PDA

View Full Version : Vantage Full-out>>>>>> GO Supremes!!



Rockford
02-24-2013, 08:23 AM
17578
17581


Please read the rules carefully, and DONT forget using the wallpaper for the contest..
http://static.hwbot.org/img/news/teamcup2013bg.jpg


http://hwbot.org/competition/team_cup_2013_sc3/

Lets keep this thread open, for the contest

T.N.P

Go get em........

Zka17
02-24-2013, 12:48 PM
Thank you, WithePaw for creating this thread!

As I see, I broke the silence... submitted the first result for ROG Supreme OC:

17583

And we're in good position so far in the Liano, Trinity, Bulldozer, Piledriver category...

17584

Of course, I'm expecting for someone to beat this score! Both from our Team and outside... - but then I may tweak further too... :cool:

Zka17
02-24-2013, 12:50 PM
Come on, mates, let's show them! :)

Menthol
02-24-2013, 04:42 PM
Zka17,
top score is a good place to start, good work

Zka17
02-24-2013, 06:01 PM
Thanks, Menthol - now I'm expecting your submission... :)

Menthol
02-24-2013, 08:52 PM
I will submit a few benchmarks and let you and Paw decide if you want submit them, I don't want to step out of bounds again.:)

Zka17
02-24-2013, 08:54 PM
Now, you don't have any "bounds"... go ahead and submit your results directly in HWBOT's competition page... (don't forget to download the official wallpaper before your runs though)

Menthol
02-25-2013, 12:26 AM
Alright then, I entered it, don't be afraid to delete it or scold me if I screw up, won't hurt my feelings

Menthol
02-25-2013, 12:31 AM
How do you think 3 680's on air would score against the 2 I use on water. I have 1 more card that doesn't overclock quite as well so I never bought a block for it. Since I have 2 ASUS Titan's ordered I was going to disassemble my loop and put the factory cooling back on these cards, 1 will go into my son's pc and 1 in my X58 rig. I was thinking to try a 3 way sli for no other reason than I can. What do you think. 2 at 1525 mhz or 3 at 1300 mhz maybe?

Zka17
02-25-2013, 12:47 AM
Hm... that's a hard question... I have never tried it... - but I would say to give a try...

And no way to delete your submission for the competition! You did a very good job there!!! :cool:

Look, what we did, just from two of us:

17633

Menthol
02-25-2013, 02:13 AM
Will GTX Titan be allowed in that competition?
It does state as much graphical horsepower as you can so I guess that question is answered

Chino
02-25-2013, 02:58 AM
Good work so far, guys! With your submissions we're currently ranked 25th overall. :) I'll try to get my rig back up and running to put up a few points.

And WhitePaw, I think you should make a thread for each SC since we'll be participating in all of them after all. :p

Zka17
02-25-2013, 03:22 AM
Will GTX Titan be allowed in that competition?
It does state as much graphical horsepower as you can so I guess that question is answered

Well, as I was reading the discussions of the competition, it seems that the GeForce Titan will not be allowed... :(

Check here (posts #11,12,13): http://hwbot.org/forum/showthread.php?t=67237&page=2

But you still will be able to submit outside of competition... :) Also, I've been thinking about the 3-way SLI you mentioned before - I think you should really try before you swap in the Titans...

Zka17
02-25-2013, 03:24 AM
Good work so far, guys! With your submissions we're currently ranked 25th overall. :) I'll try to get my rig back up and running to put up a few points.

Yes, Chino, please do get your rig back up and running! :) And also, asking that from all our Team members... - let's make a good impression at our first competition!

Rockford
02-25-2013, 03:25 AM
Thanks for the input Chino..

Yes, Action is going to be taken..

HiVizMan
02-26-2013, 01:07 AM
i just want to stress, bench because you want to and bench because you are having fun doing so. I get very nervous when folks feel that they have to push their systems or folks feel pressured to actually have to bench for the team. So lets just keep the core principle in sight at all time.


We bench because it is fun, and we have fun benching.

KPRage
02-26-2013, 10:39 AM
Hey guys,

Is it fine if I join in? I am totally new to this.. Would love to participate too.. Where should I start off with and, any advice/ tips would be helpful. If not (I really don't wanna hurt the team score by participating :) ), please let me know where to start with.. I can at least get ready for next year.. ;). And, HVM sir, its for the fun of it that, I want to participate.. :) Wanna know my rig's capabilities and, limitations.. :D

Oh and, my rig is in my sig.. That is all I have as of now at my disposal..

Cheers,
KP

Zka17
02-26-2013, 11:28 AM
i just want to stress, bench because you want to and bench because you are having fun doing so. I get very nervous when folks feel that they have to push their systems or folks feel pressured to actually have to bench for the team. So lets just keep the core principle in sight at all time.


