PDA

View Full Version : Problem with secondary screen resolution



dankatz8
03-22-2013, 06:44 PM
Hey,

I bought yesterday the asus s500ca laptop.
when im trying to connect it to a secondary screen - lcd - i cant change the resolution. if i connect the lcd by vga the resolution is 1024X768 and if by hdmi the resolution is 1920X1200 or something similar.
the laptop has intel graphics 4000 and its updated to the full version.
i want to be able to change the resolution to the native resolution of the lcd - 1366X768...

Any idea?
thankes

Pitcher@asus
03-25-2013, 02:50 AM
1. are you doing sync or extend?
2. can you try other LCD to try it, alos provide your LCD model name.

cl-Albert@ROG
03-27-2013, 09:30 PM
Hi,

I didn't notice any problems setting the external monitor resolution through vga or hdmi output with my Win8 English S500CA test unit running the Intel vga driver V9.17.10.2857.

If you haven't tried it, open the Intel Graphics and Media Control Panel App by searching 'Intel' from the Win8 interface or right-clicking the Intel vga icon and choosing graphic properties as in the screenshot below to change the external monitor resolution.

If you can get it working and want to have a little fun, try the screen rotation setting and try to physically rotate your external monitor too if it is possible.

18830

Inmortal2890
02-07-2014, 03:46 AM
Yeah i actually have a Razer Blade and i Pluged to a Sony Bravia 37" via HDMI and i have the same issue the optimal resolution must be 1366x768 but the closest i have is 1024x768 im guessing i need a driver update from intel since is not a GPU issue.. i still have no clue what to do or where to get the driver from... when u make te setup cl-Albert for the second screen i only have like 3 other options non of them will get me a better picture quality nevertheless for my main screen (the laptop one) i have like 20 more resolutions options

Inmortal2890
02-07-2014, 03:52 AM
Yeah i actually have a Razer Blade and i Pluged to a Sony Bravia 37" via HDMI and i have the same issue the optimal resolution must be 1366x768 but the closest i have is 1024x768 im guessing i need a driver update from intel since is not a GPU issue.. i still have no clue what to do or where to get the driver from... when u make te setup cl-Albert for the second screen i only have like 3 other options non of them will get me a better picture quality nevertheless for my main screen (the laptop one) i have like 20 more resolutions options

cl-Albert@ROG
02-07-2014, 08:55 PM
You normally want to get notebook drivers from the ASUS download site for your model first:
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=S500CA&p=3&s=494

If you're still having problems, tell us which driver version you are using, if you are running Win8 or Win8.1, and if you are trying to extend or duplicate the external display.

May not make much difference, but if it's easy to try, compare with a different external display too.