PDA

View Full Version : Asus G46VW Unable to Play Far Cry 3 Even on Low Settings

d34ds3c
03-25-2013, 05:05 PM
I am getting really frustrated with the new Asus G46VW laptop that I have, that is allegedly a gaming PC. I used to build and OC pc's in the early 2000's, but haven't done much gaming in 5+ years. I am a systems administrator in a health care facility, and know how to operate and configure a computer, although I can't make this game playable no matter what I do.

My issue is an incredible amount of lag, on any settings. I have gone to the xml file for my profile and edited it so that it will show fps, but it does not. Also, in this XML file all of the settings are high or above, but in game they are all medium or low. I have tried changing it from DX11 to DX9, I have turned off vert. sync and anti-aliasing, but all to no avail. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the game, and set UPlay to use the nVidia 660M by default instead of the Integrated Intel GPU. This machine has 8gb of ram, the nVidia 660m, and an i5 processor. I know an i7 would be ideal but is this game really unplayable with my system settings?? It is so laggy that it is unplayable, and it is getting extremely frustrating.

Has anyone else had this issue? Are my system specs really so low that I can't even play a modern game on low settings? I would love some help, or next steps as far as troubleshooting what the issue is. Thanks.

Nivaku
03-25-2013, 05:40 PM
Have you tried playing some other game instead, and does that perform similar to FC3 or poorly?

GottiBoi55
03-25-2013, 05:56 PM
I am getting really frustrated with the new Asus G46VW laptop that I have, that is allegedly a gaming PC. I used to build and OC pc's in the early 2000's, but haven't done much gaming in 5+ years. I am a systems administrator in a health care facility, and know how to operate and configure a computer, although I can't make this game playable no matter what I do.