We bench because it is fun, and we have fun benching.

I think, I'm the one who seems to be pushing this HWBOT competition... Don't get me wrong, folks, I totally agree with those said by HiVizMan! Take my words more like advertising, pointing out this opportunity to compete... Obviously, it's not mandatory and don't do it if you don't feel like it... - do it only if you would enjoy to participate! :)

KPRage, you are very welcome to join! Since this is a Team competition, it's required to be part of a Team... ROG Supreme OC is our Team and we would be honored to have you as our member! :cool:

So, if you decide to join us, you have to create your profile/sign up on HWBOT then select ROG Supreme OC as your Team (password in my signature)... then just start submitting your results... it is advisable to read the rules of every benchmark before you start submitting... - please, PM me if you have any difficulties you may have!

Regarding you rig, don't worry about it! There are no requirements of hardware... it's about having fun with what you have...:D

KPRage
02-26-2013, 11:42 AM
Z, Thanks for the info and, thanks for accepting me into the team.. I created the HWBOT profile and, have joined the ROG Supreme OC team now.. Its a pleasure and, honor to be part of the team.. :) Will PM you in some time for a few start up doubts.. :)

Zka17
02-26-2013, 11:53 AM
Welcome onboard, KPRage! :cool: Please, feel free to ask whenever you need it!

Chino
02-26-2013, 01:18 PM
Welcome, KPRage.

Our inbox is always open. ;)

KPRage
02-26-2013, 01:46 PM
Welcome, KPRage.

Our inbox is always open. ;) Not for long.. :p It may get flooded with my PMs.. :D Just kidding.. Gonna go through the HWBOT site today.. There are bunch of things I have planned for which, I will certainly need the advices of all the gurus. :) Thanks again Z and, Chino.. :)

Rockford
02-26-2013, 02:13 PM
Hello KP

we are already introduced..

If you need help, just "grab" any of us members..

Chino, he is really great man, and is not afraid to help people, no matter what the issues might be..

Once again, welcome to the Team

HiVizMan
02-26-2013, 05:29 PM
Not for long.. :p It may get flooded with my PMs.. :D Just kidding..


No he is not. 75662 pms from young KPRage in two days. :D :D

KPRage
02-26-2013, 05:57 PM
No he is not. 75662 pms from young KPRage in two days. :D :D he he.. I try my best..;):p

HiVizMan
02-26-2013, 07:12 PM
All good mate, seriously there are real good guys here and while I do not visit this section all that often I do drop in from time to time to read the threads and answer stuff that occasionally I might know the answer to.

Menthol
03-02-2013, 03:59 PM
I installed my 3rd 680 for 3 way sli on air and Vantage locks up as soon as it loads the first scene and only way out is hard restart, with or without any overclocks, with the 2 latest drivers, every other benchmark runs fine just Vantage the reason I tried 3 way. Any ideas or suggestions

Zka17
03-02-2013, 04:16 PM
Hm... power issue? But if other benchmarks are working... maybe, re-install Vantage?

Menthol
03-02-2013, 04:44 PM
I reinstalled Vantage, video drivers already. I decided to cancel my Titan order as what I see is they are to restricted for over clocking, so I will wait and see if there will be a Matrix or Lightning models released. In the mean time I would like to buy a couple 7970's but it seems like the Matrix and Lightnings have been discontinued. What is the next best 7970 as far as having an unlocked bios that allows overvolting and clocking. And it may be power, I bought an EVGA 1500 watt power supply a while back and it failed in less than a month, I just installed the replacement, it;s been setting here for a while as I don't trust it but it has the pcie cables for 3 or 4 cards without any adapters, , maybe I should get the adapter cable and run 2 power supplies together.

Zka17
03-02-2013, 05:08 PM
Maybe the HD7970 DC2T? But those will have unlocked voltages only when you hotwiring them... At this point, I think, the best is to wait until the new series cards will come out...

Regarding the Vantage, I still don't know what could be the issue... :(

Menthol
03-02-2013, 07:43 PM
I usually pull out a big hammer and threaten the hardware and it falls in line, but it seems to be calling my bluff like it thinks I won't I won;t smash it or something, I think it has an attitude problem. Maybe there just getting tired and saying enough is enough give me a rest.

KPRage
03-03-2013, 08:18 AM
Hey guys,

This is really frustrating now. I am trying to download vantage from past one week and, every single time it gets stuck at 99 @&(&(& %.. Tried pretty much all mirrors sites.. Can some1 please share the setup file via Dropbox or, something? Please let me know and, I'll pm my Dropbox id..

