PDA

View Full Version : FAILED: 12GB RAM upgrade on G71G-Q1-Where have I gone wrong?



mastersson
03-07-2013, 09:40 PM
After installing these 12GB RAMs: http://www.ebay.com/itm/2x-4GB-8GB-Notebook-RAM-DDR2-800-Mhz-SO-Dimm-PC2-6400S-200-pin-Speicher-Laptop-/360455161996?pt=DE_Technik_Computerzubeh%C3%B6r_Ar beitsspeicher&hash=item53eccd488c into my G71G-Q1 (Bios # 1102) the screen remains blank. Any ideas where I have gone wrong (e.g. BIOS)? Thanks.

Zygomorphic
03-07-2013, 10:03 PM
Yes, the G71 is a Core 2 Duo based system, which cannot handle more than 8 GB of RAM. Remove one stick and see if it boots then. Make sure you are supposed to use DDR2.

mastersson
03-07-2013, 10:07 PM
I did. Still blank screen.

BTW, I read online from folks saying they have got 12Gig of RAM to work in this particular model which was the reason why I purchased them.

Zygomorphic
03-07-2013, 10:12 PM
I did. Still blank screen.

BTW, I read online from folks saying they have got 12Gig of RAM to work in this particular model which was the reason why I purchased them.

Possibly bad RAM modules? Especially since you bought them off Ebay, you don't know how good they are. Try buying a new set off of newegg or a place like that.

mastersson
03-07-2013, 10:53 PM
Possibly bad RAM modules? Especially since you bought them off Ebay, you don't know how good they are. Try buying a new set off of newegg or a place like that.

Could be. I've already contacted the seller about this problem.

Zygomorphic
03-08-2013, 02:21 AM
Could be. I've already contacted the seller about this problem.

Definitely let me know what happens. Will you please run CPU-Z and show the RAM page on here, so that we can see what RAM your system had (when it worked).

mastersson
03-08-2013, 01:09 PM
Here you go: http://valid.canardpc.com/2722005

mastersson
03-11-2013, 06:15 PM
Definitely let me know what happens. Will you please run CPU-Z and show the RAM page on here, so that we can see what RAM your system had (when it worked).

Did you take a look at my CPU-Z page? Thanks.

warmunkey
03-11-2013, 07:27 PM
mastersson i would like to see a link to those article's or posts as to where you have seen them upgrade the g72gx to 12gb of ram i have the same laptop and am looking to upgrade the memory too. i am also curious if you can bump it to 1600mhz or stay at 800mhz? thannks in advance.

mastersson
03-11-2013, 09:37 PM
mastersson i would like to see a link to those article's or posts as to where you have seen them upgrade the g72gx to 12gb of ram i have the same laptop and am looking to upgrade the memory too. i am also curious if you can bump it to 1600mhz or stay at 800mhz? thannks in advance.

Actually I seen (articles) for the G71G series (Q1). I would guess this info is also relevant to the G72GX

mastersson
04-04-2013, 06:08 PM
Replaced those rams with 3 genuine Samsung M470T5267AZ3-CF7 (which I know are compatible with the G71G-Q1 : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

(After placing these in the three slots) the notebook won't boot (but this time I can clearly hear fan running) so am guessing BIOS is the issue. Suggestions what to do next greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

GenTechPC
04-05-2013, 07:28 AM
Replaced those rams with 3 genuine Samsung M470T5267AZ3-CF7 (which I know are compatible with the G71G-Q1 : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

(After placing these in the three slots) the notebook won't boot (but this time I can clearly hear fan running) so am guessing BIOS is the issue. Suggestions what to do next greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Try install the RAM one stick at a time see if one of the RAM is bad.

mastersson
04-06-2013, 08:28 AM
Try install the RAM one stick at a time see if one of the RAM is bad.

Good news:cool:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/714808-12gb-ram-upgrade-g71g-q1-can-done.html#post9153040

mastersson
04-06-2013, 08:28 PM
So I replaced my QX9000 with a QX9300 (with correct part numbers) and notebook again won't start (although I can hear fan running again). Is the problem to do with either the battery and or the power adapter (prehaps both not being powerful enough)? Suggestions greatly appreciated and thanks!

mastersson
10-28-2013, 09:10 PM
Bumping this thread back only due to a couple of questions I have on my mind: Would it be possible to replace the G71G motherboard with a G71GX (including a GTX 260M GPU) one? If so would the notebook work if I then use the QX9300 CPU and 12GB RAMs I still have laying around? Thanks in advance!

firestorm31
04-02-2014, 05:17 AM
did you get much luck upgrading 6gb ram to 12gb ram?

I have a G71G too . am looking to if it can be done.

do you know what make ddr ram was used?