-benchmark-results-thread) after posting. I Think 2100+ is the only winner. Beats my speeds by 10 and 20 for Latency. But for the price and having to sell my current, not really worth it I don't believe.

Cool, I think I'll just be staying stock for now, and OC just to show off to friends and family :)

Zka17
02-15-2013, 07:31 PM
He-he, I haven't played with MaxxMem for a while... - but you should go higher with that 3570k...

Look, where I've got with a 2700k:

17186

MrPeter1985
02-15-2013, 07:33 PM
So your CPU matters as well? I left mine stock for the tests. I guess I'll try it @ 4.7Ghz then :)

I'll even try for 1866. hehe

Zka17
02-15-2013, 07:34 PM
Yes, keep trying! :)

MrPeter1985
02-16-2013, 01:20 AM
http://peteswebsite.us/pics/mem%20cpu%20OC

OC'd CPU to 4.7Ghz. :)

Couldn't get 1866 to boot though, may require higher than 1.5v. Should I try higher volts or would I burn it?


Well per this thread (http://www.gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=7816) I should be able to get 1600 working at 8-8-8-24 and not the 9-9-9-24 if I use 1.65v

And my Board can use 1.65v mem, so I'll try it tonight. :)

Zka17
02-16-2013, 02:19 AM
You mean 1.5V on the Vcore?

Theoretically you could further increase it, but practically the temps will decide that... - sincerely, I would stop there with the Vcore for now...

What are your VCCSA and VCCIO voltages?

MrPeter1985
02-16-2013, 03:28 AM
No on the Mem core.

Zka17
02-16-2013, 03:33 AM
Oh, then you can raise that with no probs to 1.65V...

HiVizMan
02-16-2013, 11:41 AM
I recall getting some good numbers with a 2600K and Max mem too.

Looking good mate.

MrPeter1985
02-18-2013, 12:32 PM
Well didn't work. Tried 1.65v for 1600 @ 8-8-8-24 no go, tried 1866 @ 1.65v on auto timings no go.

So far I can only get 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v

HiVizMan
02-18-2013, 12:35 PM
Would seriously doubt that you could get 8-8-8 at 1600MHz. But you could get 8-10-8-30

MrPeter1985
02-18-2013, 12:40 PM
Cool, I may try that later today then. Thanks :)