PDA

View Full Version : Memory Question



spawkett
03-09-2013, 04:16 AM
I have a G73jh unit with 6 gig memory and ran a Win7 memory diagnostic on it. It would pass the standard test but would not progress past 21% on the extended test. A MS forum said to try removing the mem sticks one at a time and see if that would help. I removed the 2 2gig sticks and tried to boot the system with just the 2 gig on the motherboard and it would not boot up!! Installed the 2 gig sticks one at a time and tried the memtest on each and it would still not go past 21% on the extended test. By the way MEMTEST+ ran just fine for a long time with many passes successfully. The thing that bothered me was NO BOOT with just the onboard memory(2 gig) in place. Any suggestions? Thanx. . . . . . My OS is Win7 64bit Home Premium.

Zygomorphic
03-09-2013, 11:13 AM
I wouldn't trust Windows Memory diagnostic. If Memtest works fine, then the likelihood is that your memory is fine.

spawkett
03-09-2013, 04:52 PM
Thanks for the quick positive response. Good to know not to put much stock in Windows mem diagnostic. Still don't understand why my computer wouldn't boot with just the 2 gig on-board memory. It came with 6 gig and maybe there is a requirement for more than 2 gig to run??? Thanks again . . .

Zygomorphic
03-09-2013, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the quick positive response. Good to know not to put much stock in Windows mem diagnostic. Still don't understand why my computer wouldn't boot with just the 2 gig on-board memory. It came with 6 gig and maybe there is a requirement for more than 2 gig to run??? Thanks again . . .

Shouldn't be. Potentially you need to load the first memory slot? :confused: I don't know. Windows will boot with 2 GB of memory, you just won't have much left over for your programs.

spawkett
03-10-2013, 07:36 PM
Thanks for the quick response and the info . . . .

warmunkey
03-10-2013, 09:54 PM
so it has built in 2 gigs on the mobo? like soldered or can you take out all 3 2gig dimms? maybe you have a bad 2 gig dimm..? but if memtest completes fine and says no errors i would say it's good to go. but i'm no expert. i'm curious you say it's got a 2 gig memory on board whether you can replace that or not..?

spawkett
03-10-2013, 11:53 PM
Nope! Can't replace the 2 gig on the mobo. It is soldered in on the backside of the board. Probably could replace if I did a complete teardown to get to it. But since two sources now from Asus community have said that if MEMTEST+ passed OK then I'm probably good to go.
There was not anything indicating memory errors, I just discovered that the WIN mem diag existed and just thought I would try it. Thanks for your help. . . . .

Zygomorphic
03-11-2013, 12:30 AM
Nope! Can't replace the 2 gig on the mobo. It is soldered in on the backside of the board. Probably could replace if I did a complete teardown to get to it. But since two sources now from Asus community have said that if MEMTEST+ passed OK then I'm probably good to go.
There was not anything indicating memory errors, I just discovered that the WIN mem diag existed and just thought I would try it. Thanks for your help. . . . .

You are more than welcome! :) Glad you could help, and please stick around! We need people on here. As to being soldered, I don't think it is. However, it is probably buried in a slot on the motherboard that would be really hard to reach by the end user (full tear-down).

warmunkey
03-11-2013, 06:02 PM
to know for 100% it's always best to try to replace it with another stick and then boot with just said 1 stick, havent heard of integrated memory in ages since the old 98' comps with just soldered chips on the board containing maybe 100mb of memory lol but your welcome. but me beeing me knowing i get the error on even windows i would do a tear down till i could get to it lol just me.

spawkett
03-11-2013, 07:35 PM
Thank you very much for your input. I think that I am OK and will just go on computing away. Again, thanx for your help and I'll consider this thread closed . . . . . .