Thanks,
KP

KPRage
03-03-2013, 08:25 PM
Finally was able to download the vantage via stream.. Here is my first run score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dmv/4606733? Is this fine?

Zka17
03-03-2013, 08:31 PM
Once you can finish the run and get a valid score, it's fine!

Then just go on HWBOT and compare your results with other's... :)

Dartmaul
03-04-2013, 09:42 AM
Sorry for being quiet for a while.
Have many things to do, no free time for benching(
Temperature remains cold in Moscow so I hope I'll catch the last winter days to submit my results.
Not sure if I will manage to get 3930k chip for this session, but anyway, you'll have my submission for this competition.
Zka, Paw, Menthol did you guys already have something to show us?)

Zka17
03-04-2013, 12:53 PM
With Menthol, we did our first submissions... :)

Zka17
03-12-2013, 11:57 PM
Ooops, someone beat my score in the challenge...

18249

Ah, I need those Matrix blocks!!! I have to put my cards under water to keep up with the competition...

Rockford
03-13-2013, 12:06 AM
Nuke him.. ;o)

>>>>annihilate<<<<

getting my card this Friday, or Monday.. then some soldering..
(hopefully i dont screw the card up)

Get to know the card for a few days.

After that i enter.. Cant let you guys have all the joy, for yourselves..

I ll cover your backs.. ;o)

speed obstacles is to be driven over..

Dartmaul
03-23-2013, 11:40 PM
http://hwbot.org/submission/2368235_
That's all I can do for now.

PS Benching 3Dmark on quad core CPU is the same thing as trying to win a drag race on a van.

Zka17
03-24-2013, 12:03 AM
Thank you, Dart, I really appreciate your efforts! :cool:

I guess, Menthol's results with the two GTX680 Lightnings will remain our Team's gold standard...

Menthol
03-24-2013, 12:09 AM
Good to see you Dart.
I have been trying to figure out what it takes to clock these 7970's, so different than Nvidia cards. No Nvidia Inspector :(
Dart what core voltage, aux voltages you use for those clocks?

Dartmaul
03-24-2013, 12:24 AM
I have reference cards those are locked at 1.3v vcore and have no aux adjustment options at all.

I guess, Menthol's results with the two GTX680 Lightnings will remain our Team's gold standard...
Our GPU scores are within 100 points difference.
I miss these 2 CPU cores so much.

Menthol
03-24-2013, 12:39 AM
Oh. I couldn't get ram past 1450 until I cranked up the aux volts. I have plenty of voltage available with ABX, I just haven't found the sweet spot yet for the core or I can't get it cold enough one. I learned the 680's so well trying to catch you and Paw :) in the Challenge.

Henkenator68NL
03-27-2013, 01:45 PM
Hey Guys!, I have been away for a while, but now back in the game. I posted the first few scores on hwbot. All still on stock aircoolers. But I finally got a complete new Water cooling set, which I have to install in the comming days. I'll do a build log as well and write some reviews. So I think that my scores will rise, we'll see. Greetings Henk

Zka17
03-27-2013, 01:49 PM
Excellent, Henk! Can not wait to see the new result! :cool:

Henkenator68NL
03-28-2013, 03:23 AM
By the way, does any of you guys have a stripped os lying arround? The one i have -i think - was for maximus v extreme with nvidia card. Since I swapped my gtx for a 7970 i cant get it installed. So if you do please let me know! Thanks inadvance!

Chino
03-28-2013, 01:13 PM
Welcome back, Henk!

You can install the stripped down OS on your MVE as long as it has the slipstreamed SATA drivers regardless of which GPU you have installed.

Henkenator68NL
03-29-2013, 06:00 AM
Thanks Chino,

I will give the stripped OS another try.

I am trying to establish the maximum settings with my rigg still on stock air coolers and then take it apart and install a new hand picked water cooling setup (Thanks to my sponsor).

Zka17
03-30-2013, 04:15 AM
Upgraded my AMD system... now I have 3x Matrix Plats in CF, everything watercooled... :cool:

Just submitted my new score to the Competition:

18992

And with that we are back on the first place in this category... :cool:

18994

Ha|o_003
03-30-2013, 04:29 AM
Nice! I might have 4 680s coming on a 21 or 30 day loan from EVGA. I'm hoping they come in time for this. :)

Zka17
03-30-2013, 04:31 AM
Thanks, Ha|o_003! :)

I had 4x GTX680s on the RIVE, but they were scaling terrible... - hope, you will have better luck with them!

Menthol
03-30-2013, 07:45 AM
Great score there Zka, how did you get that third 7970 Platinum, I couldn't even find one anywhere?

