PDA

View Full Version : Is anybody using ThrottleStop?

Akki
03-26-2013, 02:13 AM
And Why?

If yes, how did u set it up?

Thanks

Enigma
03-26-2013, 04:15 AM
I think that only some versions of the G75VW have throttling, mine doesn't appear to but I'm not sure. Some ppl do still use it and it's OK but just be careful, you can cause permanent damage if you don't know what you're doing.

Akki
03-26-2013, 04:30 AM
Thanks,.. i am using it only wit default (2) gaming profile, and constantly monitor CPU and GPU temperatures.
CPU never exceed 66 and GPU 70 Celsius.

Are those temperatures safe?

Tnx

Enigma
03-26-2013, 04:40 AM
I'm no expert but that sounds well below the safe threshold. You should be fine. But it varies by machine too so you'll need to do a little research on what the max safe temps are.

gokica
03-26-2013, 08:50 AM
Throttlestop has some weird effect on the CPU. I did use it while running Prime95 and it kept the clock at 3.3 - 3.4 on all cores on my i7 3630QM but made the temperature rise to 95C. Never used it afterward. Without it the temps never went higher than 80 degrees under full stress.

So if anyone wants to try feel free but keep an eye on the temperature. Never leave the computer unattended under heavy stress when this utility is used.

TokoDude
03-26-2013, 09:36 AM
CPU will get damage at 100C
GPU will get damage at 90C

Akki
03-26-2013, 03:23 PM
Throttlestop has some weird effect on the CPU. I did use it while running Prime95 and it kept the clock at 3.3 - 3.4 on all cores on my i7 3630QM but made the temperature rise to 95C. Never used it afterward. Without it the temps never went higher than 80 degrees under full stress.

So if anyone wants to try feel free but keep an eye on the temperature. Never leave the computer unattended under heavy stress when this utility is used.

Thanks gokica - i will delete it - and as i dont see many replys here anyway, i think that it might be useless for our CPU.

BTW, did you overclock you GPU maybe? )