PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking + problems

monster
07-15-2011, 07:07 AM
Hi y'all, this is my first post. I've owned my g53 for about 5 months now and i've read just about every post related to it. After playing a bunch a games on this thing i think i wanna overclock it now so i can play The witcher 2 and crysis 2 dx11. I am totally new to overclocking and dont understand most of the terms such as "stable clocks" and the like. I am hoping someone on here can shed some light and give me pros, cons + guides..

PROBLEMS:....
after playing games 4 a while the aero effects get laggy and dont seem to recover, explorer occasionally stops working, usb ports stop working sometimes (once since back frm repairs)

monster
07-15-2011, 07:12 AM
o yea: i7-740 qm GTX 460m etc...

Chastity@ASUS
07-15-2011, 05:11 PM
You can use applications to increase the CPU and GPU speeds to get overclocked speeds that won't crash your system. That is what "stable speeds" means. For overclocking the CPU you can use SetFSB, or you can simply use the TwinTurbo feature of your system.

Before using TwinTurbo, you need to setup Windows 7 to work with it properly. Open up a Command Prompt with Admin privileges and run this command line:

bcdedit /set useplatformclock true

If you don't run this, TwinTurbo/SetFSB will disable Intel Turboboost and you will run slower. :)

For the GPU, you can use apps like NVIDIA Inspector to raise the shader and memory clocks. I'm in an airport terminal atm so I can't go into a step by step guide just yet. :) But you can google these apps and get some guides for them.

mr_monster
07-15-2011, 09:23 PM