PDA

View Full Version : 2 TB HDD for G75VX



Kaptan
03-13-2013, 06:55 AM
Hello,

I have 2 questions for you pals;

1- I have ASUS G75VX with 256 + 750 GB combination.I want to increase the storage capacity and so i want to change 750 GB HDD with 2 TB HDD.I am searching the web for several days but could not find a 2 TB HDD for my laptop.Because the HDD slot is very small of this G75VX and the products those i checked, are not fit for that slot.So could you suggest me any product which compatible with my laptop and the capacity is 1,5 or 2 TB ?

2- And also i am planning to increase RAM.I already have 16 GB and i want it as 32 GB.There are 2 empty slots.I will put 2x8GB to these slot and complete the upgrade.My doubt is which product i must choose.I opened the back cover of laptop and checked the motherboarded 16 GB RAM and then search the internet tofind my next 16.And i fond this product:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-Asus-G46-G53-G73-G74-G75-K55-R500-Laptop-Memory-RAM-DDR3-/360611342714?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item53f61c697a

http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-Memory-RAM-for-ASUS-ASmobile-G75-Notebook-G75VW-G75VW-BBK5-17-3-/280882273809?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item4165e35e11

This product is also ASUS brand and same with my motherboarded RAM.I think it is ok for this product, but i want to get your opinions anyway to make it clear.

Looking forward to your replies..

Thanks&Regards

Pitcher@asus
03-13-2013, 07:45 AM
i think it is able to upgrade HDD and RAM, but i suggest you visit spec table as http://www.asus.com/ROG/G75VX/#specifications

Apexing
03-13-2013, 09:17 AM
I dont think there are HDD of the 2.5 size (which is the size laptop uses) bigger than 1TB.
About your RAM question, search this forum, PLENTY of people have made topics about that.
People who are running 32GB seem to be using these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226323

Zygomorphic
03-13-2013, 10:24 AM
Here is a 1 TB hybrid drive to consider:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178340

I have not seen 2 TB drives, but there are 1 TB drives you can use. Get the hybrid drive and then another 1 TB drive and you should be set! :) IT won't be as fast a 2 TB + SSD, but the hybrid will accelerate the boot times dramatically.

rewben
03-13-2013, 10:29 AM
hi @Kaptan,

1. you're correct; the currently available 2.5" 2tb drive is too thick (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236348) to fit into the slot. for additional storage space, you should consider NAS or external hdd.

2. if you're not doing a full swap, and intends only to upgrade the ram capacity to 32gb without touching the stock ram, it will be best to determine the specs of the stock ram (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?23929-Adding-RAM-to-G75&p=168646&viewfull=1#post168646), then find out the matching ones.

if these two are the matching ones, then go ahead.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-A...item53f61c697a
http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-M...item4165e35e11

Kaptan
03-13-2013, 11:07 AM
@ Mike_Lu@ASUS --> i already checked specs :) but there is nothing that i want to see ;)
@ Apexing --> i am sure that product work fine on my laptop but, i found same product with my laptop's already exist ram it is hynix, blue board.also it is asus brand.i think i will go with it.could you check this link please, i think you will approve this one too:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-Asus-G46-G53-G73-G74-G75-K55-R500-Laptop-Memory-RAM-DDR3-/360611342714?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item53f61c697a
@ Zygomorphic --> thanks for the link..i finally find out which compatibility my laptop has :) i think maximum 1 tb as a this sized SSD :/
@ rewben --> hi :) that wd's lenght and width ok but the height is the problem :/ i checked your links and i want you to check mylink please; like i said on Apexing line, it is all same with my already loaded 16 gb ram, so what you think about this one? :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-Asus-G46-G53-G73-G74-G75-K55-R500-Laptop-Memory-RAM-DDR3-/360611342714?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item53f61c697a

Apexing
03-13-2013, 01:10 PM
The ram you show is voltage at 1,5
I dont know if they will work. the others are rated at 1.35v.
but the other spec matches. so you can try, wont guantee that they work tho.

Kaptan
03-13-2013, 01:28 PM
but it says it is compatible with g75 series and more..
so if it is problem 1.35 or 1.5 volt, how can i check my laptop work fine with 1.35 or 1.5 ?