Zka17
03-30-2013, 06:38 PM
Got it earlier, not now... :)

Luumi
03-30-2013, 11:40 PM
My scores that I got in vantage a few days ago. I really want better cards that overclock better than mine...
Anyways I think the scores are pretty good compared to clocks.

Single Card:
http://hwbot.org/submission/2368718_

Dual Card:
http://hwbot.org/submission/2368686_

Zka17
03-31-2013, 04:11 AM
Those are pretty good scores, Synebrichof/Luumi! :cool:

You haven't mentioned the brand/type of those HD7970s... but for air-cooling those clocks are very good! Can you try them under water?

Menthol
03-31-2013, 06:11 AM
He has something better than water extreme ambient temps
Very good scores there Sine, pretty amazing I'd say

Zka17
03-31-2013, 06:36 AM
He has something better than water extreme ambient temps

Well, that combined with fullcover blocks would make it more amazing... - he wouldn't need a chiller like we do... :cool:

Henkenator68NL
03-31-2013, 08:08 AM
@ ZKA,

Nice one with your new score! Congrats!


@Synebrichof/Luumi
Those scores are huge, what kind /brand/version of the 7970 do you use?

Greets,

Henk

Zka17
03-31-2013, 08:23 AM
Thanks, Henk! :)

Luumi
03-31-2013, 08:23 AM
This is not about cooling. I won't spend 200 hundred euros on blocks that would give very little benefit. I benched these cards in -25 ambient, that means the temp under full load never went over 25 degrees and the clocks I managed to get were bad. There is still some room for improvements, but I can't really go over 1300 on the core in vantage with both cards even when in cold ambient. And water doesn't cool so well in cold ambient, that is what I saw with my CPU atleast.

These cards are Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 OC cards, but I would recommend like Lightning or some asus card with custom PWM design. I have been talking alot with Dartmaul in skype and I would love to bench with his cards :P .

Zka17
03-31-2013, 08:27 AM
I benched these cards in -25 ambient, that means the temp under full load never went passed 25 degrees

Wow, then watercooling isn't really an option for you... :cool: Not better anyway...

I don't know those cards, but can you do some hotwiring on them? My Matrix cards won't go over 1300MHz either, I'm just hoping that hotwiring can make a difference...

Luumi
03-31-2013, 08:34 AM
That is a trick I would be willing to do, although I would like some information about that first, since I have never done any kinds of voltage mods on electrical components. I have tried to search about hotwire on reference 7970 and what are the soldering points, but I haven't found anything.

Zka17
04-02-2013, 04:16 PM
Ooops, ICEBOB is back!

19137

Here is the link to his submission: http://hwbot.org/submission/2370735

Well, he switched to LN2... - pushed his FX-8150 to 7GHz!

I won't be able to compete with that score... :(

Chino
04-02-2013, 04:45 PM
You did good nonetheless, mate. I know you'd give him a run for his money if you had access to LN2. ;)

Want to hear something funny that happened to me today? A friend brought some old rigs over to salvage some of the information on the HDDs. So I booted everything up and saw it was a Pentium 4. My first thoughts: Northwood. SuperPI 1m. HWBot. Prepared everything, did a preliminary run. Was going to submit and big surprise. Apparently the 2.6GHz Northwood wasn't allowed lol. They permitted everything from 1.6GHz to 3GHz but somehow skipped the 2.6GHz. LOL :p

Zka17
04-02-2013, 04:52 PM
Thanks, Chino! I need couple more months until I can start playing with LN2...

But do you know something more funny? On the HWBOT are even two versions of the Northwood 2.6GHz... :D
http://hwbot.org/hardware/processor/pentium_4_2.6_ghz_c_northwood_ht/
http://hwbot.org/hardware/processor/pentium_4_2.6_ghz_northwood/

So, just ROG'on! :cool:

Luumi
04-04-2013, 09:33 AM
Why not push more on the cpu side? You have to cooling. I love to see though that my single card result is better than that icebob's crossfire result :D .

Ha|o_003
04-05-2013, 12:18 AM
Editted to comply with the rules.

Zka17
04-05-2013, 12:31 AM
Ha|o, my friend, I do understand your intentions, but be careful... you may brake some rules...

1. Rule of this Forum: We can not sell/buy things here... - borrowing should be OK though...
2. Rule of HWBOT: We can not bench the same hardware in the same team... - except the live events...

Ha|o_003
04-05-2013, 01:13 AM
Thanks for pointing that out! I had forgotten that if I get loaned a CPU that wouldn't be okay, sorry about the reference to borrowing/buying here.

Zka17
04-05-2013, 10:28 AM
No problem, mate! We all do mistakes, then we learn from them... :)