PDA

View Full Version : Fixing TwinTurbo issues



Brian@ASUS
07-22-2011, 12:41 AM
Some of you have reported that twinturbo does not work. Here is the fix:

Opened Command Prompt with Administrator rights and enter this:


bcdedit /set useplatformclock true
then Reboot
1924


You can undo by entering:


bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock
then Reboot
1925


From the benchmarks i tested off vantage, you can see the performance difference after this fix.

Before fix, twinturbo function would get lower benchmark scores:
1926
vs
1927

After fix, twinturbo is functioning properly:
1928
vs
1929

This has been tested on the G73Jh and should work for other models that have the turbo option. please let me know if you have had success with this fix and post some screen shots with your model here to further validate the fix.

Why does this occur? Windows 7 systems by default use the Time Stamp Counter (TSC), rather than the High Precision Event Timer (HPET) as the default timer during program execution. We are essentially enabling the HPET

jorlanm
07-22-2011, 02:26 AM
I typed this on an G73sw-3DE it accepted it. Will it do anything to it?

Brian@ASUS
07-22-2011, 05:07 AM
you should do some benchmarks to compare before and after. turbo off and on. then compare it to turbo on and off after the platformclock is on.

Chastity@ASUS
07-23-2011, 12:30 AM
This is primarily for 1st gen i7 people. No reason for 2nd Gen (SandyBridge) folks, but no harm doing this either. SW/SX folks don't have a TwinTurbo option. Too bad. :(

Bonus Da Housecat
08-10-2011, 10:04 PM
i have g73jh-tz091v...i would love to now do i have turbo mode or not? Can anyone say something?

Josea
08-11-2011, 10:47 AM
Bonus, if you have the ATK package installed and power4gear installed, press the middle of the 3 buttons decicated buttons, you should see it come on or off onscreen. As Brian noted, the only way to know for sure it is increasing performance is to benchmark before and after doing the fix. From what I read it only gives a modest clock boost, If you want more OC on CPU you will need other tools installed, http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/
I am not advocating this (sefsb) BTW

Bonus Da Housecat
08-11-2011, 09:50 PM
yes after i loade this softwares everything is working working.Thank you....

TheOriginalTO
08-12-2011, 09:24 PM
What settings do you use in 3dmark, all my numbers came up, but my score was 0 for some reason...

Dragonix
08-22-2011, 04:26 PM
What settings do you use in 3dmark, all my numbers came up, but my score was 0 for some reason...

The Performance preset should work the best.

http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/6232/44666069.jpg

mstcobra
08-26-2011, 01:55 PM
My results seem to contradict yours.

Test Machine:
g73jh with i720, HD5870 and 8 gigs ddr3 1333
Cat version 11.8 early preview
Win 7 hp x64
benchmark 3DMark 11 Basic

test 1:
Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725506;jsessionid=1ja6ot4l8adx4?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725506%3Fkey%3DcHeCCuxTjLNAZJBfvT 6CtPfEpQSkjp) (3DMark Score P2233 - Physics Score 3781)

test 2:
Twinturbo on, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725531;jsessionid=1m4wm1dh1bm6v?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725531%3Fkey%3DUA3REzHuAZ6ABc8vUN 5E0vsFshFeXa) (3DMark Score P2242 - Physics Score 3936)

test 3:
Twinturbo off, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725578;jsessionid=11hbyw4ypxw1r?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725578%3Fkey%3DJhxY7CudCNpW4PLLV8 j7AUy7E30FKJ) (3DMark Score P2222 - Physics Score 3592)

test 4:
Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725607;jsessionid=w58qy17d9m2p?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725607%3Fkey%3DATYNTCVH3ymFKpVVmN Pk9RcH2WNPhN) (3DMark Score P2229 - Physics Score 3724)

test 5:
Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725659;jsessionid=139ozxzsm96z8?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725659%3Fkey%3DJqmp8mR0XDnSMnvTEr vzyEeMNLWqhh) (3DMark Score P2490 - Physics Score 3828)

test 6:
Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725722;jsessionid=17u398iywtdll?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725722%3Fkey%3DqnversyWpXK0xTPman y0hdENLbbZNB) (3DMark Score P2495 - Physics Score 3944)

As seen here by my results the best performance is obtained by leaving TT off, the timers on the normal TSC, GPU @ 800/1100MHz and CPU overclocked via increased blck. Although it only gave a 5 point improvement in total score 2490 < 2495 it gave a 116 point increase in physics (cpu) score 3944 > 3828.

I am aware that some people mainly setfsb users are experiencing timing issues and if that is the case changing to HPET timing might help. As for me and I will assume other people who have the same rig and are not experiencing sync issues IMO it is better to leave the timer alone and forget about Asus TT.

Azzazel
09-13-2011, 09:06 AM
@Brian

Hello , this is a bit off topic , but what rig did you 'print screen' those?
If it's a notebook , i've got the g74sx and i wanna know how i could get that resolution as yours!
And please tell me what wallpaper you are using too. Great stuff!!

Josea
09-13-2011, 12:08 PM
Azzazel,NOt to speak for Brian, but from the stats it appears to be a G73JH .. 1920 x 1080 and control panel - display is set to 100% (out of box it is set to 125%)

Azzazel
09-13-2011, 01:22 PM
Hi Josea,

I was told that my model supports 1080p but my resolution cant seem to go higher than 1600 X 1200. Why do you think is that?

thanks

Josea
09-14-2011, 02:07 AM
Azzazel, I notice you have a G74Sx but is it the G74SX-BBK7? The native (max) resolution is 1600 x 900, most of the other G74 models do support the aforementioned higher resolution.

Azzazel
09-14-2011, 07:39 AM
Josea, i've noticed i've got the g74sx-ty032v model , i was wondering why it was cheaper , got it for 1900$ , with 16gb RAM , 1 TB HD , blu-ray drive too. Anyway i could check if it's 1080p? or does that depend on my max resolution , cause if it does then my question is answered..
Oh well... Either way i'm still happy with it's performance.. i guess when it comes to the more hardcore gaming i could always plug it to my bravia for better screen performance..

Thanks though.

TheOriginalTO
10-22-2011, 10:19 PM
So, It seems that no matter what, high performance TT on with the fix or High performance TT off without the fix, my laptop through 3d11 benchmark tests likes to sit at about 2218. How is this possible?

fraussantin
11-03-2011, 02:50 PM
hello , i'm italian and i dont' speack english well!! scuse me for errors!!

the turbo twin on my g53jw is locked??

there arent a metod for enable is?

Chastity@ASUS
11-03-2011, 04:45 PM
Use Power4gear 1.1.37

JRd1st
11-03-2011, 05:55 PM
Use Power4gear 1.1.37
Chastity, do you know if Intel DPST (in P4G advanced Settings) actually works? Doesn't seem to do anything that I can see, but it's supposed to be not that noticeable. :shrug:

fraussantin
11-03-2011, 08:23 PM
Use Power4gear 1.1.37

thank you very match.

but is it invalid the warranty (2 years) ?

are there any rescue to damage intel processor?

why asus have leave this option ( twin turbo) to new version of p2g ?

fraussantin
11-03-2011, 09:11 PM
Power4gear 1.1.37 don't work whit overclock .

there are any *.ini to config?

my pc is g53jw

octiceps
12-03-2011, 09:15 PM
I wouldn't recommend this "fix" based on my experience. My benchmarks are about 10% lower across the board with the "fix." Either way all Twin Turbo does is reduce my scores so I leave it off all of the time anyway.

octiceps
12-03-2011, 09:21 PM
My results seem to contradict yours.

Test Machine:
g73jh with i720, HD5870 and 8 gigs ddr3 1333
Cat version 11.8 early preview
Win 7 hp x64
benchmark 3DMark 11 Basic

test 1:
Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725506;jsessionid=1ja6ot4l8adx4?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725506%3Fkey%3DcHeCCuxTjLNAZJBfvT 6CtPfEpQSkjp) (3DMark Score P2233 - Physics Score 3781)

test 2:
Twinturbo on, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725531;jsessionid=1m4wm1dh1bm6v?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725531%3Fkey%3DUA3REzHuAZ6ABc8vUN 5E0vsFshFeXa) (3DMark Score P2242 - Physics Score 3936)

test 3:
Twinturbo off, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725578;jsessionid=11hbyw4ypxw1r?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725578%3Fkey%3DJhxY7CudCNpW4PLLV8 j7AUy7E30FKJ) (3DMark Score P2222 - Physics Score 3592)

test 4:
Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725607;jsessionid=w58qy17d9m2p?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725607%3Fkey%3DATYNTCVH3ymFKpVVmN Pk9RcH2WNPhN) (3DMark Score P2229 - Physics Score 3724)

test 5:
Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725659;jsessionid=139ozxzsm96z8?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725659%3Fkey%3DJqmp8mR0XDnSMnvTEr vzyEeMNLWqhh) (3DMark Score P2490 - Physics Score 3828)

test 6:
Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
RESULTS Click Me (http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1725722;jsessionid=17u398iywtdll?show_ads=true&page=%2F3dm11%2F1725722%3Fkey%3DqnversyWpXK0xTPman y0hdENLbbZNB) (3DMark Score P2495 - Physics Score 3944)

As seen here by my results the best performance is obtained by leaving TT off, the timers on the normal TSC, GPU @ 800/1100MHz and CPU overclocked via increased blck. Although it only gave a 5 point improvement in total score 2490 < 2495 it gave a 116 point increase in physics (cpu) score 3944 > 3828.

I am aware that some people mainly setfsb users are experiencing timing issues and if that is the case changing to HPET timing might help. As for me and I will assume other people who have the same rig and are not experiencing sync issues IMO it is better to leave the timer alone and forget about Asus TT.

This is exactly what happened to me. Although I didn't OC my GPU, the "fix" made both my TT-off and TT-on scores lower. After undoing the "fix" my TT-off and TT-on scores increased back to normal, but TT-on score is still lower, so I leave it off.

Criton
12-15-2011, 05:40 PM
Can I use that in my Asus G53SX S1143V laptop?

octiceps
12-15-2011, 06:35 PM
Can I use that in my Asus G53SX S1143V laptop?

If I recall, the G53SX does have a Twin Turbo button so it wouldn't hurt to try it out. I would try benchmarking without the "fix" enabled first and then with it enabled. You may find, like I did, that either way Twin Turbo actually reduces performance in everything but synthetic benchmarks, and having the "fix" enabled reduces performance even further. I have a G73JH so YMMV.

Criton
12-15-2011, 07:43 PM
If I recall, the G53SX does have a Twin Turbo button so it wouldn't hurt to try it out. I would try benchmarking without the "fix" enabled first and then with it enabled. You may find, like I did, that either way Twin Turbo actually reduces performance in everything but synthetic benchmarks, and having the "fix" enabled reduces performance even further. I have a G73JH so YMMV.

yeah, there is a Turbo button (http://techgage.com/reviews/asus/g53/asus_g53_06_thumb.jpg) , so you say i can try it without damage my Laptop?

octiceps
12-16-2011, 12:37 AM
yeah, there is a Turbo button (http://techgage.com/reviews/asus/g53/asus_g53_06_thumb.jpg) , so you say i can try it without damage my Laptop?

I don't see how it could possibly damage your laptop, so yeah, no harm in trying it out.